We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must be new owners as now excellent value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tarawera Cafe

Tarawera Cafe
Napier Taupo State Highway 5, Napier, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 134 Restaurants in Napier
Cuisines: Fast Food
Description: Located North of Napier on Napier Taupo State Highway 5
Restaurant details
Description: Located North of Napier on Napier Taupo State Highway 5
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Must be new owners as now excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Looking at other reviews must have New owners now as found it clean tidy and great value. Last time I stopped there it was a pub and I had no grey hair. It will now be a regular stop when traveling through

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic - Great hospitality, food & scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We parked out motorhome at the Tarawera cafe, grabbed a bite to eat then took a short walk to the hot pools. It was everything we had read about and more. The pools were fabulous. The hospitality at the cafe was unbeatable - the cafe was spotless and the food outstanding! We will definitely go back and we highly recommend it as a place to stop for a bite to eat or an overnight camp.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great NZ Hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Travelling from Napier to Rotorua last month, we stopped in at Tarawera Cafe for the first time & were very pleasantly suprised! Great NZ hospitality! The woodburner was ticking away nicely in the corner, the scones were huge & tasty, the coffee hot & well-made, & most importantly the service was friendly & welcoming! My husband & I have never stopped here before, and have travelled this road many times over the years, and will definately be making it a regular stop on our trips north. Well done Jim & Marie for maintaining the old-fashioned tradition of great Kiwi hospitality & showing overseas vistors a little bit of "the real NZ" which is sadly disappearing. Highly recommend you see (& taste) for yourself ;-)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Awesome scones and toasties.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Have a date scone as they are just superb. The coffee was great and service was lovely. We didn't consider it overpriced as the quality and quantity was fantastic. We were on our bike and appreciated the fire going as well.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
“"The best food & service Tarawera Cafe"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

How nice to pull in and find the cleanest cafe & ablutions on the highway with great service from all the staff, the owners Jim & Marie take time for a chat & Marie sure gave us a smashing toasted sandwich & great coffee. Jim turns out the music to suit there customers, I expect to pay for good service & recommend to all my friends to drop in. Hot pools to bathe in just ask Jim.
Fresh air, river rolling by & the mountains what more could you want for a travelling spot. Loved it. Ozzie Bandits!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarawera Cafe also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Tarawera Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tarawera Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.