We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant, but decor not to everyones taste” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hog's Breath Cafe

Hog's Breath Cafe
49 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 140 Restaurants in Napier
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, but decor not to everyones taste”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

The restaurant is mainly a steak house with the usual type of menu at reasonable prices. It has the atmosphere of a pub, rather than that of a restaurant. There were no frills (tablecloths’ etc.). The food we had was well cooked and hot, and the service OK.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    42
    21
    17
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“I wish you had restaurants in Auckland!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Hogs Breath Napier was my first and every other time when staying next door at Te Pania Scenic Circle, and all around Oz too, and Tauranga, Welly too.

Exquisite slow roasted beef, worth the $35-40 I pay for the plain, large size (400gm) with cheese sauce on the side!
Mains so good there's no space (or time, you anticipate arrival of your... protein) for starters, and rarely dessert...if you ghet the large plate like I.

In conclusion, you need to be in Auckland. Keep it up and definitely see you on our next trip to Ahuriri Napier.


    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Didn't find many of these in New Zealand but it was very close to where we were staying so treated ourselves. Service was great until it got a little busy and then the staff seemed to get too busy to take further orders. The food was plentiful and really great and I thought good value. Staff were very pleasant.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taihape
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I love this chain and the Napier site is just a good as the others, great food , good company and patient wait staff. Thanks guys.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Simple, but good quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

If you want a steak this will suit you fine. The pudding was also excellent

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hog's Breath Cafe also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Hog's Breath Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hog's Breath Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.