We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indigo

Indigo
24A Hastings Street, Napier, New Zealand
06 8344085
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 126 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Indigo is situated in a large Art Deco Buidling in the centre of lovely Napier. The restaurant is very contemporary with a table as well as booth seating. We also have a function centre on the second floor with can accomadate upto 60 people.
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Fantastic food,service was excellent. A very friendly restaurant to visit, nice atmosphere. A good selection of wines and aVEREY good selection of whiskeys

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Owner at Indigo, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hi
Many thanks for your review, we really appreciate the time you have taken to write a review on Indigo. It is always very pleasing to get good reviews as that means you have enjoyed the experience at Indigo. I am a very keen collector of whisky and gald you found our collection interesting
Again
many thanks
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    58
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Napier City, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“<3”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Indigo <3
As soon as you enter the premises you know you've struck gold but really it's even better. I've been to Indian restaurants all over New Zealand but i'm never eating anywhere else again. After eating here anywhere else will make you want to cry. Pricing is reasonable. Staff well trained. Food <3333

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Owner at Indigo, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hi
Many thanks for your review. We really appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to submit a reveiw. I am very pleased that you really enjoy Indigo and find our food and service top notch. We have a very clear philosophy and that is to try our very best to serve the highest quality Indian food made freshly using the highest quality local ingredients with a friendly and efficient service

look forward to seeing you again
regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Decent Curry.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Good curry is very hard to find in NZ. I have to say this is probably the best curry I have had in New Zealand, but still something missing for me. If you really want a curry in NZ go here as elsewhere will most likely dissapoint.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Owner at Indigo, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Many thanks for your review. Not sure why you feelbwe are average, you say we serve the best Indian food in New Zealand and yet we are average. It would be useful if your review was more constructive, why was the food average, why was the service average, why was the atmosphere average. You are the first person to mark us as average, I would like to know why
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Freshly cooked, tasty cuisine with very friendly staff in airy fashionable surrounds.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The food is freshly cooked (not reheated like many Indian restaurants). Lovely, knowledgable staff and with big open doors and lofty ceilings makes for a very pleasant summer dining experience.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Owner at Indigo, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Many thanks for taking time to do a review. We really appreciate the feedback and are very pleased you enjoyed your meal at Indigo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best butter chicken ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had an amazing meal here over the weekend. The restaurant was very quiet due to an event going on in town so lacked any real atmosphere, but the staff were welcoming, friendly & attentive. The service was efficient but not too fast and the food came out quickly. All the food was good but the butter chicken was without a doubt the best I've ever had and the naan breads were delicious without being too heavy or oily as they can sometimes be. It's also good value for money and if we're ever in Napier again, we would definitely pay a return visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Owner at Indigo, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Many thanks for you review. We really appreciate the time taken to do a review. I am happy to her you enjoyed the food and experience at Indigo. We really strive very hard to serve the best Indian food in the area, we only buy the best local produce and cook everything from scratch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indigo also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Indigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indigo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.