We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aroma Room - yes!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Zealand Wine Centre

New Zealand Wine Centre
1 Shakespeare Road | AMP Building, Napier, New Zealand
64 6 835 5326
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 46 things to do in Napier
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The New Zealand Wine Centre is one of Napier's Must-Do attractions. It is truly a wine lovers paradise or a good place to start to experience all about Hawke's Bay wines. The Hawke's Bay wine country has a lot to offer and produces great wines - the New Zealand Wine Centre makes it easy for everyone to learn, taste and enjoy great wines. Choose from over six different tasting options, go on a virtual scenic flight over the Bay or watch the History of Napier Film. As another little extra, the New Zealand Wine Centre is located in the iconic AMP building, a must-see for Art Deco Lovers.
Marietta
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Aroma Room - yes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Wine Centre is a great idea for a region that produces as much wine as Hawkes Bay. It's also in a beautiful building that's worth seeing, even if you're not all that interested in the wine. The staff there weren't very friendly, though, on our morning visit when we were just looking (it was a bit early for wine). They were much more agreeable once we signed up for the wine tasting in the afternoon. In the end, the selected wines were a bit disappointing (could it be that they feature not the best vineyards but the ones that pay to be highlighted in the video they show in the tasting room? Hmmm. We did have one of the featured wines (Aero Domus Pinot Noir, 2008) at dinner a few days later and it was much better so perhaps the one we had at the Wine Centre was just too "young" still). The whole thing is worth the "Aroma Room," though. If you're interested in wine even in the slightest, this is a fascinating way to get a picture of just how complex wines can be. Very enjoyable overall experience.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    23
    4
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I didn't even know this place existed - I thought it was just a wine shop, so when a supplier put a do on here, I was very impressed with the place. Excellent array of wines, a "sniffing for notes" room, and the sampling of 6 different high quality local wines with the footage of those vineyards explaining what we could see, smell and taste.

Recommend to tourists, this place needs to get more advertising out.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“WEEK ART DECO FESTIVAL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Every year ther is an ART DECO FESTIVAL in NAPIER NZ. This event is absolutly splendid and during the week you can discover how beautifull is this city on east coast of North Islan of New ZEALAND . The city was destoyed by Heathcake in 1931 and rebuilt completly in ART DECO style . Each year during a week in feb you can attend a lot of different event from plane show, old car show ( 250 different cars with the oldest is 1935) everybody in all the shops (event the bank, ) is dressed as an "années folles" style with beautiful costums, a lot of conferences everywhere about the city, a lot of building to visit and discover this beautifull architecture like in all romans from agatha Christie and hercule Poirot, and of course wine tous around Napier? A MUST! but you have to book before to attend all event. Highly recommended, we will come again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“"Enjoy being Educated"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife spent an hour or so having an enjoyable time having various aspects of New Zealand wine production followed by a period tasting various wines.
She enjoyed it because she did not feel at all intimidated as can sometimes occur in vin yards or restaurants.
Great shop where we bought a small stock for our onward travel through the North and South Island.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“A must-do while in Napier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We only recently moved to Napier so we stepped in on a Sunday stroll through town and we were positively surprised by the amazing wine selection....we did the "Summer Lovers Tasting" which included three great wines and a lovely cheese, fruit, chutney and fresh bread platter and all for only $15 - exceptional value for money.
We were told about the wine tasting adventure by the friendly staff and we will definitely come back and do the virtual tour with 6 wines - at the moment for only $19...highly recommendable for visitors and locals!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Zealand Wine Centre also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to New Zealand Wine Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Zealand Wine Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.