We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic nice motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fountain Court Motor Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fountain Court Motor Inn Motel to your Saves list
Fountain Court Motor Inn Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   411 Hastings Street | Hawkes Bay Region, Napier, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Napier
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“basic nice motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

nothing much to say about this place, we only stayed for a night. its a basic motel that does exactly what you want and need for a good price. the location is fine, it's close to the town... only a 5 minute walk

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    47
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
16
39
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We arrived in Napier without a booking and the Fountain Court was recommend to us as we required a family room with no stairs. The room also included a spa, which was a nice surprise. The managers were very attentive and looked after us well. The room and beds were comfortable. The hotel is well located just one street away from the beach and close to town. Before staying here we were not familiar with the BK's chain, but if Fountain Gate is typical of their properties we would certainly stay with them again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed my weekend at Fountain Court. A nice sunny location, lovely room close to town, and friendly staff. Its right by the sea and close to restaurants and cafes. The service was brilliant and I will definately be back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

The BK's chain are very consistent around the country, and though this is one of the older ones (approx 15 years), its in excellent condition with service that backs it up. As a bus driver, I get to experience many motels and hotels, and I can safely say I'd use a BK's over anything else.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Changed room for extra but could have slept on trundler bed not given opportunity, expect to pay more and NO spa bath as expected. Double bed one side comfortable the other side lower with big dip or hole. Any movement upstairs echo's in room below. Would not stay there as for same money get better sound proof room, with comfortable bed (and no spa bath????)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFountainCourt, Manager at Fountain Court Motor Inn Motel, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
You booked a studio spa unit for 2 people and when you arrived you had a 3rd person.
The studio spa units only has a king bed in it
We could not put a rollaway bed in the room as we had a large group in the motel and had used all our rollaway beds.
I offered you a 1 bedroom unit that had a king bed and a single bed for your 3rd guest and these units have a glass walk in shower. We do not have any 1 bedroom units with spas.
I am sorry you did not like the unit and because it did not have a spa. We tried to accommodate you the best we could due to the extra person and we never charged you anymore for the bigger room and extra person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch NZ
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed several nights at this motel in Napier and was quite happy with everything except the industrial sized fan in the bathroom ! (more about that later)

I found this motel on Wotif where they were advertising a pretty good deal but I actually phoned them directly and booked at close to the same rate anyway as I was arriving quite late and wanted to communicate with them directly about that. The were very accommodating with my late arrival, nothing was a problem at all.

The room was clean neat and tidy, had a nice big TV and free internet for the three nights I was there. I am really big on the internet thing these days as I believe, like electricity and water, it should be free in the 21st century. So a huge thumbs up on the wifi connection, though I am not sure if this would apply in the busy season, perhaps not.

The room I had was quiet, the people very nice and they have a lovely dog too !

Now about this bathroom fan....very loud, irritatingly so and made lounging in the bath after dark impossible as there is no separate switch, it connects with the light switch. At the start I wondered if I might get sucked up into the ceiling ! Then there is a separate fan in the toilet as well but not as loud. You think they might have a separate switch for these things or maybe quieter fans ?? Still, I would stay here again, noisy fans wouldn't prevent this. It's a pretty good motel in a handy location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here during.the winter, so very much the off season. As such was very quiet. Rooms are a bit dated, but scrupulously clean, and quiet location, one street back from the beach and a 5 minute walk from the town centre make it an appealing place to stay. A free 100Mb broadband voucher also a nice touch

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fountain Court Motor Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Court Motor Inn Motel

Address: 411 Hastings Street | Hawkes Bay Region, Napier, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fountain Court Motor Inn Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fountain Court Motor Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountain Court Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fountain Court Motor Inn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.