We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good value, nice motel with a pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albatross Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Albatross Motel to your Saves list
Albatross Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   56 Meeanee Quay | Westshore, Napier 4110, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10 Flybuys bonus points with your stay
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really good value, nice motel with a pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights and wanted to be handy to the sailing club. Managers are wonderful and couldn't be more helpful and friendly. Was great to come back from a long walk and get in the pool to cool off. We are used to a very quiet house so noticed the traffic a bit on the first night; I suspect most people wouldn't.. Motel has a lovely view across the road to the fields and hills and it's about a 2 minute walk to Westshore beach and a 10-15 minute walk to Ahuriri, with all its cafes and bars.

Room Tip: All face the road, but it's not that noisy (no longer the main road. We liked the upstairs, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing us. We are glad you enjoyed the lovely view from the upper floor units, it is always changing with the ebb and flow of water in the estuary and the fabulous sunsets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    145
    37
    7
    7
See reviews for
102
160
15
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
atherstone
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This motel was very good, very clean and comfortable. The hosts were extremely welcoming and very helpful. It was situated just outside Napier but the town was quite easy to drive too. Overall a very pleasant motel to stay at.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
We really appreciate your nice comments and so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We were very satisfied with our stay at the Albatross. Facilities were great, spacious and comfortable (and squeaky clean) apartments. Great location with a short walk to a great choice of restaurants etc. Owners were friendly and knowledgeable, helped advise us on the best wineries in the area and pointed out local running track. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We ordered a two bedroom, stayed in room 36, an upstairs apartment with a king bed in one of the apa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to post a review for us and so glad that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed some of our local attractions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed in a family room for 6 nights after our previous accomodation fell through and we found this Motel by chance. They were excellent in both location and being extremely accommodating. We stayed on the fifth floor which had beautiful views of the harbour and the cleaning staff were excellent as was the advice on where to go and where to visit. Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were lucky enough to find this wonderful motel as we had booked into another hotel/motel just up the road and found it to be dirty and well below average for the price.
We could not have been happier with the unit at Albatross motel absolutely clean with all the modern cons including 50 channels of sky TV and a price that was real value for money.
We travel to Napier at least twice a year just for a sporting activity with a team of at least 8 to 10 players all in the 40 to 60 age group so are quite discerning as to there accommodation however as a result of our stay the whole team will stay in future.
Thanks very much for your hospitality and the way that you present your motel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic review. It makes our day to see a happy guest. We have a great facility for teams , so look forward to looking after yours one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirau, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Very very clean and convenient for walks and access into town.
Welcoming hosts who can not do enough to make you welcome,and advice on places to eat and visit.
we will be back again to this motel not many that are this clean and convenient.
And even better we can take the dog with us without issue, many many thanks for a a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
We are so glad that you and your dog enjoyed your stay and you found our rooms very clean. Cleanliness and helpfulness are top of the list of essentials for us to provide. thank you for reviewing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed in the deluxe room and thoroughly enjoyed the luxuriousness of it. As a participant in IronMaori it was also great to be able to relax in the spa after my epic bike ride.
Two other family members stayed in a upstairs room, this was very basic but comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed a soak in the spa after your race. Well done with competing in such a great event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Albatross Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatross Motel

Address: 56 Meeanee Quay | Westshore, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Napier
#4 Business Hotel in Napier
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#6 Family Hotel in Napier
#13 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Albatross Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation proud to have scored 9.5/10 on Target TV, Free Wifi, Guest Select 50+ TV Channels to choose from, 200m to the beach and overlooking the estuary. Range of room types to suit a variety of requirements and budgets. Refurbished rooms, Swimming pool and spa.You are guaranteed a warm welcome and friendly service at The Albatross. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Albatross Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatross Hotel Napier
Albatross Motel Napier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albatross Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.