We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location for a larger hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scenic Hotel Te Pania

Save Saved
You added Scenic Hotel Te Pania to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 47 hotels in Napier
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“nice location for a larger hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The pretty sea views from rooms on higher floors (4th and above) make up for a fairly bland hotel room decor and lack of atmosphere in lobby and reception. Te Panic was modern and very clean with nice bathroom products to keep, but a fairly 'vanilla' choice in a town loaded with Art Deco charm and character. Next time I would choose a more atmospheric B&B.

The hotel staff were very helpful with updates when the airport closed due to fog, and a bag left in reception. Many thanks to the team!

Room Tip: 4th floor or above. Rooms on lower floors have sea views obstructed by trees and ground level buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Te Pania. we are pleased you enjoyed the view from the Hotel.
Regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    167
    27
    18
    3
See reviews for
42
174
16
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I had an overnight stay in Napier. The location of this hotel is excellent - directly opposite the Ocean Spa pools and around the corner from gorgeous shops. We stayed in a Superior room which had waterfront views - stunning! The service was excellent in every way. Next time we are in Napier we will most certainly stay at Scenic Hotel Te Pania!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We would love to have you come back to stay! It is so nice to receive such a positive review, it was our pleasure having you to stay and we very much look forward to your next trip
warm regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The rooms are small but very clean and the hotel is in a great location with a view of the water. There were a lot of amenities, which were definately appreciated. Would stay here again. Its about 15 minutes from the airport (a 30nzd taxi ride). The hotel helpfully pre-booked a taxi for us as we were leaving very early in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review T ePania, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Wishing you a very happy New year
kind regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over New Years. Was a superb hotel and the location is perfect. We booked a king size superior room and it was really spacious. The layout was well thought out and the room had plenty of storage which is unusual in any hotel. The toiletries are great and they even give you a bag so you can take them home which was a really nice touch. Didn't eat at the hotel but the reception staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank You so much for your lovely comments..it was a pleasure having you to stay with us.
We wish you a very Happy and prosperous 2013 and look forward to your return.
warm regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at Scenic Hotel Te Pania for 4 nights over the New Year period and had a fantastic time. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

Room was very clean and modern, with views through the large windows onto Marine Parade and Pacific Ocean beyond. The windows can be slid open.....but just watch this if you have small kids, especially ones big enough to climb!!

The beds and pillows were ultra comfy and airconditioning very welcome as we had sizzling hot weather during our stay.

Sometimes traffic noise could be heard from the nearby road.....particularly the bigger trucks going by but this wasn't a "biggy" for us and it wouldn't put us off staying here again.

Ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant and it was absolutely delicious and perfectly cooked....compliments to the chefs. We also appreciated the attentive service from the restaurant staff.

Free use of a gym was available just over the road at the Ocean Spa pools, (forgot to ask hotel reception if whether once upon a time the pools could also be used? If so, this would be a great addition to the hotel facilities.)

The hotel is very conveniently located, with only a short stroll into town.

All in all perfectly located, very clean, comfortable and modern.
Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

Made for a very memorable New Years Eve, especially with our own "personal" fireworks display at midnight due to the hotel's location near to the soundshell event.....and those very large windows!!

Thanks Te Pania :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear The Evans Family
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments..we would like to thank you for staying with us and the Team wish you and your family a very happy and prosperous New Year..glad you enjoyed the fireworks.
warm regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington NZ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Immaculate in every way.The most comfy beds, lovely sun pouring into the room and a great view. Only a tiny negative - there were only Apple Mac computers in the lobby which I couldn't fathom but that just shows my age. The receptionists went the extra mile in trying to find me a rental car and standby flight. To be recommended for proximity and free entry to Ocean Spa across the road.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. the werethe first thing I read in the New Year at the office and it made my day. I am delighted that the team looked after you during your visit to Napier.
We wish you a very prosperous 2013 and look forward to your return.
warmest regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel is immaculately presented. The rooms are spacious and airy with great views over Marine Parade and the seafront. No balconies but large windows to catch the sea breeze. There was some road noise from large tip trucks until around 10pm each night. We did not eat on site preferring to dine at nearby eatereis a short walk away. It seemed the hotel was fully booked, so if one needed to use a vehicle after say 7pm, parking on site might be an issue on return. Street parking was adjacent though.

Overall, modern comfort and central location win out here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back..wishing you a prosperous 2013
Kind regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Scenic Hotel Te Pania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Te Pania

Address: 45 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Napier
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#12 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Te Pania 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Te Pania invites you to enjoy quality four-star accommodation and hospitality. From the moment you step into our spacious, light-filled lobby, you will experience our commitment to quality and customer service. The Hotel’s slender curved form echoes the shape of the bay, and guests enjoy sweeping views out over the water. Fresh and contemporary, Scenic Hotel Te Pania is just a short stroll from Napier’s main art deco architecture and little wonder why it is a firm favourite of all its valued guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Scenic Hotel Te Pania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Napier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scenic Hotel Te Pania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.