We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parkside Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Parkside Lodge to your Saves list
Parkside Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   82 Tait Drive | Greenmeadows, Napier 4112, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

From the outside we weren't too sure about this place but once inside it was wow wow wow. Everything was so perfect. The room was spotlessly clean and the communal kitchen area very cosy and well-equipped. It is a little bit out of town so a car is pretty essential though there is a bus stop right outside the door so public transport might be viable. We really enjoyed our stay here and the hosts were very friendly and accommodating even though he admitted to being an Arsenal fan :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkside_Lodge, General Manager at Parkside Lodge, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear SiHK, I am gobsmacked to see such wonderful taste from a Spurs fan, but we are thankful for your kind words. It was a pleasure having you stay with us even if just for a short time. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Sateesh & Prue Krishnayya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    36
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
75
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We made the reservation last minute and didn't look at any reviews before arriving, so were expecting a run-of-the-mill motor lodge / motel. What a pleasant surprise - this small lodge is a real gem with vintage furniture, homemade delicious cookies, herbs from the garden in the kitchen and the nicest hosts who suggested help with our luggage. Our room was comfortable and clean with a door that opened to a small courtyard - perfect place to hang our tent to dry...
The lodge is situated right next to a lovely park complete with a couple of ponds and lots of ducks and geese, where we went for an evening run. The lodge is about 10 minutes of easy drive from city center, so very convenient assuming you have a car.
The only thing that bothered us a bit was noise from adjacent rooms and the hallway - seems like the walls are very thin so we heard people talking and kids crying. It wasn't a big deal since this isn't a party-going crowd - noise died down pretty early, however if you're sensitive to noise this will probably bother you.
Price was attractive as well - it was about 20% cheaper than other motels in Napier, and comparable to a hostel with shared bathroom... whereas our room was en-suite - great value!
Other than that, wonderful place - one of our favorites in our 2-month long trip in NZ.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkside_Lodge, General Manager at Parkside Lodge, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear NK_NYC_IL, thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and positive review. Our commitment when we opened was to provide the finest service at the best value, so we're pleased when seasoned travellers such as yourself appreciate the efforts. We're sorry that there was a slight dampener with the noise of other guests. Rest assured we look for all possible solutions to this issue, and we're glad that didn't prove too much of a problem during your stay.
Sateesh & Prue Krishnayya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We had initially booked to stay here for two nights but ended up extending our stay! The couple that run the hotel are really friendly, accommodating and knowledgable about the area. They have plenty of leaflets and info about Napier in the reception area and the hotel is clean and inviting. The place is homely with 1930s artefacts decorating the place. We had a very nice modern room with aircon and a flat screen TV. We also had a bit of outside space with a table and chairs. There was ample parking and a nice clean kitchen to use. The owners even left our baked goodies for us to eat! The hotel is about a 45 minute walk into town which we attempted! It is also close to the beautiful Mission Estate Winery which is a must when staying in this area. We definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkside_Lodge, General Manager at Parkside Lodge, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Andy, it was a real pleasure to have you stay with us for a few days. We appreciate the generous words, especially the word "knowledgeable" which I will copy and paste to all my friends and family immediately as proof of what I have been telling them for years.We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Sateesh & Prue Krishnayya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Picked Parkside Lodge for a 3 night stay 12-14 March after looking at reviews on Trip Advisor. It lived up to all expectations and proved tremendous value for money. Kitchen was a real bonus and service was excellent in all respects.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkside_Lodge, General Manager at Parkside Lodge, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Potter, sorry for the slow response. Thanks for the kind words. Value for money and excellence in service are the two most important elements that we aim for, so we are pleased when it is appreciated by travelers from abroad.

Sateesh & Prue Krishnayya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were looking for something simple and affordable for two nights in Napier and this place was perfect. The staff were very welcoming and took time to point out the best places to go and see. The rooms were very well equipped and spotlessly clean. The lodge was also beautifully decorated with artwork, flowers, vintage stereos and the best part was the retro kitchen with additional bonuses like fresh baking by the hostess and home grown green tea!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkside_Lodge, General Manager at Parkside Lodge, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
AngieS S,

Dear Angie, thanks for the lovely review. You and your partner were a real delight and we hope you enjoy your time up North. Make sure you say hello if you head back this way any time.

Sateesh & Prue Krishnayya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We looked at quite a few motels in Napier before deciding on Parkside Lodge. Lucky we did, because not only was it around $50 a night cheaper than the next best deal, this place was perfect. The staff obviously love what they do as we were met with the best service we had in New Zealand. Nothing was too much trouble - help with directions, help with our luggage, and always friendly and welcoming. The rooms had everything we need and were very professionally designed. We made use of the sunny BBQ area and learned to play petanque! Parkside Lodge was well located for a day trip to the local vineyards and we enjoyed a couple of evening walks at the park across the road.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkside_Lodge, General Manager at Parkside Lodge, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Lili T,

Thanks for the kind words. We're pleased that our wonderful team here met your expectations and you enjoyed your time in Napier. All the best with the rest of your travels.

Sateesh & Prue Krishnayya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Booked this accomodation online. We wanted somewhere cheap just for one night. What a delightful surprise when we arrived. This is one of the best places we have ever stayed at. The decor and ambience gave me such good vibes. We were greeted by Sateesh who was so helpful and obliging and showed us around. The room had tea and coffee making facilities but there was a kitchen and small dining room downstairs where you could cook your own meals and complimentary home baked cookies -chocolate chip biscuits were so good.
Our room was extremely well presented, the bed comfortable and good pressure in the shower. There is a childrens playground just down the road and a park and lake across the road.
I am already recommending this accomodation to family and friends who often go to Napier. The history of it is also interesting and the character of the building reflects this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkside Lodge

Address: 82 Tait Drive | Greenmeadows, Napier 4112, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkside Lodge is an affordable and peaceful 21 room lodge within easy reach of the Napier city centre, and a convenient distance from Hawke's Bay's most renowned tourist attractions. Famous wineries Church Road and The Mission are within a three minute drive, and a bus service is located right outside the property for transport to Napier, Taradale, Pettigrew Arena, the EIT, Hastings, and the Hawke's Bay Hospital. Nestled in the scenic tranquillity of Greenmeadows, we are located opposite 3 hectares of diverse parklands, and a short walk away from the Greenmeadows shops, cafes, restaurants, bakery, and supermarket. Hawke's Bay's diverse and panoramic cycle trails are within 1.5 Km and we have secure, undercover storage as well as bike hire for those in need. Our cosy air-conditioned rooms are perfect for wedding groups, sports teams, travelling business professionals, and holiday-makers seeking a peaceful retreat. Let our internationally experienced hospitality team treat you to a warm welcome and memorable stay. Contact us directly for corporate, group or long stay rates and ask about our loyalty card too! Lodge FeaturesFree Wi Fi InternetKitchen and Laundry FacilitiesOn Site Car ParkingGames RoomLibraryBBQ FacilitiesPetanque CourtCourtyard Rooms AvailableDVD Players AvailableNearby AttractionsAnderson ParkMission EstateChurch Road WineryPettigrew Sports ArenaPark Island Recreational AreaGreenmeadows ShopsTaradale ShopsNapier City Centre (7 minute drive) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Parkside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkside Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.