We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and lovely room!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Deco Masonic Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Art Deco Masonic Hotel to your Saves list
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Tennyson Street | Corner Tennyson St. & Marine Parade,, Napier, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% OFF! + WIFI BOOK HERE
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unique and lovely room!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great service from the friendly and attentive staff. The receptionist went out of her way to accommodate storage of two rather large surfboards (Many Thanks!!) The renovation of the Hotel was a huge success. We will definitely stay here again as we loved Napier and will be back.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
27
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were delighted with our room, and the style of the hotel overall. I say 'well managed' because we ran into a preventable problem during our stay that had the potential to derail our trip. The manager and the owner both took charge of the situation, and more than made up for any inconvenience we experienced. Definitely recommended. There's a little loading zone in front of the bar, on the side of the hotel, that we used for unloading the bags.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a lovely room when we stayed at the Masonic Hotel and were very lucky to have a free upgrade to a suite room, it was huge for a hotel room with access to an inner balcony which over looked the front of the Hotel and sea. On leaving we saw many room doors open and on looking in them we could honestly say we would have been pleased with anyone of them. Will book here again if we return to Napier

Room Tip: They are look good but a sea view one would be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

opinion is divided on this one, I love art deco and I loved this place, It still had all the best of art deco, yet was renovated where required in perfect style, and taste, sympathetic to the style in every way, the place is large, spacious, quiet enough, has renovated bathrooms, although disabled or elderly access to the shower bath could be a problem, my wife just thought it was old fashioned and did not like it. Check in staff, our only contact with the staff actually was just curt, polite but just curt, also NB no on site parking

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for two nights for our Wedding Anniversary and had the largest balcony room - it was magnificent - not cheap but real luxury. We ate at the restaurant down stairs and it was really delightful.

Room Tip: Balcony room overlooking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed overnight at the Masonic and we're pleased to have been upgraded to a King room. The hotel just oozes atmosphere and grandeur from days gone by. Like others have mentioned, we parked outside the hotel and just put some money in the meter in the morning (make sure you remember to do this - starts at 8am!). We didn't dine in the restaurant, instead wandered the streets and found some other lovely restaurants in town, all in close walking distance.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maybole
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I drove to this hotel from Wellington for a 3 day stay mid week.
The hotel was splendid inside and out and all the staff were extremely kind and helpful especially the wee Irish barman from Cork.
Rooms were adequate and clean and tidy and shower was very good. The bed was very comfortable and I would recommend Art Deco Masonic Hotel for a short/ long stay in Napier.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Deco Masonic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Masonic Hotel

Address: 2 Tennyson Street | Corner Tennyson St. & Marine Parade,, Napier, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Deco Masonic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Napier’s best located Hotel, overlooking Marine Parade with panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean.Opposite Napier’s new museum “MTG” and The Art Deco Centre, the hotel is perfectly positioned for meandering around our beautiful city’s attractions and businesses.Offering true Art Deco character with a choice of 42 Suites, Studios and Rooms. The Hotel also offer a 2 bedroomed Art Deco Apartment.Guests enjoy FREE Wireless Internet plusa choice of bar and dining optionsincluding our hip new Emporium Eatery and Bar, a “World’s Best Bar”, serving delicious all-day sharing plates,locally roasted coffee, breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Art Deco Masonic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masonic Hotel Napier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Deco Masonic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.