We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully quaint and convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manor on Parade

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manor on Parade
Save
You added Manor on Parade to your Saves list
283 Marine Parade, Napier, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 44 Napier B&B and Inns
Auckland
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wonderfully quaint and convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

Loved this venue! Hosts very friendly and Manor on Parade has a good range of cafes and restaurants close by. Very comfortable and clean and the Continental Breakfast was superb!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    6
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
61
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

Our favourite B&B in the North Island of New Zealand. Only criticism no parking but there is a large car park opposite, which charges during the day.

Our room, right at the front, was beautiful. A wonderful view and very well furnished with comfortable chairs to enjoy looking out over the sea. Bed very comfortable and the room included a fridge and microwave oven. The whole room seemed very new.

Breakfast is taken at a large communal table downstairs in the beautifully dining room. A very good help yourself cold breakfast with lots of choice. There was tea/coffee, fruit juice, toast, cheese, fresh fruit, Danish pastries and yoghurt. No cooked breakfast but that did not bother us.

If you are staying here get the front room overlooking the sea.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

Don't be mislead by the exterior of this historic property which amazingly survived the earthquake. We were met by Colin, as Judy was out shopping, and he said that we could park for free in the road outside as it was past 5 p.m. and we would be leaving by 10 the next morning, which worked out fine. Colin showed us to the lovely airy room upstairs at the front. The bed was very comfortable and the fresh linen sheets were a delight The ensuite was small in comparison to the room, but adequate. As the night was warm, we had the window open so traffic noise was a slight problem, probably exacerbated by the Art Deco Weekend about to take place. Manor on Parade was in easy walking distance of the beach, main town and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

Our stay in Napier was an absolute delight and our stay at Manor on Parade was a highlight. We had the back rooms, one with balcony not the front room with the best view, but we were not disappointed. The refurbishment presents fabulous decor and the standards and cleanliness are such that we thought we were the first people to stay in the rooms... we were not. The breakfast is a feast of colour and delights and again the attention to detail is superb. Look no further you will not be disappointed and the hosts are attentive and friendly without being intrusive or fussy. Well done to them, they deserve success.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

We stayed just one night at the Manor. We were pleasantly surprised on arrival to see the beautiful room at the front overlooking the lake. This was the largest room we have stayed in. The room is luxuriously appointed.

The breakfast was the most delicious with assorted pastries, fruits and all you could want.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresskill, New Jersey
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

This bed and breakfast doesnt look like much from the outside, but if you can get the front room, which overlooks the lake, you will be enchanted. View is amazing, room beautifully fitted out in very tasteful and soothing colors . Very small but efficient bathroom. Great bed. Spotless. Continental breakfast but very large with selection of beautiful fruits, toast, pastries. Located near Isite and easy walk to town. Parking can be tricky as all spots in front of hotel are 2 hr limits till 5pm, but also there is a lot across the street where you can park for longer time. No elevator.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

I was staying at this lovely B&B with my parents and my cousins to attend my sister's wedding. there's only 3 rooms at the bnb so we took all of them!
The lovely couple of own the place are amazing and helpful (they drove me to the airport since I was the last one to leave for back home and they offered to drive me!)
The breakfast was very nice and filling even though it was continental, alot of choices! it was like your mom or grandma woke up in the morning and set up the table for you.

The rooms are on the 2nd floor of the building and are: a big room with its own bathroom and shower and sitting area facing the water. 2nd was a smaller room with queen size bed and 3rd was a room with 2 twin beds and a nice lovely balcony with patio furniture outside.

All the rooms had tv and fan inside and the beds were very comfortable. The 2nd and 3rd room had to share a bath/washroom but since I was staying there with my family I was completely ok with that.
There was a kitchen on the 2nd floor as well that came in handy with making tea or coffee or just fixing something up to eat at nights.
When we were staying there the owners were thinking about renovating the 2nd floor so all rooms would have their own washrooms but im not sure if it actually happened or not.

I would love to go back there and stay at the B&B again if its still the same.

ps: I stayed there 3 yrs ago so when I was there everything was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manor on Parade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor on Parade

Address: 283 Marine Parade, Napier, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manor on Parade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.