We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two night getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The County Hotel Napier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The County Hotel Napier to your Saves list
The County Hotel Napier
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Browning Street | Hawkes Bay, Napier 4015, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Napier
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Two night getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Our recent two night stay at the character filled County Hotel ticked all our boxes. The old world ambience, the incredibly helpful, friendly, informative staff and management all contributed to a wonderful weekend of relaxation in the delightful city of Napier. Top tips for visiting the wineries of the Hawkes Bay were very welcome from Karl, our maitre'd, over a really good breakfast.
Our king bed was comfortable, with quality linen, however, I found the quality of the pillows compromised. Enjoyed being able to walk to the fountain in the evenings and sit and watch the display, whilst hearing waves breaking on the shore of the stony beach. Lovely.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts, we do appreciate your comments.
I hope your remaining trip was enjoyable and safe. Warm Regards Fiona Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    65
    14
    13
    9
See reviews for
24
219
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We were really looking forward to our return stay at the County Hotel in Napier, having stayed there late last year. This time we scored a pleasant room on the corner of the building with sea views and although not huge, it certainly was comfortable and the ambience and views most certainly made up for size - in fact would ask for this room again. Wifi was complimentary. As we were planning on going out for dinner, before doing so had asked at reception whether there would be problems with getting a car park in the hotel's car park across the road and were told there shouldn't be. On our return around 8.00 p.m. we found the car park full. There were no road side empty car parks in close proximity. The Night Manager thoughtfully moved his car so we could park in the hotel car park.. It did transpire that whilst it appeared there should ? have been sufficient car parks for guests, a number were taken up by staff and owners' cars x 2. Next day after a very pleasant breakfast, we went out for a good 4 hours, not arriving back until into the afternoon. We found our room had not been serviced. Wouldn't usually be a problem, but on this occasion we had returned as I was feeling unwell and wanted/needed to be able to lay down and rest. On phoning reception were advised there were issues with housekeeping and they would be asked to attend to our room asap. Not long afterwards housekeeping arrived and told us how busy they were... there were rooms having to be serviced for new arrivals, the hotel was full (18 rooms) etc etc. and were asked if we were going out again. We waited in the library whilst our room was serviced and the housemaid came by to tell us room ready and apologised for the way she had spoken. Apparently one of the regular staff was on leave, so we could understand they were stressed. Next evening we had dinner in the cozy little Churchill Bar. Offered there are bar snacks and larger meals which are excellent and we once again enjoyed tremendously. Would we return to The County Hotel, Napier and recommend to friends? most definitely.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on Trip Advisor.
I am pleased our night manager was able to assit you with parking your car. I apologise that you did not find your room serviced upon your return to the hotel. The Library is a lovely relaxing place to sit and rest for a while. Thank you for your recommendations to your friends. Warm Regards Fiona Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had such a wonderful stay at this beautifully renovated historic building (now hotel). The owners have decorated and restored to bring such elegance, and the character bar with "Churchill" quotes is an amazing and interesting touch. Loved the library and especially Chris' special port. Our service was personal and outstanding! We highly recommend staying here to friends and all those travelling to the region. The associated Wine Experience opposite the hotel, complemented and enhanced our stay. Why didn't we stay longer?...Should have allowed more time in Napier.This city has lots to offer and is worth the detour off SH1. Hope to come back and visit again soon.

Room Tip: We had the Huia suite with its own terrace, and amazingly comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
We truly appreciate your generous compliments upon the amenities our boutique hotel offers our guests. Your review was a delight to read, thank you for taking the time to offer your comments. Our Library is a very popular place to sit and enjoy. The New Zealand Wine Centre is definitely a treasure trove showcasing some of Hawke's Bay's finest wines. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next return to Napier. Warm Regards to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night for our anniversary. Have stayed there a few times and again it was fab. Has to be the best meal we have ever had both for dinner and breakfast and the service was top class. Nothing was a problem to them and you were made to feel very special.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
We treasured your feedback on the hotel’s facilities and our team!
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay again. Our Wine Street Restaurant is a salute to Hawke’s Bay wine and food, we are delighted that you enjoyed our cuisinefor both dinner and breakfast. Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.
Warm Regards Fiona Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed for one night and arrived fairly late.. Staff left some food and drinks for us in the library. Rooms were very comfortable. Enjoyed our stay. Highly recommended. Plan to stay again in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts, we do appreciate your comments.
We have fabulous winter deals available …Come back & see us again very soon for a longer stay! Warm Regards Fiona Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Great ambience, beautiful furnishings and excellent customer service. The rooms have period furniture and furnishings but all mod cons. Nice bathroom amenities and outstanding customer service throughout. Nice touches like complimentary port in the library in the evenings, highly recommmended

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to post your thoughts on Trip Advisor.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our beautiful unique hotel. The Hotel library & complimentary port is certainly a treasure & appreciated by many of our guests!
I am glad you took the time to enjoy! Warm Regards Fiona Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

What a wonderful hotel in a thoughtfully restored building totally in tune with the city of Napier's historic theme. Comfort plus, wonderful friendly staff, great central location and rooms with delightful 'I could live here' comfort. The restaurant served a spectacular breakfast. Our stay was very impressive. A true home from home.

Room Tip: We had Pukeko (all rooms named with a NZ theme) on 1st floor nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The County Hotel, we appreciate your lovely comments. We are pleased you enjoyed the unique charm we have created at The County Hotel. Warm Regards - Fiona Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The County Hotel Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel Napier

Address: 12 Browning Street | Hawkes Bay, Napier 4015, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#16 Romantic Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The County Hotel Napier 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to the splendour of an Edwardian Boutique hotel inthe heart of Napier, the Art Deco capital of the world and the centre of the Hawkes Bay Wine Country. Experience the enchantment and elegance of former times with the comforts of today in a beautifully restored hotel. Faithfully refurbished as a boutique hotel in 1995 the County Hotel now stands as Napier's flagship Hotel. 18 luxury rooms ranging from grand to exquisite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The County Hotel Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Napier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The County Hotel Napier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.