We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch the fish watching YOU” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Aquarium

National Aquarium
Marine Parade, Napier, New Zealand
06 835 7579
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 15 attractions in Napier
Type: Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Welcome to the national Aquarium, Marine Parade, Napier.Te Whare Tangaroa O Aotearoa New Zealand's largest display of aquatic life and unique New Zealand wildlife, including sharks, stingrays, living coral, kiwi, tuatara and a huge range of fish species. A fun and educational place to visit for all the family. Located in Napier, the National Aquarium is one of the premier Hawke's Bay Tourist Attractions. Opening Hours: Daily from 9.00am - 5.00pm, last entry 4:30pm, closed Christmas Day
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Watch the fish watching YOU”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Wonderful experience, well laid out and lots to look at.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    114
    64
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Pretty Small Aqaurium - but it is nice....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

The admission was $17.90 for adults - which I found rather expensive. If you have been to a major aquarium, this one will probably compare unfavorably - but it was a wet afternoon so I decided to give it a try. It was pleasant - but I think it was too expensive for what was shown.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
276 helpful votes 276 helpful votes
“decent little aquarium but very expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Maybe I'm spoiled with all of the gorgeous aquariums that I've visited in the United States and around the world. This aquarium is small but decent. The touch tank, however, was nasty and didn't really have anything for my daughter to touch - and this was the main reason I came to the aquarium. Very disappointing. They did have a huge tank that you ride a little moving walkway through, and we were there for a fish feeding. It took us less than an hour to go through, and it cost almost $30 for both of us (adult and 3 year old). Wouldn't go back, mainly because the cost was not worth it.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Very well presented and friendly venue.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

I have to admit that this has been the only aquarium I have visited but I must also say that I would certainly go there again. Great viewing and close encounters with all the marine life, including swimming with the sharks if your game.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Very cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Awesome building, right on sea foreshore.....modern well presented facility with an awesome array of animals......

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Aquarium also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to National Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added National Aquarium to your Saves list