We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Te Mata Peak

Te Mata Peak
Te Mata Peak Road | This Visitor Attraction Is in Havelock North (Part of Hastings) Not Napier, Napier, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Attractions in Napier
Type: Mountains, Lookouts, Outdoors
Attraction details
Northampton
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Brilliant views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The views from the top are brilliant but the drive up is not for the faint hearted. We were driven up but a few days before our visit a young man had gone over the edge and been killed so drive very carefully

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    131
    11
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“"World View"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Fantastic views of this glorious part of New Zealand (but then, what part of New Zealand doesn't have glorious views?). A "must do" when visiting Napier.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

views are wonderful. driving up is tough and requires special skill the view from the top is unique. enjoyed watching people jumping and gliding

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“on our way to eat and drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Part of the Odyssey twilight experience wine and dine the view is awesome and to see the Sunset from such a height and so clear is pure beauty the only thing my Wife disliked was the narrow winding road up and even more so on the way back down but She was fine after a few wines. Plus our driver/guide was very good.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Not particularly well signed, but we eventually found it and were very pleased we did. The vista was stunning. Some people were hiking / running the paths but we drove directly to the top.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Te Mata Peak also viewed

Hawke's Bay Region, North Island
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Te Mata Peak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Te Mata Peak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.