We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, relaxing overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scenic Hotel Te Pania

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Scenic Hotel Te Pania to your Saves list
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice, relaxing overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Based on one or two tripadvisor reviews and the fact I’m a light sleeper we requested rooms on the fifth or six floors due to comments about noise on the lower levels. Thank you.

All that was missing was a balcony but what an enjoyable overnight stay we had on the fifth floor. The rooms were clean and spacious, the beds very comfortable. Room service but no cooking facilities, no microwave just your standard tea/coffee/sugar and milk, a small bar fridge and of course the mini bar with an impressive addition of toothpaste and brush, a big screen tv, small fee for wifi, a reduced fee to swim in the swimming pool across the road and free use of the gym, again across the road. The breakfast buffet was routine but plenty of it. After a hard day touring or shopping there’s a small bar nestled between reception and the restaurant. The hotel is ideally situated, an easy four minute walk to town and across the road from the Marine Parade with its gardens and manicured lawns and numerous activity centres including the already mentioned pool and gym. If you don’t want to have dinner in the hotel I saw a couple of small eateries right next door that looked interesting had time permitted.

Room Tip: I’d recommend the end rooms on either the fifth or six floors (you get an extra viewing window from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear JoyNZ
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Te Pania. I am delighetd you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to your return and would like to take this opportunity of wishing you a very Merry Christmas
warm wishes
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    212
    39
    21
    4
See reviews for
56
226
19
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Excellent location, room overlooking the ocean which was lovely
Room was clean and spacious, we had a slight issue and were all set to move rooms but the issue righted itself so we stayed put.
The food in the restaurant was incredible- we had the special for $29.95 and there was so much food we couldnt eat it all! exceptional value for money.
All the staff were very helpful too, great location for looking around Napier and the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your kind words..I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Napier and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back
Kind regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The curved face gives every room a view of the esplanade and Hawkes Bay. On the edge of the Art Deco precinct. Good size rooms with KS beds. Coffee includes plunger and bags. Buffet breakfast, good value wifi for $10 for 24 hours and no download limits. Full bank of sockets for wired connections. Shower over bath. Happy to recommend.
First time I have seen toothbrush and paste in a minibar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write ...I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to your next visit..ps its 27 degrees today and the sun is just beating down!
kind regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Apart from a seemingly irritated front-desk staff member on arrival... we had a great stay! Rooms have such an awesome view, all looking straight out toward the Hawkes Bay. We were fortunate enough to be on the 6th (top) floor and enjoyed the view hugely. Most other staff were reasonably helpful and friendly (funny how cleaners can be some of the cheeriest hotel staff!!) and the location to central Napier is very convenient. Rooms are very clean and the beds are some of the best I've slept in!

Room Tip: all rooms look directly out to the ocean. you have a slight chance of having a tree block your view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your comments..I agree the room attendants are outstanding here, they are warm, welcoming and friendly. I am pleased you enjoyed your experience.
I will look into the welcome you recieved, as I can assure this is not our normal standard.
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment, and I will pass your comments on to the team
warm regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed a Te Pania recently with my family... Usually stay there for business by myself. The hotel has been there for a long time now, but remains fresh feeling and modern. The restaurant has excellent food, and always seems to have done great cuisine (although it is typically not for the budget-conscious!). The absence of a swimming pool was well-noted by my 6 year old who has become adept at scrutinising the relative offerings of such establishments, and was hugely let down by not being able to take a dip.
Great location with easy access to the CBD; well-appointed rooms with plenty of space and good amenities. Like the availability of amenities such as ice-maker and guest laundry. In this day and age I disagree with paying for wifi access....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Te Pania. I agree with your son - its a shame we don't have a pool, but we can't possibly compete with the fabulous complex across the road at the Ocean Spa.
I noted you enjoyed your time on The Marine Parade and we agree that it is very beautiful and a great spot for families.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Napier.
Warm regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A very modern hotel with a slightly curved frontage so that all rooms overlook the Pacific Ocean and so get absolutely brilliant sunrises as they all face due east. The hotel is very close to the main Art Deco area of Napier and within a very easy walk of just a few minutes. This makes it a very convenient place to stay. The staff were excellent and could not have been more helpful. Our room faced east and slightly south and so we also had a view of Cape Kidnappers through the trees on the opposite side of the road from the hotel and beyond that was the beach and the walk way that runs along the entire Napier sea front.

The room was spacious with very good storage space compared to many hotels. There was ample space to place and store suitcases as well. The bed large and comfortable.

The restaurant meals were excellent value for money, tasty and very well presented by the waiting staff. One night we had the Octoberfest special menu - a 3 course meal with unexpectedly a lemon sorbet between starter and main and a very chocolaty petit four with our coffee. These latter two items were not advertised in the menu and made a very pleasant surprise. Breakfast was a buffet with all the usual things you could expect, cereal and a cold buffet with breads croissants etc and in addition a hot buffet with bacon eggs sausage mushroom to choose from.

On checkout here was no credit card excess which is another positive point in the hotel's favour.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment..I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for noticing that we don't charge a credit card surcharge..we value our guests and appreciate whatever method of payment they select.
Thank you again
Kindest regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Wonderful location with every room facing the sea. Short walk to heart of Napier city with the bonus of art deco surrounds. Ocean walk across the road and pool/gym complex there too. My tour group were full of praise for the service given by all staff. The front line staff are all very efficient and friendly. The rooms are great with comfy beds and lovely pillows. Some nice toiletries in rooms too. You do get some road noise at times. I had a terriffic breakfast and some of my passengers really enjoyed an evening dinner. Nice menu and reasonable pricing. I look forwrd to staying at this well run Hotel every time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Chris
Thank you for your lovely comments..we are here waiting for you to return!
Warmest wishes
Kerryann and the Te Pania Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scenic Hotel Te Pania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Te Pania

Address: 45 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#7 Business Hotel in Napier
#15 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Te Pania 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Te Pania invites you to enjoy quality four-star accommodation and hospitality. From the moment you step into our spacious, light-filled lobby, you will experience our commitment to quality and customer service. The Hotel’s slender curved form echoes the shape of the bay, and guests enjoy sweeping views out over the water. Fresh and contemporary, Scenic Hotel Te Pania is just a short stroll from Napier’s main art deco architecture and little wonder why it is a firm favourite of all its valued guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Scenic Hotel Te Pania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Napier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scenic Hotel Te Pania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.