We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating glimpse of engineering history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Faraday Centre

Faraday Centre
2 Faraday Street, Napier 4110, New Zealand
06 835 2338
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 47 things to do in Napier
Attraction details
Foster, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Fascinating glimpse of engineering history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Really well laid out museum - on the ground floor working engines and wonderful scientific experiments which you can interact with - kids and blokes would love it. Upstairs history of various occupations - butcher, telephonist, hairdresser etc.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Hands on museum staffed by the enthusiasts who keep everything working. Something of interest to appeal to all ages.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“I'm pleased I'm not back in the old days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This fascinating technology museum is one we never get tired and always take our visitors to see.
Very reasonably priced and the volunteer staff are friendly and helpful. The Tessler coil is the piece de resistance but there are many, many more fascinating items, many of them are hands on. There is always some little item to discover that I have missed on a previous visit. Very good value at $9 each.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hands on little museum.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We visited this little technology museum with two boys aged 10 and 12. Pretty much everything was hands on, from the telephone exchange to the typewriter, the doppler effect machine to the pianola. Kids had a very happy hour investigating everything and learning a good bit of history at the same time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I have stayed in Napier since 2005 and this is the second thing I have done recently that I've never done before. Why? I had been advised to go many times. A friend visiting from the UK is a physicist and I suggested that we might pop in and see what it was like. The volunteer staff are very knowledgeable and helpful and the experience was wonderful for me (elderly!) and my visitor (not elderly). The child in both of us was interested and, in my case quite amazed and in my friend's case most impressed. There are lots of hands-on things for the children (elderly 'children' are allowed to play too) and lots of things from my childhood to reminisce over. The Tesla coil is VERY impressive. I shall go again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Faraday Centre also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Faraday Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Faraday Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.