We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Walk But Worth It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Kidnappers

Cape Kidnappers
Napier, New Zealand
06 834 3111
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 attractions in Napier
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Long Walk But Worth It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My partner and I decided to walk to Cape Kidnappers - I would highly recommend taking the little tractors that go across. Although the walk was beautiful it took about 5 hours to get there and back. Once there, the Gannets were really cool, there were so many and they were quite amazing.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    31
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beach Safari was Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

How we enjoyed the whole beach safari. Unless some member of your group can't walk up a hill, this is the best trip to do. The ride along the beach is fun, memorable and has great geology. The walk to the gannet colony is steep but interesting, and the colony itself is fantastic. Take a picnic or snack.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Cape Kidnapper's Walk - an excellent half-day trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Amazing wildlife and a beautiful walk along the cliffs. The information at the Cape (in the little shelter) is very educational regarding the Gannets and their lives, and the walk itself is a real eye-opener in the formation (and erosion) of the earth - you can see all the layers from thousands of years!. The trip is around 4 hours return just walking, 5 hours return including an hour to watch the birds and enjoy the scenery). I did this with my father and partner and we did it on our own; not part of a guided trip, or tourist ride. While we had considered the tractor rides, in the end we decided to walk and we felt that this was the better way to do the trip as we had time to enjoy the scenery and were not in a crowd.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic value made more special by our driver Colin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Don't miss this excellent trip. Well worth it
We went with as a family birthday celebration. Everyone fr the youngest grandchild at 3 to myself at 60 enjoyed the trip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“World class golf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

There are a lot of amazing waterfront golf courses on the planet and this is up there with Whistling Straits, Pebble Beach, Kauri Cliffs, Kingsbarn, Castle Stuart, and others. Worth finding and paying for.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Kidnappers also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Cape Kidnappers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Kidnappers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cape Kidnappers to your Saves list