We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Authenticated Indian food in Napier....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indigo

Indigo
24A Hastings Street, Napier, New Zealand
06 8344085
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 140 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Indigo is situated in a large Art Deco Buidling in the centre of lovely Napier. The restaurant is very contemporary with a table as well as booth seating. We also have a function centre on the second floor with can accomadate upto 60 people.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Incredible Authenticated Indian food in Napier....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have eaten food in almost all parts of India as well in United states. Food was so tasty that I could not believe that indian restaurant in New Zealand can prepare same taste as we can get in india. Fabulous Paneer tikka, Traditional Samosa, Dal Makhani and softness of Aloo kulcha is beyond my imagination. Cheers to Chef. Also the Whisky variety and way of presentation make you feel u are in a 5 Star....

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Owner at Indigo, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Hi
Thankyou so much for your review, it is great to read that you enjoy the food at Indigo.
We have a fantastic team of staff who are highly committed to Indigo and what we are trying to achieve.
kind regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    58
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The ultimate dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Gorgeous food, fabulous service, great prices, marvellous atmosphere - even the bathroom was lovely! We went for dinner this evening and I can't remember having ever had such a beautiful meal. We ordered the Goat Jalfreezi and a Chickpea and Lamb curry as well as a couple of vegetable side dishes as we don't eat rice. We were so replete, we couldn't even manage a coffee afterwards. The food was top quality and the presentation was outstanding. The two waiters for the evening were great and the young Italian man who greeted us and made us comfortable was an absolute delight. He was the consummate professional who helped make what was going to be a casual "curry out" very special. we can't wait to go again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Owner at Indigo, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Hi
Thankyou so much for your lovely review, it is great to read that you enjoyed your meal at Indigo.
We get a lot of compliments on the Goat dishes, it is a great meat for Indian spices, the goat we source is very tender and a real favourite
I have to agree with you about our Italian waiter, he is great and as you say a real professional, he loves what he does and is absolutely natural and genuine
Again many thanks for your review
kind regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“As good as that say”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Just had first class meal at indigo. Hubby and I dined, and ordered a selection of dishes. We booked online with no fuss which was handy. The star for us was the mixed tandoor platter - very impressive served on a sizzling hot plate. The meat was so tender and tasty and such beautiful flavours. Great service, nice setting, wide selection of drinks and very reasonable prices made for a perfect meal out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Owner at Indigo, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Hi
Many thanks for your review, it is always great when our guests take the time to write a review on Indigo, I find it very humbling.
I am very pleased to read that you really enjoyed your meal and experience at Indigo, we have a highly committed and passionate team who really love Indigo and what we are trying to achieve
The mixed Tandoori platters are a real favourite and they are something I am always happy to see guests order as they always love them
Look forward to seeing you next time you are visiting Napier
Again many thanks and kind regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Simply exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Five of us went for an early dinner at Indigo tonight, from the moment we walked in we could tell it was going to be awesome, the service is impeccable , the booths more than generous for seating and the ambiance perfect. Now for the food , we shared two tandoori platters which were both generous and authentically tasty. The stuffed chicken drumstick is a must as is the rest to be fair. We ordered five different mains to share( pure greed methinks) and they were all faultless , the chefs special ( lamb shank) was fall off the bone perfect. It's not often five people go out and everyone is perfectly satisfied . This was our visit to Indigo and believe me it won't be our last , by far the best Indian meal I have had in NZ. Great work all, your Hawkes Bay hospitality award is well deserved.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Owner at Indigo, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Hi
Thankyou so much for your review, we really do appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
It is great to read that your whole party of 5 enjoyed your experience at Indigo. We have 3 fantastic Chef's and a highly passionate front of house team.
The Tandoori platters are one of my favourites as well and they really are very different from most Indian Restaurants
Again many thanks for your review and we look forward to seeing you again
Kind regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An excellent restaurant in Napier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This restaurant is absolutely lovely. The staff were very attentive and well-trained, the decor/atmosphere was lovely, the menu was varied and very reasonably priced, and the food was served in large portions for the price, and delicious. A no-brainer, if you want a sophisticated evening out or a casual dinner with a loved one, then this place delivers spectacularly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Owner at Indigo, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Hi
Thankyou so much for your lovely review, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review on Indigo, feedback from our guests is so important to what we are trying to achieve here.
It was a real pleasure having you at our restaurant and it is great to read that you enjoyed your experience
kind regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indigo also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Indigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indigo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.