We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in the Esk Valley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esk Valley Lodge

Save Saved
You added Esk Valley Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Esk Valley Lodge
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   342 Hill Road | RD2, Napier 4182, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 42 Napier B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfection in the Esk Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

My partner and I stayed at Esk Valley Lodge in December last year and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. Our hosts, Jes and Eileen, were extremely generous and we enjoyed chatting with them over a glass of their own sauvignon and some bruscetta with their own vine ripened tomatoes. We loved walking around the grounds and our room was lovely. We also dined out both nights in great places suggested by Jes and Eileen and enjoyed breakfasts from their menu in the morning. All in all a great stay and we highly recommend Esk Valley Lodge to others.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
51
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

A very quiet rustic setting (pick your own fruit)! Very comfortable and close to Napier's great restaurants, or have dinner with the hosts. Jess and Eileen are excellent hosts, local wine in the afternoon.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

We have stayed here twice and would recommend it to anyone who wants great accommodation and hospitality. The hosts are very obliging and the breakfasts were generous with the emphasis being on local fresh produce. The setting is conducive to relaxing and enjoying the wonderful scenery and wine of the Hawkes Bay area. We have stayed in many B&B's around the world and this would have to be one of the best in terms of breakfast and the generosity of the hosts.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

This accommodation is in beautiful surroundings with extremely hospitable owners. The rooms are beautifully appointed with every convenience a tourist may need - from safe to hairdryer, from tv to internet access.
We had a delicious fully cooked breakfast (from our own menu) in addition to juices, cereals, breads, fresh local fruit with homemade jams and local honey.
Although a little way out of Napier, access was very easy.
Information was sent by Jes well before the visit about attractions and landmarks along the route to Esk Valley and both Eileen and Jes suggested many local restaurants and viewpoints to visit.
A really super stay - highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Tucked away from the main road amongst vineyards in a very quiet position, Esk Valley Lodge is a very warm, welcoming, private residence with guest rooms. We had the cosy Riesling room with a large bathroom, and it overlooked the garden from one window, and the vineyards from the other. Jes and Eileen were very helpful, friendly and generous hosts providing their own wine and nibbles before dinner. Eileen's platter comes highly recommended, and the full breakfast is exactly what it says, probably the best in New Zealand. Jes was always keen to direct you to places to visit and things to see, and provided maps (and weather forecasts) to help. Two nights was not enough, hindsight is wonderful!!
Really good value for money, and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

A wonderful B&B with most accommodating hosts (Eileen and Jes, and Roxy the dog). The bed was the most comfortable bed that we stayed in during our stay in NZ, with fantastic bedding. We wanted to stay longer!

We stayed for two nights in the Sauvignon room, which has a separate living/additional bedroom with TV / DVD player. We'd driven quite a lot during our short trip to NZ, and this was a perfect weekend getaway. We had dinner there as well, and met the two other guests staying during the weekend. The four of us had a great dinner and after we invited Jes and Eileen to join us for a few drinks and a chat. It really feels like a home away from home.

The gardens were great and the property is not far from Napier and Hastings.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

Located amongst vineyards & set back from the main highway, Esk Valley Lodge commands great views & captures all day sun. You can choose from one of two covered verandahs and enjoy your favourite tipple. The hosts Jes & Eileen are extremely friendly & will welcome you with a glass of their own bottled Sauvignon Blanc. The rooms are absolutely lovely. The Sauvignon room especially is ideal for a small family as it has a separate lounge that will accommodate two single beds with ease. Each room has their own bathroom & the main lounge downstairs is great for relaxing with full sky channels/satellite tv, books, dvds plus each room has its own tv/dvd player. We opted for the continental breakfasts but full english is also available. It really felt like home away from home but with the added luxury of someone else doing the cooking & cleaning. We were part of a group of 6 friends & our two children, yet the place never felt overcrowded as the grounds are huge & the lodge is extremely roomy, yet not pretentious. We would strongly recommend this place as a family getaway, a romantic stay or as in our case with a group of friends. Whilst on paper it may seem a long way out of Napier, it is in fact less than 10 mins to Napier Port and 20-25 mins to Gimblett Gravels. A great place to stay & good value for money with lovely hosts.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Esk Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esk Valley Lodge

Address: 342 Hill Road | RD2, Napier 4182, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Esk Valley Lodge 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique accommodation in gardens and vineyards in the heart of the beautiful Esk Valley. Peace and privacy yet only 15 min from Art Deco Napier. Our rooms are named after the grapes grown in the vineyard and are tastefully decorated with quality linen and fittings and recycled Rimu timber is used throughout. The Sauvignon Suite is a self-contained suite consisting of bedroom with King Bed, veranda overlooking vineyards and gardens, separate lounge and separate bathroom. The Riesling room consists of twin King single beds and en-suite. The Semillon room is a ground floor room with its own private entrance onto the veranda and woodland gardens. It has a king size bed, TV and DVD, fridge, tea and coffee making facilities and quality linen and fittings. There is a separate and private bathroom with shower and bath and a separate toilet. All rooms have heat pumps, tea and coffee making facilities, fridge, TV and DVD, wireless Internet access (free). In addition guests can make use of the lower guest lounge and large LCD TV with full Sky Digital, library and DVD library and Espresso machine. Outside guests can wander the gardens, pick fruit for the table or play Petanque, Lawn darts and other games or just relax. Guests can use our Retro style bicycles to explore the vineyards, Cafes of the Esk Valley. Or borrow a rod for fly or surf fishing. Breakfasts are a feature with local fruits and homemade preserves and yoghurt to start with and an extensive choice of cooked items. We use our own and local produce whenever possible including eggs from our chickens and fruit and vegetables from the garden. Organic options available and special diets catered for. An evening meal or platter is available on request for those guests who have had a busy day walking the hills, swimming at the beaches or partaking in the many wine and food delights of Hawkes Bay. Esk Valley Lodge is an environmentally friendly operation that uses sustainable practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Esk Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esk Valley Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.