We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel de la Mer

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Motel de la Mer to your Saves list
Motel de la Mer
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   321 Marine Parade, Napier, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Yiolou, Paphos, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Good location with very clean suites.Looks out over the ocean, across the main road that is Marine Parade.Free Wi-fi,TV & kitchen facilities.Friendly owners & staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    41
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
97
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We recently stayed 2 nights in August 2011 while touring around NZ. We had done our research on a motel to stay in Napier and had chosen Motel de la Mer. We were not disappointed. John was very friendly and helpful and organised a tour around the Hawkes Bay region, including some good wineries. The room was large, clean and well appointed. Could almost swim laps in the spa!!!! Breakfast was excellent. Walking distance to the CBD and located right on the beach. All in all, great value for money and one of the best motels we stayed at in NZ. When we come back, Motel de la Mer will be our 1st choice in Napier.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feilding, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Situated on Napier's Marine Parade immediately opposite the now defunct "Marineland" complex, handy to town, easy access to beach and seaside walkway. Receptionist friendly and helpful guide to local eating places to suit a budget. We negotiated a reduced price and found it well worth the upper end of our budget. We have a vintage car (unlockable) and were offered secure off road car park. The room was newly decorated(downstairs so no view), very large with super king size bed and a super king size spa bath (room for two or more), good kitchen facilities, wet room shower and a heat pump that we were encouraged to turn up high to keep out the chill of the winter night. An unexpected night of luxury for ourone night (midweek) winter break.

Room Tip: Fill the spa bath, open a bottle of wine, turn on the telly and relax!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We were very lucky to stumble upon Motel de la Mer. We had tried to book into a bed and breakfast just down the road, but as nobody answered the door (or phone) we looked for an alternative. Motel de la Mer was just down the street, and based on the friendly host (John) and a quick inspection of the room we decided it was just right.

The rooms are well equipped and are spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable and the heating very efficient (well it was winter).

John recommended a local restaurant (MINT) and made our reservations. Well this turned out to be just fabulous. I would venture to say this was probably the best meal I had in New Zealand.

The next morning John recommended a cafe for breakfast, which also proved excellent, then helped us decide on which sites to see.

Superb service and a lovely motel. Well worth staying at when in Napier.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed at Hotel de la Mer for our wedding night and have been back to celebrate our anniversarie every year and will continue to. It is the only place in Napier/ Hawkes bay I will stay! Is very clean and has great decor and I am very fussy!! The price is great and so worth it. My only thought to make it 110% would maybe get heavier curtains/blinds as our rooms let in quite a bit of light. Spa are brilliant!! Love it and will be booking in next month! :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is a great place to stay and the owners are wonderful people. We stayed here 3 nights and enjoyed every single one. The rooms are very, very clean. We had a nice kitchenette in the room and a giant spa tub to relax in. I slept very well here and I would reccommend the hotel to others. Be sure to do a winery tour with Ian while in Napier. You can ask the owners what to do or where to eat and they will have great recommendations for you.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

I chose this motel having read positive reviews and was not disappointed. The accomodation was spotless and quite luxurious. It included a spa bath which I didn't use but I'm sure would have been fun and a small kitchen. As we were nearing the end of our five week holiday it was actually nice to be able to do a little self catering, and while you wouldn't be able to cook a big meal, it was more than adequate for breakfast, or heating up food. There is a little table outside the ground floor units and it was nice to sit in the sun and look over to the sea while eating breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel de la Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel de la Mer

Address: 321 Marine Parade, Napier, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#9 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Motel de la Mer 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel de la Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Mer
De La Mer Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel de la Mer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.