We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth the visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Aquarium

National Aquarium
Marine Parade, Napier, New Zealand
06 835 7579
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 16 Attractions in Napier
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to the national Aquarium, Marine Parade, Napier.Te Whare Tangaroa O Aotearoa New Zealand's largest display of aquatic life and unique New Zealand wildlife, including sharks, stingrays, living coral, kiwi, tuatara and a huge range of fish species. A fun and educational place to visit for all the family. Located in Napier, the National Aquarium is one of the premier Hawke's Bay Tourist Attractions. Opening Hours: Daily from 9.00am - 5.00pm, last entry 4:30pm, closed Christmas Day
Lethbridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014 NEW

This is a cool aquarium and has lots of cool marine life. It is not the most interactive aquarium I have ever been to but still very interesting. There is a part of the aquarium where you can walk under the glass which is very cool. You can snorkel or scuba with the sharks which we did and it is awesome. Its cool to tell people that you swam with sharks and not those stupid dolphins lol. Super scary to start out with but you get used to it. There are also sting rays and miscellaneous other fish to look at and the instructors are really friendly and informative.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    130
    68
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary AB
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lots to see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014 NEW via mobile

A great aquarium with lots to see. Especially enjoyed the feeding of the penguins. The feeding of the fish in the large tank was also great. The diver was very comical and interacted with all the little kids that were watching. Well worth the money spent.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great for all ages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

I went on a rainy day with my elderly parents. Wheelchair access was easy. Loved the fact that it was quiet and we spent ages standing watching the big fish and sharks swimming above us. I liked the penguin exhibit, but thought the kiwi exhibit was the best I have seen. It was dark and although there were only two birds, they were very active and fun to watch. Would love to go again and swim with the sharks.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Something for Everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

A great experience for any age, it is small compared with other Aquariums ive visited but I cant agree that it takes 20 minutes to look round not if you actually are interested in the sea life, the aquarium now has the little blue penguins as well, feeding times are 1.30 for the penguins and 2 pm for the main feeding area with the divers.
adults will find this a good place to take the kids on a rainy day but their attention span is lower than ours so maximum 1.5 hours if you take children.
personally I could spend all day there

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waipukurau, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
1 review
“Birthday Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

My niece's 4th Birthday Party was held at the aquarium and I highly recommend this venue to anyone thinking of having an event held here! ALL the staff were so helpful on the day of her special party, and the price to hire the event room is very reasonable. If you are thinking of throwing something special for someone important to you, go with the aquarium! It takes all the pressure and stress off you having to occupy the children etc... There are lovely helpers at the aquarium that take your children on tours around the aquarium - and have special up close moments with some of the reptiles and marine life. If you have any questions about the "hire event room" packages, I personally recommend you to go to the same lady i did - Brenda. Never have i had service and information like Brenda provided me to help this important day happen. She is absolutely BRILLIANT!!! Thank you to all of you at the National Aquarium =D her day was perfect!

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Aquarium also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Hawke's Bay Region, North Island
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to National Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.