We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views on a clear day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bluff Hill Lookout

Bluff Hill Lookout
Bluff Hill, Napier, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 15 attractions in Napier
Type: Lookouts
Attraction Details
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Wonderful views on a clear day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The day we took our overseas visitors up to the lookout wasn't as clear as it could have been - Mahia peninsula was lost in the clouds - but still worth the drive up. The boys were fascinated by all the goings-on down at the port and commented it was like looking at a working model and could have watched for hours.
Be prepared for the wind though, it took us girls a while to get good photos of each other without our faces covered in hair !

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    63
    23
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tokoroa, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Even the drive up to the bluff was a fun little trip. Great parking and amenities. Views so amazing. Well worth a look.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Recommend going up here. It had lovely views and we felt like we were teenagers going on a date! The drive up was great.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“best view in napier town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

for a good view around the immediate coast and town this is an easy must see, short winding drive or walk from town centre...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The harbour area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We enjoyed watching the boats being loaded with containers and the aroma of the logs of wood. It was a beautiful evening so we had great views from the top of the hill. The flower beds were very pretty and the scent of lavendar was lovely.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluff Hill Lookout also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Bluff Hill Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluff Hill Lookout, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bluff Hill Lookout to your Saves list