We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B on a vineyard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esk Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Esk Valley Lodge to your Saves list
Esk Valley Lodge
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   342 Hill Road | RD2, Napier 4182, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #11 of 45 Napier B&B and Inns
Estes Park, CO
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B on a vineyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

We spent two nights at this beautiful B&B. Jess and Eileen and their friendly dog were the best hosts! We arrived about 9 PM after a flight into Napier. They were at the door to welcome us and help get the luggage up the stairs. We stayed in the Sauvignon Blanc suite. We found it very comfortable; the evening was warm and we were glad to find an air conditioner in the suite. This suite has a separate living area so if one person is a night owl and the other a morning lark, there is ample room to let the sleeper be undisturbed. The small balconey has great views over the vineyards with mountain behind that. Very beautiful and romantic. Breakfast was cooked to order at the time we asked the night before. They offered us a relaxing time on the porch with wine and "nibbles" before we hurried off to a restaurant in Napier. We were concerned that the location in the Esk Valley outside of Napier would be inconvenient. But the taxi driver knew just where it was; the wine guide (whom we would also recommend Grant Petherick) picked us up there with no complaints. It was about 10 minutes from the airport; about 17 minutes to downtown Napier. Their vineyard sends their grapes to the Esk Valley Winery to be made into a delightful Sauvignon Blanc. Eileen is willing to sell their private stock if you request. (Look up Esk Valley Winery if you want to find out how well they make wine!) Plan a visit to that winery while you are there. Outstanding! Anyway, we thoroughly enjoyed out two nights. We would have stayed another night if we had known that the rivers near Taupo were fished out for the season and we drove back to near Esk Valley to fish with a guide the next day. Also Free Wifi with a computer in the lounge for guest use!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
55
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
devon england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

A quiet location with attractive gardens and orchard surrounded by vineyards. The room was spacious and very clean and our hosts welcomed us with wine and a chat in the evening. A superb breakfast to order. We stayed one night but would have liked to have stayed more.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

Eileen and Jes welcomed us warmly with a bottle of wine which after our long drive was very restorative. They recommended a good restaurant for a seafood dinner and our room was comfortable. The next morning we enjoyed the most delicious breakfast of our whole trip New Zealand.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

A quiet country setting among the vineyards. Large comfortable room, friendly and helpful hosts and excellent breakfasts. Located about 10 miles from Napier.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

We stayed here for 1 night as part of our trip around NZ. Its just beautiful, wonderful clean room over looking the vineyard, home made cookes in our room was a lovely touch.

Wonderful bathroom with views again of the vineyard. We enjoyed a glass of wine with the hosts when we arrived.

Great breakfast- fresh fruit, freshly squeezed juices and wondeeful homemade bread.

Its so peaceful here, I would recommend this to anyone to stay it really is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

My husband and I spent 2 nights here in November. Jes and Eileen were excellent hosts. Their home is set in a vineyard with lovely gardens and orchards We had a most comfortable bedroom with stunning views out over their vineyard and orchard. Breakfast was exceptional with lovely home cooking we also had wine and nibbles with them in the evening where we met other guests. The recommendations for dinner were spot on ! Especially "Milk and Honey". We were exhausted when we arrived after a long drive, but very refreshed after our stay here, just the place to recharge our batteries!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

Stayed for two nights in the Sauvignon suite. The suite itself was lovely - modern decor and furnishings with beautiful views from the windows. My only complaint is the bathroom as it was a little bit at odds with the rest of the suite (quite dated) and the toilet wobbled a little when you sat on it! The breakfast was really good and had various cooked choices as well as the usual continental. The owners were quite friendly but have a very large dog so beware if you aren't a fan! The b&b is around a 15-20 minute drive from Napier and has no restaurants within walking distance so if you want something central this isn't for you. Also, while the pictures on the website are accurate what you aren't able to see is that it isn't far from the main highway which can be seen from the windows - not intrusive but takes away from the feeling that you're in the middle of a vineyard. Loved the fact that you can watch lots of rabbits playing while eating your breakfast too!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Esk Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esk Valley Lodge

Address: 342 Hill Road | RD2, Napier 4182, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Esk Valley Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique accommodation in gardens and vineyards in the heart of the beautiful Esk Valley. Peace and privacy yet only 15 min from Art Deco Napier. Our rooms are named after the grapes grown in the vineyard and are tastefully decorated with quality linen and fittings and recycled Rimu timber is used throughout. The Sauvignon Suite is a self-contained suite consisting of bedroom with King Bed, veranda overlooking vineyards and gardens, separate lounge and separate bathroom. The Riesling room consists of twin King single beds and en-suite. The Semillon room is a ground floor room with its own private entrance onto the veranda and woodland gardens. It has a king size bed, TV and DVD, fridge, tea and coffee making facilities and quality linen and fittings. There is a separate and private bathroom with shower and bath and a separate toilet. All rooms have heat pumps, tea and coffee making facilities, fridge, TV and DVD, wireless Internet access (free). In addition guests can make use of the lower guest lounge and large LCD TV with full Sky Digital, library and DVD library and Espresso machine. Outside guests can wander the gardens, pick fruit for the table or play Petanque, Lawn darts and other games or just relax. Guests can use our Retro style bicycles to explore the vineyards, Cafes of the Esk Valley. Or borrow a rod for fly or surf fishing. Breakfasts are a feature with local fruits and homemade preserves and yoghurt to start with and an extensive choice of cooked items. We use our own and local produce whenever possible including eggs from our chickens and fruit and vegetables from the garden. Organic options available and special diets catered for. An evening meal or platter is available on request for those guests who have had a busy day walking the hills, swimming at the beaches or partaking in the many wine and food delights of Hawkes Bay. Esk Valley Lodge is an environmentally friendly operation that uses sustainable practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, T4B, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Esk Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esk Valley Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.