We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The County Hotel Napier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The County Hotel Napier to your Saves list
The County Hotel Napier
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Browning Street | Hawkes Bay, Napier 4015, New Zealand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Napier
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Just stayed at the County Hotel. Wonderful attentive staff, the only hotel we have been given a tour of and shown to our room by the receptionist when we checked in. Great rooms and the detailing was perfect for the period. Churchills bar was perfect for an after dinner drink. Bird names for rooms was a lovely touch

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about the hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and you value the unique charm we have created at The County Hotel. Come back and take advantage of the fantastic rates we have available for the next few weeks! Warm Regards Fiona Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    74
    21
    16
    9
See reviews for
32
289
19
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

My Girlfriend and I had a romantic night at the County Hotel and you couldn't find a better place to have it. The old world charm and service was excellent. We had a beautiful meal in the restaurant and lovely cooked breakfast. I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone travelling to Napier.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
It was a real treat to read that you enjoyed The County Hotel and our hospitality!
I am delighted your special evening was as you had wished for.
Come back & see us again very soon!! Warm Regards Fiona Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I've been staying at The County for one night a month for about three to four years and have no reason to change. Value for money it beats any other places and the location is perfect. I generally am there on business but have also spent occasional social weekends there and have never been disappointed. A complementary glass of port in the library is difficult to beat!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful words!
Your review is very much appreciated by our management and team!
Thank you again & again for your preference when booking accommodation in Napier.
We look forward to seeing you in September. Warm Regards Fiona Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We were looking for somewhere to stay in Napier for a night during a week-long road trip, and wanted a place that was art deco/period correct, not some new building made to look ‘old’. The County Hotel was perfect. Not only does it have superb ‘30s décor, it’s beautifully presented, and my wife and I couldn’t fault the service from the friendly team. Our spa room was immaculately presented, especially the bathroom area. We loved the library room, and the complimentary glass of port was an unexpected bonus. Our package included a breakfast at the in-house Wine Street restaurant, which was great.
The location is ideal, one street back from Marine Parade, and an easy walk to the main shopping areas, bars and restaurant.
Our stay ay County Hotel was the highlight of our trip, and we would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for posting your thoughts on Trip Advisor, we do appreciate your very flattering comments, our team have enjoyed your feedback. Thank you for choosing to stay with us & we look forward to welcoming you again very soon. Warm Regards Fiona Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howick, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The frontline staff and manager are wonderful, knowledgable and treat you like part of their family. The motel is in walking distance to boutique shops and restaurants. Our room had character and comfort all rolled into one. But the staff from the restaurant, snugg bar, reception and cleaners are a clear reflection of professionalism. The manager is an absolute hoot :-) and has a genuine passion for looking after his staff, motel and customers. Absolutely loved staying there so we will be back. Thank you for making our holiday wonderful Mere and Paul

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Your review is so very much appreciated by our team and management! We do thank you for your lovely comments and your time taken to post your thoughts on Trip advisor. We are pleased you enjoyed & valued the unique charm we have created at The County Hotel. Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Napier - Warm Regards - Fiona Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I would just like to say we both had a FANTASTIC time staying at the County Hotel. The friendliness and professionalism of all your team of people was amazing! The food in your restaurant and bar was absolutely beautiful and Carl, I think it was Carl, really knows his wine and food and has a few good stories to make an evening especially enjoyable. While it might be a little while we will certainly come back to the County Hotel.

The room was immaculately clean, really relaxing place to be in and the bed was so comfortable.

Angie and Grant

ps We both believe that the food and wine we experienced and the friendliness of the people in Napier and Hastings over the short time we visited were truly EXCEPTIONAL! Both cities and their business's should be proud of what they have achieved over the last 7 years. Sadly it has been that long since we were last there. It won't be as long next time.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful and have real character. Pretty much like the architecture in Napier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review - our management and team, very much appreciate you taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor!
We are delighted that you enjoyed our unique bar and Wine Street Restaurant, Yes! Karl is certainly very knowledgeable and welcoming. Don’t leave it so long to return, Napier has so much to offer and the spring/summer months have many more events for our guest’s to enjoy. We look forward to seeing you very soon. Warm Regards Fiona Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We booked a night here as a treat, from a travel website that was offering specials on luxury hotels, and ended up spending 3 nights as it was so restful. Some of the windows have been retro-double glazed so outside noise was at a minimum, and we certainly heard nothing from any of the rooms next door to us, despite being told the hotel was fairly full. All the staff were so attentive, treating us like special friends, and nothing was too much trouble. We had breakfast in the dining room for 2 of the mornings and wished we had for the other too.. Dinner on the first night was just lovely, as was the little meal we had on the second night. Rooms were comfortable, a good size (we had 3 suitcases and plenty of hand luggage) and were scrupulously clean. Little touches like the extensive library with the free port, fruit at reception with spoons, knives and plates, the manager accompanying us to our room to ensure all was perfect, the olde worlde charm of the place, like a high class hotel from a bygone era.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a bath with a shower curtain - if you don't like to shower with a curtain, menti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
It was a real treat to read that you appreciated The County Hotel and our hospitality!
I am also pleased you enjoyed the atmosphere we have created in our boutique hotel, Wine Street Restaurant and the little treats we know our guests delight in.
Come back & see us again very soon!! Warm Regards Fiona Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The County Hotel Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel Napier

Address: 12 Browning Street | Hawkes Bay, Napier 4015, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#16 Romantic Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The County Hotel Napier 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to the splendour of an Edwardian Boutique hotel inthe heart of Napier, the Art Deco capital of the world and the centre of the Hawkes Bay Wine Country. Experience the enchantment and elegance of former times with the comforts of today in a beautifully restored hotel. Faithfully refurbished as a boutique hotel in 1995 the County Hotel now stands as Napier's flagship Hotel. 18 luxury rooms ranging from grand to exquisite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your The County Hotel Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Napier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The County Hotel Napier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.