We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reps home away from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deco City Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Deco City Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Deco City Motor Lodge
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   308 Kennedy Road, Napier 4110, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Reps home away from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I have been staying at Deco City when I work in Hawkes Bay on and off for over 5 years. I have tried other accommodation when a special has lured me away but I always go back. The extra care Robyn & Clinton take makes being away from home much easier. My heater is on in the evening on cold nights! Nothing is too much trouble and their units are always clean and well kept. The location is great too. My only grouch ever has been the ignorance of other guests but never anything related to the motel. I highly recommend Deco City to others!

Room Tip: Tell Robyn & Clinton what you prefer and they will guide you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton G, Manager at Deco City Motor Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thanks for the positive comments! We do try very hard to please and go the extra mile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    38
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
40
35
7
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I recently stayed in a studio unit at Deco city motor lodge, and found it very clean, spacious and well equipped unit. The whole complex was immaculate and I hope too return again soon. The proprieters were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton G, Owner at Deco City Motor Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our property, we do try very hard to ensure all our guests have a pleasurable and memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I stayed for 8 days at Deco City, sharing a 2 BR unit with a girlfriend for most of that time. Rooms very spacious and loved the spa bath at the end of each day, especially after horse riding!
Robyn and Clinton very welcoming and helpful as needed. Great art deco architecture and conveniently situated. Warm and comfortable for cold frosty nights.

Room Tip: Room 12 very quiet but on south side therefore not as sunny as north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

A more guest friendly establishment would be hard to find. Clinton, Robyn and their sons go out of their way to make their guests so very welcome and are always there to help in any way possible.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton G, Owner at Deco City Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you and so pleased you enjoyed your stay, We as a family do try really hard to ensure the guests have a positive stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Large units but very sparse fittings and furnishings - not really deserving its 4.5 star qualmark rating. My wife and I both bitten by some arthropod living in the sofas. Staff helpful and courteous. Grounds a bit shabby - weeds growing through the tiles etc - in need of a bit of gardening work

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton G, Owner at Deco City Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
I have doubts as to ether the guest actually did stay here, though they are right we are helpful. We do not have tiles outside anywhere, we have award winning gardens and FULLY eqipped units some would say too much in the way of extras, we like to ensure the guests get the best experience. If the guest would like to contact me I am happy to check details further!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We recently stayed two nights at Deco City. We had a very spacious clean studio unit with a spa bath, it was a very large unit, alot of space for a couple. Clinton & Robyn were very friendly, polite and made our stay very enjoyable. We look forward to returning to Deco City and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room in the corner, heard no traffic or carpark noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We recently stayed at Deco City Motor Lodge due to a work transfer until we secured permanent acommodation. We found our hosts Clinton and Robyn very helpful and courteous. They made sure that all our needs were met for the week we stayed and we felt very welcome and comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble for them - we recommend Deco City to others.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deco City Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deco City Motor Lodge

Address: 308 Kennedy Road, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Napier
#3 Spa Hotel in Napier
#12 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Deco City Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have just completed the purchase of new KING KOIL top of the range queen and super king beds. ALL units with air conditioning both hot and cold. A Qualmark 4 star plus with many luxuries not normally associated with this type of property.Bike hire, swimming pool, small childrens splay area, walk to shops, pool, and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Deco City Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deco City Motor Hotel Napier
Deco City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deco City Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.