We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Way to Spend a Day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Takaro Trails Cycle Tours - Day Tours

Takaro Trails Cycle Tours - Day Tours
9 Nelson Quay | Ahuriri, Napier, New Zealand
+64 6-835 9030
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Takaro Trails, self guided cycle tours of the Hawke's Bay Trails, 187km of off road cycle trails which form part of Nga Harenga, the New Zealand Cycle Trail. The trails are the perfect way for visitors to visit our world famous wineries, enjoy some gentle exercise under sunny skies and explore our stunning scenery at their own pace. Takaro is the Maori word for 'play' so put some fun into your Hawke's Bay stay and get out and about by bike!
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Way to Spend a Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We did the "Havelock & Cape Coast Wineries Cycle" on Saturday. Jenny picked us up from our Hotel & drove us out to Black Barn (the first winery). She set us up on our bikes with great detailed directions for our 16km ride. It was such a great day, the cycle trails were well set out and it was an easy ride, which was good as I hadn't been on a bike for many years! The wineries were very informative and the tastings were great. The bikes had panniers so we were able to buy some wine and take it with us. We started around 10.30am & Jenny picked us up at "Clearview" our last winery where we had a lovely Dips Platter to finish off the day around 4pm.. Highly recommended as a fabulous experience when visiting the Napier..

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Takaro Trails - a real Treat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Just had a fabulous weekend in Hawkes Bay. Jenny of Takaro Trails organised the lot for us - great accomodation (the Crown Hotel), great recomendations for dinner (Mexi Mama and Mr D) and perfect weather (but not sure if Jenny really arranged that).

Bikes were excellent. Clean, new, hight quality and well maintained. Panniers with the essentials (spare tube, tool kit etc). Water bottle provided.

She arranged routes for us, suited to our ability and interest - wine mainly. Great cycling country, and beautiful trails- Hawkes Bay has really got this sorted.

Friendly and highly professional service. Would strongly recommend and we will be back!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A must do in Napier!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We went on the Havelock North and Cape Coast Wineries trail. It was a gorgeous day and Anna came and picked us up from the hotel for our adventure. Anna is great, she tells you all about the town as we were traveling too and from the hotel. We were dropped off at Red Barrel winery, Anna checked out bikes for height, made sure our helmets were secured and ran through our map of our trail. It was 16km going past 7 wineries on the way where you could stop at your leisure. Wow what fun!, I haven't been biking for about 10 years! it was such a great way to see the beautiful scenery, biking along the seaside, while stopping at wineries for a tasting. It's a fantastic trail where I felt safe on my bike the whole time, it was such a great day out meeting other cyclists at the wineries and dropping in to a cafe for a coffee and bite to eat. We had lunch at Clearview Estate and it was great. Anna picked us up after a lovely day out and took us back to our hotel. Perfect day!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland. NZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“3 day leisurely cycle tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We had a great time and despite the wild winds on the middle day enjoyed the whole experience. Wonderful to know that Jenny and team are only a phone call away if needed.
Great scenery, coastal, pastoral, wine, apple growing, friendly locals and other cyclists.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny R, Owner at Takaro Trails Cycle Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thanks Suzanne, we were so thrilled to welcome you back for some more cycling! It was such a shame about the very unseasonal high winds but we think you coped extremely well. It's glorious again this week, wouldn't you know it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous group experience, nothing overlooked”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Last October we had the pleasure of working with Jenny at Takaroa trails. She provided an experience for our Auckland client's annual off-site for 44 people. Even though the weather was unusually against us in Hawke's Bay Jenny had thought of everything and had options prepared. Her service was impeccable, leaving nothing to chance with everything thought through. The result was a fabulous cycle experience along Napier's coastal cycle track. The group cycled out out to Clearview Estate winery with a number of activities and challenges set by Jenny along the way, which may the day even more exciting. Concluding at Clearview with more challenges, a wonderful lunch and presentation giving. We would have no hesitation in recommending Jenny's exceptional, professional service to anyone - we're sure you'll have an successful and fun experience.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Takaro Trails Cycle Tours - Day Tours also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Takaro Trails Cycle Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Takaro Trails Cycle Tours - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.