We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel with free wifi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stables Lodge Backpackers

Stables Lodge Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Stables Lodge Backpackers to your Saves list
Stables Lodge Backpackers
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   370 Hastings Street | Napier South, Napier 4110, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Wellington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice hostel with free wifi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Rooms are rather small - in a dorm, there's hardly any space to put your bags but I was lucky and had the room on my own the first night. There's just one desktop PC so if you don't have a laptop, you need to wait to use the free internet. I liked the veranda that heads out to the street where you can sit on couches and enjoy the sunset.
The staff is nice and helpful but exaggerates their clean-your-dishes-policy a bit. They should be a bit more easy-going with it and not threaten you to lose your key deposit immediately if you'd rather have your hot meal first and THEN wash the saucepans.
The location is very central and therefore great.
They have one single bike that they hire, it's only 10 NZD a day which is cheap but the bike is honestly a bit rusty and not very comfortable, so if they say in the BBH guide that they have free bikes, they should have more than one.
All in all, I still enjoyed my stay a lot. I liked the buildings and was lucky to get a king-sized bed (the only one) in a shared room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    4
    8
    7
See reviews for
3
10
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Pro:
1. Location: Opposite the Warehouse, 10 mins to Countdown/Pak'N Save, 5 mins to Library, beach and CDB.
2. Free internet and Wifi.
3. Warm bed and room.

Con:
1. Noise at Night due to next to Hasting street and some long-term residents at the lodge (despite the 10pm curfew, they still talking out loud and even cooking during mid night).
2. Small room.
3. Kitchen, dining room and TV room are all at the same place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Northwest
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed here one night after being told our current hostel had no room (they lied, and it's Criterion Art Deco, FYI).

The rooms are literally former stables. They resemble the inside of a sleeping train car- narrow, with 2 bunks bolted to either wall, and 2 doors on each end. It's cute, but I wouldn't want to stay there for a LONG time.

Pluses:
- free wi-fi, a veritable unicorn of rarity in NZ
- adorable pet cat/kitten
- friendly staff
- free parking, easy to get

Minuses:
- a bit of a walk out of town, though right across from the beach
- no free breakfast
- can be noisy (it's small)
- rooms can be claustrophobic, and I certainly wouldn't want to share one with 3 other people!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

First of all: The location is really in the city center and there is free wifi. The rest was horrible. I stayed there for 3 days.

1. Very small rooms
2. Very loud beds (turn around and EVERYBODY is awake)
3. Cat hairs everywhere and it ate some of my sweets
4. TV "Loung": Its ONE room and when somebody is watching TV you nearly have to yell to understand each other

Last, but not least: They announced me as a "troublemaker" in the BBH Hostel network. But nobody talked to me! Even if there was something wrong I want to know about that BEFORE somebody puts me on a black list! That's the least you can do to a paying customer. I also dont recommend the horse treck, honestly I haven't done it, but Napier is not beautifull enough to waste your money there. I did it at lake Tekapo on the South Island, that was amazing!

I cannot recommend this hostel. Accusing customers as "troublemakers" without even talking to them is NOT how you should treat customers.

Room Tip: Beg to get a room not at the street. They are small and I mean VERY small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Napier is a nice town. Down there are over 15 hostels but the one we want to go to was booked out totally. The reason, why we choose the stables lodge was the internet and some good reviews.

The hostel is clean, yes. But this is nearly the only positive point.
The bathrooms are dirty nearly all the time and the cleaning was more show than really cleaning. Two of four showers are located directly in a bathroom, so you only have a shower curtain to stop the water from flowing all over the bathroom. After one person had a shower, the whole bathroom floor is wet and dirty from other people walking in. The roomkeys were not working proper all the time. Only some rooms have lockers and the ones in our room were broken. The room we were in was pretty small and the window was tiny - you can imagine, how nice the air is if there are sleeping four people in a room.
The management mixes up old people with backpackers - stress is programmed.
You have to leave the courtyard by 10pm. The alternative is the kitchen/commonroom/tv-lounge, which means: the TV is turned on very loudly, it smells for food all the time (no wonder - the cooker hoods are not working proper and its pretty crowded. There are only three tables squeezed in this small room together with a couch and two old armchairs.

It´s also weird, that you have to leave the courtyard at 10pm but the TV is turned on till after midnight very loudly - which is even more annoying than chatting people.

And furthermore: There is a cat who belongs (?) to the hostel. The cat is lying in the beds all the time - so this is def. not a hostel for allergic people!!!

The staff is unfriendly: You have to remove ALL your dishes BEFORE you eat and if you sit at the table a few minutes more for chatting aroung while your dishes are still on the table - they "remind" you to do your dishes instantly.

I mean - it´s a hostel, i don´t expect too much.. but the atmosphere is so tensed that I couldn´t enjoy my stay. Never again..

Room Tip: erm. Choose the wallys hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Friendly, helpful staff, and a clean, tidy environment, made my stay here very comfortable.
The free wireless internet was great. Unlimited access, so I could surf the night away.

Room Tip: Ask for a 4share room on the verandah side of the hostel. It's a little more expensive ($25) but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

We had so much fun riding along the beach and into the water on a very warm and sunny day. Even if you have never been sitting on a horse (or a long time ago) you will enjoy the trek, because the horses are well trained and Dzidra is a very good teacher. The helmets and boots are new and we were also allowed to help her prepare the food for the horses that we gave them after the ride.

Furthermore we enjoyed our stay at Stables Lodge, which is small and nice hostel not far from the Napier city centre and the beach. Hope we will have the time to come back!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stables Lodge Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stables Lodge Backpackers

Address: 370 Hastings Street | Napier South, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stables Lodge Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Custom built budget accommodation for backpackers in New Zealand's Art Deco city, Napier. 5 minutes walk to city centre, 50 metres to ocean. FREE wireless internet. Horsetreks: beach, river and winery treks available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Stables Lodge Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stables Lodge Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.