We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy the stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scenic Hotel Te Pania

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Scenic Hotel Te Pania to your Saves list
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoy the stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I have stayed before but never thought to write a review until now prompted by a few days here last month in a climate only Napier can produce when it is wet and cloudy elsewhere. Apart from a beautiful setting this hotel has all you would want from vistas to service; from accessibility to comfort and staff who take an interest in your wellbeing.
A top floor room and on one night being a spectator of those arriving for a school ball at the conference centre across the road. The transport ranged from a double decker bus to a stretched limousine and of course the SUV all disgorging their dressed up party goers. In the mornings there were runners, cyclists and swimmers in the open air pool also across the road. An ever changing mosaic of people and their activities set against an ocean back drop.
But I digress as what this review is about is the hotel where the car can be parked virtually outside the entrance. Reception was staffed who were prompt and well organised with a friendly greeting. Always a good start when you are staying a few nights as it creates confidence in what lies ahead. Sometimes such confidence can be misplaced but not here as on opening the room door there was space, comfort and warmth and a lovely large bed. I cannot recall the cost but I easily bring back the experience which is not always the case.
There are some wonderful restaurants in Napier and all who visit and wish to enjoy a chef who is well versed in his craft should book into Pacifica. I arrived at this point as one night I also eat at the hotel and whilst the dinning room is large and lacks ambiance I was surprised to find the food was good, service prompt and the waiting staff all that one might expect.
If planning to enjoy Napier and its hinterland with wonderful wineries then as far as I am concerned this hotel makes the sojourn complete. Enjoy the comfort and pamper yourself.

Room Tip: The higher up the better the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
What a lovely well thought out review..thank you so much. It was our pleaseure having you to stay and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon..perfect day in paradise today..clear blue skies and the sun is beaming down upon upon us
Thank you again for taking the time to review us.
warm regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    212
    39
    21
    4
See reviews for
56
226
19
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Very easy place to stay. Very clean, friendly and helpful. Lovely views over marine parade. The windows looking over marine parade were very covered in salt spray. It made it hard to look out. Im sure this is always going to be a problem for all accomodation along the sea front. I enjoyed this hotel.

Room Tip: I had a twin room right by the lift. Although I could hear when people used the lift, it was not ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. A word about the salt spray..happens every time we have an Easterly storm, which we have just had. We clean the windows on a revolving schedule so that they are all washed at least twice a month. Thankyou for your supportive comments of the Hotel we look forward to your return .
kind regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed one night at the hotel. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Though our room was facing the direction of the sea, we were disappointed to find that our room on the 2nd floor only had the view of the street and nearby buildings! We had dinner at the restaurant and the standard of the food was average. The lamb shank had some pumpkin-like sauce on it and tasted too sweet! The service of the staff in the restaurant was impressive.
Napier was a quiet city.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for takign the time to review Te Pnaia. I am sorry that we were unable to get you to a higher floor during your recent stay. The sea views from the 2nd floor are just as expansive and they have the added bonus of being below the street light level which means less light pollution.
Still a great view though. Regarding your meal the suace was actually a kumara sauce, which is also known as sweet potato , so I am sorry that you did not enjoy this.
Thanks again for your feedback
Kind regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a cosy winter break with views of the huge waves crashing on the beach from our room. Had a cold, but didn't even have to get out of the comfy bed to see the view -- feeling spoilt!! Daughter and husband happily on bikes hired from across the road and soaking in the hot pools (also just across the road). Great location. Friendly helpful service. Our top hotel in Napier.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your comments..if you liked the waves crashing when you stayed you would have been blown away this morning..crashing waves AND a glorious sunrise..cold though around 1 degree Brrrrrrrr!
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we would love to see you back in the Bay soon.
stay warm
kind regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Scenic Circle has the advantage of the best views in Napier. We asked for an end room, as there are lots of extra windows, and a view of the fountain - my nana got the end room, which she loved, and we got the next room along with a lovely view of the lit up trees and the fountain. We love the clean white bedding and toiletries, and the staff are exceptional! We didn't find the breakfast great though, and the carpet could do with replacing, as it's very worn in the halls now. Also, as I had reserved both rooms under my name, my nana was unable to use the free wifi in her room. All in all though, we would definitely stay here again, we never stay anywhere else when in Napier.

Room Tip: Ask for an end room with a view of the fountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your fanatstic comments..I am delighted to advise that our new carpet is curently being milled and will be in Napier on the 30th July! The process took longer than expected but we are very excited about it.
We look forward to hearing your feedback when you return.
Again many thanks for your lovely comments
warm regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Great view from window. All rooms over look the sea. We enjoyed the room here. Clean. Comfy. Nice people working here

Parking was free out the back and was in walking distance to lots and next Dr to a hogs breath!

Food on site was expensive and for more ritsy palettes than what we have. Cocktail menu was very limited and drinks were expensive. Decently stocked mini bar I raided the chocolate!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay..we aim to please!
Looking forward to your return.
warm regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is the second time this year that we have stayed here and once again we loved it. Great helpful and friendly staff, rooms are a great size, very clean and have everything you could want. Lovely comfortable bed and the view over the Bay is wonderful, it really tells you that you are in Napier.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and if you want a great view ask to be on a high enough level for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of Te Pania..we look forward to your return.
kind regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scenic Hotel Te Pania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Te Pania

Address: 45 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#7 Business Hotel in Napier
#15 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Te Pania 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Te Pania invites you to enjoy quality four-star accommodation and hospitality. From the moment you step into our spacious, light-filled lobby, you will experience our commitment to quality and customer service. The Hotel’s slender curved form echoes the shape of the bay, and guests enjoy sweeping views out over the water. Fresh and contemporary, Scenic Hotel Te Pania is just a short stroll from Napier’s main art deco architecture and little wonder why it is a firm favourite of all its valued guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Scenic Hotel Te Pania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Napier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scenic Hotel Te Pania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.