We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced family fare, poor service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hog's Breath Cafe

Hog's Breath Cafe
49 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 135 Restaurants in Napier
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Hastings, New Zealand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Overpriced family fare, poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I took my wife and kids here for dinner not long after moving to the Hawkes Bay, I assumed it would be a reasonably priced family restaurant, great for the kids and a good environment. The food was of a pretty good standard, nothing to write home about, however the prices were about the same for a much higher quality restaurant elsewhere in the Bay.

The service was slow, I remember having to ask twice for our drinks - there was some wierd double-up buddy-system thing going on, where all waitresses were being tagged along by a silent observer, learning or auditing I don't know...I think this may have thrown some of the waitresses.

Upon leaving, I went to the till to pay my bill and was presented with a bill twice the amount I had roughly calculated it would be - the girl on the till had printed out someone else's bill, by accident one would hope. No appology when I pointed this out.

All in all, pretty poor, won't be back when I can get much better service and food at better establishments.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    33
    19
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The place for a steak - and great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great steaks, although plenty of other options too; casual dining with good service. Good for couples or a group of friends. Sometimes pays to book first. Then meander across the road and walk off your meal on the boardwalk!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feilding, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“YUM!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Hogs breath in Napier was excellent. amazing staff and the food was excellent. great cheap lunch menu for those on a budget. Defiantly would go back again, the friendly staff made it all the more better.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAPIER
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“STAFF COULD NOT CARE LESS”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

As we dine in Napier regularly at Hogs Breath, on our last visit there was a problem with the Hog Wheel Meal.There was no sauce and when we asked for it, it was thrown on the table. The centre of the piece of pork looked like it has been chewed up and spat out onto the plate.
When bringing this to the Staffs attention they did not want to know about the issues.
We will not be visiting this Restaurant again.
The next day we dined at Breakers and the meal was better value for money and the service we received there was excellent.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“you won't go hungry here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

great food, mostly steakhouse type but caters for all. Lite to mega choices. Will be going again. Right next door to the Te Pania Hotel.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hog's Breath Cafe also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Hog's Breath Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hog's Breath Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.