We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to beat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scenic Hotel Te Pania

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Scenic Hotel Te Pania to your Saves list
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Hard to beat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Pefect location All rooms seem to have a view. As you would expect it is modern clean and comfortable. Service was particuarly friendly and eficient with out bein OTT. What marks it different from other hotels of this type is the quietness, and the most luxurious towels.

I dined in. They had an interesting menu with plenty of fresh local produce.

Should I return to Napier, this would be my first choice

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
I am so plerased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return and I can promise you that we only have extra large luxurious towels in our rooms..our guests deserve the best!
warm regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    179
    30
    18
    3
See reviews for
47
180
16
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Darfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Location is fabulous, staff wonderful, room superb and very clean. Best part is the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! We stayed during the middle stages of the America's Cup Racing so spent more time in our room than we would normally do while exploring!!

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view - just enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.. We too enjoyed the racing..I am so proud of Team NZ those boys are heros!
Hope to see you back soon.
warm regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Friendly helpful staff; nice view from room 604; very comfortable king size bed; quiet location (with windows closed); very well situated relative to central attractions such as the newly opened museum/gallery called 'MTG Hawke's Bay'. Didn't try the hotel restaurant but I understand it's quite good. Can recommend Mr D's restaurant a few streets away, delicious mains.

Room was only $167 for the night inclusive of off-street parking. In all good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, the proximity to MTG is great and we are so excited that it has opened.
Look forward to your return
warm regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Te Pania lived up to my expectations in all respects. The hotel is in a very good location and very modern and well maintained. The staff are most helpful and professional in all their dealings with customers. I could not have selected a better hotel in Napier for my visit. Outstanding and highly recommended. I will return and strongly recommend a stay to others for all occasions.

Whilst all staff I came into contact with are pleasing to deal with, Courtney, Salome, Sue and Roxanne merit a special mention for their cheerful, attentive and thorough levels of service throughout.

Room Tip: Level 4 has a very handy laundry, Note that the beautiful pools (yes , heated too) and gym facilitie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was entirely our pleasure having you to stay -All of the team enjoyed your company during your visit. Thank you again..safe travels.
warm regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We really enjoyed our night at this hotel. the views are beautiful, looking out over the sea and Marine Parade. The location is also great and within walking distance to Napier's CBD. The staff were really lovely and helpful. The room was spacious and had what i think is probably the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review..I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and I agree our beds are amazing. They form part of our signature bed range which was introduced three years ago - designed and made in New Zealand. We look forward to your return.
kind regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I always stay here when travelling to Napier on business. Good location with great sea views. Enjoy a walk along the water front in the morning if you don't feel like using the gym across the road. Service is great and all staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Any rooms are good with sea views but the higher ones are better for this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you fro your review and thank you for being such a loyal visitor to Te Pania. we value your comments and look forward to your return.
You should have seen the sunrise this morning..it was magnificient..hope you had a great one in wellington too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Te Pania on a conference trip across the road at the war memorial conference centre. The rooms were comfortable and tidy, the views out to sea were fabulous, and the staff were friendly and helpful. I recommend Te Pania wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank You so much for taking the time to review us..we appreciate your comments and look forward to your return.
warm regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Scenic Hotel Te Pania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Te Pania

Address: 45 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#7 Business Hotel in Napier
#13 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Te Pania 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Te Pania invites you to enjoy quality four-star accommodation and hospitality. From the moment you step into our spacious, light-filled lobby, you will experience our commitment to quality and customer service. The Hotel’s slender curved form echoes the shape of the bay, and guests enjoy sweeping views out over the water. Fresh and contemporary, Scenic Hotel Te Pania is just a short stroll from Napier’s main art deco architecture and little wonder why it is a firm favourite of all its valued guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scenic Hotel Te Pania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Napier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scenic Hotel Te Pania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.