We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parkside Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Parkside Lodge to your Saves list
Parkside Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   82 Tait Drive | Greenmeadows, Napier 4112, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Napier
NZ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Thanks again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This is the second time we stayed here. Got a great deal from Grabone. It's good to see the rooms now have tea/coffee making facility. The place is very clean and homely. Loved that home grown lemon tea! We left a measuring cup in our last stay at the beginning of the year and discovered it was still in the cupboard of the community kitchen - nice and clean. Not being coffee drinkers, we didn't make use of the new coffee machine but that must be a god-sent for those who need a caffeine boost. Thanks again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkside_Lodge, General Manager at Parkside Lodge, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Huhugrub,

Thanks for the wonderful comments. We love welcoming back our favourite guests and it's a real pleasure to see the new additions and improvements are appreciated. Please let us know if there is anything else you would like to see on your next stay with us. All the best for the New Year!

Sateesh & Prue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    26
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
61
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canyonleigh, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed here early Nov for family gathering.
Great spot, beautiful parklands across the road.
Close to all amenities.
Very clean rooms.
Funky decor.
Friendly staff.
Comfy bed.
Great value for money.
Will stay here again next visit!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

If you visit Napier, and if you are looking for a place like home, Parkside Lodge is where you would want to stay. What makes the best out of this place is the genuine hospitality from Sateesh and Prue, the owners and also the managers of the place. You can see them on field doing the daily tasks from checking in up to housekeeping and gardening. They take really good care of the lodge as how they take good care of the guests. They have beautiful cozy rooms with garden view, a place to Barbeque, nice kitchen with well-equipped cooking facilities, and also a reading corner on the 2nd floor. Malls and marts are just a few minutes drive away from the lodge. Town is just about 5 minute drive away. Strategically located? Of course! The moment you check in, Sateesh or Prue will walk you around the lodge, showing all the facilities they provide whilst having a chat with you. You definitely won't feel out of place when you have a place like home to stay and to have genuine people like Sateesh, Prue and friendly staffs who will serve you with genuine hospitality. Can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkside_Lodge, General Manager at Parkside Lodge, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Mragu, a sincere thank you from the team here at Parkside for such a personal and detailed review. We are pleased that our hospitality is appreciated and we hope we have more wonderful visitors like yourself to our beautiful part of the world here. All the best with your next travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We've got a super good deal from GrabOne! We stayed 2 nights in the deluxe room with ensuite bathroom on the 1st floor. Comfortable bed, clean sheet and linen. The room is quite spacious even with a rollaway bed. Bathroom is very clean and they provide good quality toiletries. Free wifi is available in room.

Parkside Lodge is so lovely and tastefully decorated. Love the pastel wall colours, brighten up the whole atmosphere and very soothing. There is a shared kitchen, laundry room with coin operated machine and common room for reading and games. Outside, proper car park is provided and nice courtyard for BBQ.

We truly enjoyed our stay in Parkside Lodge! Will come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkside_Lodge, General Manager at Parkside Lodge, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear SenLee, thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are please you enjoyed your stay. Your family were a delight to look after and we appreciate a new title as the "Gem of Napier"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Three of us stayed in the Parkside Lodge during a three week road trip of North Island, NZ . Our cunning strategy for accommodation was to use the " i " service in every stop and we were on a limited budget. Although not in the centre of beautiful art deco Napier, the Parkside was a little home from home with high quality room, ensuite and -yes! tea and coffee laid on. All this for the same price as a rather dingy Backpackers in Wellington earlier. The shared ground floor kitchen was well equipped, spotless and easy to use for breakfast. Sweet as, bro ! thanks

Room Tip: Book through the 'i' in town - if the Parkside is full or you need to be closer in they have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkside_Lodge, General Manager at Parkside Lodge, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear RogerEustis,

Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback on our lodge. The i-Sites are a great way to book accommodation when travelling around the country and we're glad you were pointed in our direction.... a nice change from your previous accommodations too! We always like it when people make the most of our facilities and are happy you enjoyed them too.
We hope you had a safe trip around the rest of the island and hope your travels bring you back to New Zealand (and Parkside Lodge!!) in the future.
Sateesh & Prue Krishnayya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Parkside Lodge - thanks for the lovely hospitality! What a fabulous stay. The lodge has a lovely homely feel, immaculate housekeeping service, and a very comfy bed. Then I can't forget the delicious home baked treats in the kitchen. Chocolate cake one day, yummy Anzac cookies the next! Perfect location to enjoy all that Hawkes Bay has to offer, in particular the great wineries! Hope to be back one day!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkside_Lodge, General Manager at Parkside Lodge, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Maria P,
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We're glad that you and your friends enjoyed our Lodge (including our home baked goods!) and made the most of our convenient location to explore the region. We certainly pride ourselves on our cleanliness and comfort.
Hopefully we can welcome you back to New Zealand in the not too distant future.
Sateesh & Prue Krishnayya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have had a nice stay in a homely atmosphere. We could feel the host’s passion for their work; and the effort to make this lodge nice and different with other lodges: Vintage goods displayed in big hall way, made this decor unique; carefully painted furniture and windowsills made the room look tidy; white bedding and curtains showed environment even cleaner. Table tennis table can be used for guest enjoyment, fresh varieties of herbs in the kitchen ready for guest.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkside_Lodge, General Manager at Parkside Lodge, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear TuiLodgeMotel,

Thank you for your kind review and including some images of our Lodge. We were pleased to read that you appreciated our vintage decor and small touches we make for our guests such as herbs from our garden.
We hope to welcome you back to Parkside Lodge in the future.
Sateesh & Prue Krishnayya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkside Lodge

Address: 82 Tait Drive | Greenmeadows, Napier 4112, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the scenic tranquillity of Greenmeadows, Parkside Lodge is an affordable and peaceful 23 room lodge within easy reach of the city centre. Located opposite 3 hectares of diverse parklands, and a short walk away from the Greenmeadows shops, cafés, restaurants, bakery, and supermarket. Famous wineries Church Road and The Mission are within a three minute drive, and a bus service is located right outside the property for transport to Napier, Taradale, the EIT, Hastings, and the Hawke’s Bay Hospital. The lodge features a Mediterranean styled BBQ courtyard area, petanque court, games room, shared kitchen and laundry facilities, Free Wi Fi and car parking. Each room has its own en-suite and individual air conditioning, and outdoor courtyard setting for garden suites. General Managers, Sateesh and Prue Krishnayya, have designed the lodge with the concept of creating affordable elegance. The decor and surroundings are lovingly adorned with New Zealand art, vintage bird prints, and antiques to create a colourful and homely setting, whilst the rooms feature the essential elements of accommodation for the modern traveller or larger group conscious of cost. Our cosy air-conditioned rooms are perfect for wedding groups, sports teams, travelling business professionals, and travellers seeking a peaceful retreat. Let our internationally experienced hospitality team treat you to a warm welcome and memorable stay. Lodge FeaturesFree Wi Fi InternetKitchen and Laundry FacilitiesOn Site Car ParkingGames RoomLibraryBBQ FacilitiesPetanque CourtCourtyard Rooms AvailableDVD Players AvailableNearby AttractionsAnderson ParkMission EstateChurch Road WineryPettigrew Sports ArenaPark Island Recreational AreaGreenmeadows ShopsTaradale ShopsNapier City Centre (7 minute drive) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Parkside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkside Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.