We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cobden Garden Homestay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cobden Garden Homestay to your Saves list
Cobden Garden Homestay
4.5 of 5 Guest house   |   1 Cobden Crescent | Bluff Hill, Napier 4110, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 44 Napier B&B and Inns
Bucks County, Pa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2007

We fully agree with "brightspirit1" . What a wonderful place.

  • Liked — The hosts
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
95
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2007

We had a wonderful stay in Napier and this B and B was perfect.
Great location, a beautiful, comfortable room with a view of the garden, friendly hosts....they serve wine and hor dourves in the evening and a great hot breakfast in the morning.
We have travelled extensively through NZ and this B and B ranks among the best.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2007

Rayma and Philip were welcoming and wonderful hosts!
When I came, Rayma offered me tea on the verhanda.
The Garden room I stayed in was large with a nice claw foot bath. Breakfast had so much to choose from: yogurts, cereals, fresh fruit, toast, hot breakfast on request such as eggs. Each evening guest would meet with the hosts for wine and snacks such as cheese/crackers or dips/bread. It was really nice to get to know Rayma and Philip. Rayma gave me maps and suggestions for places to visit. When I made a road trip to Lake Taupo, she let me borrow her cellphone to call in case I was late returning. They also had access to a computer for the guest to use. The location of the B&B was is a nice neighborhood on Bluff Hill. This was also a great way to get som exercise to walk into town as the return was a good workout going up the hill. Rayma and Philip know how to run a wonderful B&B and they made me feel at home here for the 4 nights I stayed. The was the first place I stayed in New Zealand and it was the best!

  • Liked — The hosts
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castricum
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2007

During our 7-week holidays in New Zealand, we mostly stayed in 4 and 5 star B&B's. Nearly all were of exeptional quality and made our trip in this beautiful country unforgettable. Of the 19 different lodgings we had, Cobden Garden Homestay in Napier was one of our favourites. We had a wonderful room overlooking the garden in this splendid old house full of old-world charm which one does expects in England but not in New Zealand. The hospitality and kindness of Rayma and Phillip made our stay one to be remembered. We regrettably stayed one night only in the beautiful town of Napier but we have fond memories of the winetasting with the hosts and other guests on the verandah. We could not have imagined that we would meet the nice American couple at the breakfast table two other times during our holidays, in Wellington and Queenstown!
This address is top-of-the-bill.

  • Liked — Quality of the accommodation and hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing at all
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2007

I agree wholeheartedly with the other reviews about this property. We really enjoyed our stay in January 2007 and wouldn't hesitate to go back. Like others, we thought the accommodation, helpfulness, rooms and very welcoming wine and canapes in the evening fantastic. I agree, one of the best places we stayed during our three week visit to NZ> Thankyou very much to Phillip and Rayma.

  • Liked — Very homely feel
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2007

We were in New Zealand for nearly 4 weeks and without doubt this was the most welcoming and pleasant accommodation we stayed in. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The room we stayed in was excellent and the breakfasts superb. Phillip and Rayma did everything possible to make this a memorable stay including a birthday card and flower for my wife on our return from dinner.

  • Liked — The friendlinessa and welcoming attitude of the owners
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2007

I am remiss in not writing sooner, but my mom and I stayed at Cobden Garden almost a year ago and Phillip and Rayma truly were the most gracious hosts we had during our five-week trip. In addition to the rooms being both spacious and lovely, the house sits in a wonderful neighborhood with views over the coast. There are great walks nearby. Phillip and Rayma have a wonderful custom of serving appetizers and wine each evening, which is a great way to decompress from the day and also to taste some of the local wine. In addition, they shared their lunch with us one day (above and beyond the call of duty) and brought our laundry in off the line and dried it when it rained while we were out (again, above and beyond). I had only managed to book places to stay for the first three weeks of our trip, and Rayma recommended an itinerary that worked brilliantly for a 72-year old and a 46-year old traveling together. We followed her advice and had a fabulous trip. I can't say enough good things about Cobden Garden. The other guests during our stay included a couple on their third stay there (that alone testifies to how fabulous the place is -- and that particular couple could have afforded to stay anywhere). I'm scheming on how to get back there relatively soon.

Stayed April 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cobden Garden Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobden Garden Homestay

Address: 1 Cobden Crescent | Bluff Hill, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cobden Garden Homestay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rayma and Phillip invite you to their colonial, Bluff Hill villa, approximately 12 minutes walk from the city. Enjoy a spacious, en-suite bedroom, generously appointed and furnished with king/twin beds, television and DVD. Relax in a guest lounge, on the veranda or in the extensive garden or check your emails using our free wifi or the guest computer. Enjoy complimentary pre-dinner local wine and hors-d'oeuvres and a generous breakfast. Unobtrusive cats in residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Cobden Garden Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cobden Garden Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.