We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mclean Park Garden Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mclean Park Garden Motel to your Saves list
Mclean Park Garden Motel
177 Wellesley Road, Napier 4110, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just what we wanted”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The most comfortable king size bed we have slept in in a motel the carpet & furnishings new, the manager one of the most helpful. The owner needs to finish his updating of all the units. the kitchen was OK but the bathroom needed attention ASAP. We are both tall & did not like having our knees touching the wall while sitting on the toilet & hardly any room in the cubicle to stand up!!!

Room Tip: Ask about the bathroom in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    11
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
12
12
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My husband and I traveled from Auckland to attend a church conference in Napier,and we booked McLean Park Garden Motel for 4 nights. The deal we got was worthwhile. It was like a place away from home with such a quite environment. The apartment we were in was up to our standard. We really appreciated our stay there and want to say a big thank you to Wayne and Kathy for their hospitality. We are surely coming down again next year :) God Bless

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Very clean motel with friendly and helpful staff. Older style motel with modern, new furnishings. Beds are amazing giving an excellent night's sleep. Quiet with no road noise. The kids had a great time in the swimming pool and lots of space for kids to play and swing too. Refreshing greenery all around. Superbly well maintained gardens. Bonus of fresh fruit off the many fruit trees in the motel gardens. Walking distance from Marine parade new developments - mini golf, SK8 park, scooter park, national aquarium, sound shell. We walked into town and back most days. This is one great place to stay, especially for families.

Room Tip: all rooms very quiet. More privacy in back block. swimming pool directly in front of middle block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I found this motel to be immaculately presented with beautiful grounds, lovely gardens a well-maintained pool and fantastic provisions in the room also. The bed was extremely comfortable and the unit was clean and well-maintained. McLean Park Garden Motel is conveniently located, being just a short stroll to the waterfront and the centre of town which made it easy to spend a lovely morning walking along the shore and taking in the beautiful atmosphere of this pretty city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We found this motel to be conveniently located in a quiet area that adequately suited our team during a recent visit. The moteliers were friendly and efficient in their attention to our requirements. As the units are of an older style they would suit sporting groups or those with small families. Our units were very clean and the beds and linen appeared new. As noted by others updating of fittings could be prioritised.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Upon arrival we were greeted by the friendly & helpful manager. Ours was a 1 brm unit & it had recently been refreshed with new carpet, painting & comfortable bedding & furniture. These are older style units with all the original fittings in the bathroom & kitchen. At some stage soon it would be beneficial for these units to be modernised & refitted. However on saying that I thought that we had very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

McLean Park Garden Motel was a nice quiet place to stay on our visit to Napier recently Though there were only the two of us, the unit would suit a small family also. The grounds are spacious, with easy access from the road, large grassed areas which our unit overlooked and gardens which are being gradually improved by the new management.Having a nice sunny area for reading just outside the door plus the unit being on a single level was an added bonus. Our unit was cosy and clean, with a separate bedroom. The queen bed was against the wall which was a little inconvenient. The kitchen is just inside the back door and quite small however the double doors from the living area give alternative outside access. Management were very friendly and obviously enjoy their role as hosts. Located one street back from Marine Parade is ideal for those morning walks by the sea.and though the railway line is close by (Wayne did tell us ) we hardly noticed the one train that went through; no louder than a car really. We would definitely stay there again on our next trip.
Very good value and a handy location. Thanks for the grapefruit ,Wayne!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat A, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
What a lovely comment - thank you. We really appreciate what you've said and we hope to see you again in the future. We agree - it's a nice place to work and the grounds are great. Glad to hear you enjoyed the grapefruit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mclean Park Garden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mclean Park Garden Motel

Address: 177 Wellesley Road, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mclean Park Garden Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mclean Park Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mclean Park Garden Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.