We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Napier Beach Kiwi Holiday Park and Motels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Napier Beach Kiwi Holiday Park and Motels to your Saves list
Napier Beach Kiwi Holiday Park and Motels
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   10 Gill Road, Napier 4104, New Zealand (Formerly Bay View Snapper Holiday Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
TripAdvisor discount
Ranked #13 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just spend 3 nights on a beachfront powered site with our caravan. Worth the extra $4 per person per night to get the view when you look out the window every morning. Down side is the distance from the toilet and showers. A bit disappointed that there is only one amenity block for the whole campsite considering the size of the camp ground.
Close enough to Napier to get takeaways or dine out in the evenings.
Under the flight path of Napier airport can get a little noisy.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    29
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
25
26
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've stayed for 3 nights and we loved it. The location is perfect, going for a 30 seconds walk to the beach every morning is amazing. The park also looked really good and nice, not too many ugly permanent caravans you see on other parks.
The only minor thing was that the water cooker did not work. But hey, if that is the only downside, then there's nothing to complain about!

The cafe is only open for breakfast and lunch, which was a shame, but keep that in mind. Bay View has an excellent Chinese takeaway for both Chinese and fish 'n' chips.

Room Tip: We did not have the sea view camping spots. Those spots are nice, but can be windy. The non-sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Booked a powered site. Park itself is on the beach. The amenities were very clean and neat.The bbq area could use a upgrade and possibly be checked daily for cleaning as they were not very clean. But other than that couldn't fault the park itself.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Easy to book. We take a tent up every year over Labour weekend for a football tournament and always stay here. Perfect! Friendly management/staff, swapped the tent for a cabin on our last night because of weather forecast. lovely beachside location, mix of people who set up holiday homes there and transient visitors. Maybe like one or two other reviewers have said that one or two things could benefit from a wee upgrade but I love it like it is!
Thanks all, see you next year God willing!

Room Tip: Take a tent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore City, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

We were with a party of 12 - initially planning to do a tramping trip but 100k hour winds and advice from all to cancel this trip changed how the week went - this facility has a large bunk house that just superb - most of our group had never visited the region and I know many will return with their own families - the bunk house was just wonderful - several outside tables for all and large rooms to accommodate a very large group - our small party of 12 had the luxury of space. Super knowledgable friendly hosts who looked after us including booking the gannet tour for us - can't fault this place - definitely recommend to all and we will be back

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapierBeach, Owner at Napier Beach Kiwi Holiday Park and Motels, responded to this review, October 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay at Napier Beach Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels. It was a pleasure to accommodate you all.
Sunny Hawkes Bay did live up to its promise and I am glad to hear you had a great time!
I am pleased to hear that you would recommend us to others staying in Napier. Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back to Napier Beach Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

we stayed here in our Motorhome on the way south & I wasn't overly impressed, outdated amenities block, camp kitchen dirty, laundry ok, this Holiday Park is badly in need of updating, good location near the beach, the staff were friendly, if I visit Napier again I will be checking other Holiday Parks first.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapierBeach, Owner at Napier Beach Kiwi Holiday Park and Motels, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
We have indeed a good location near the beach and our staff likes customer interaction but I do not recognise the other comments. The Mens and Ladies facilities are just over a year old and we used the best materials to give our customer a perfect holiday experience. The building is painted with special paint, the vinyl anti slip floor is the best you can get, we have Resco cubicals and vanities and a new hot water system even you would love. The park is nice and tidy with a lot of green providing a nature setting with a lot of privacy for our guests. Our cleaners are taking proud in their work and they make sure the kitchen, and other area’s are nice, tidy and clean every day. Are you sure you reviewed the right park?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Compared with other holiday parks we have stayed at, this is only average. The kitchen equipment is dated and needs replacing. Teatowels and dishcloths looked old and smelled, although they were fresh each morning. The showers are an extra charge. Why not charge an extra $1 per person in the tariff. Saying that they are in a dry area is just an excuse - the hot water takes ages to arrive at the taps and cold water is wasted waiting for the hot. Get a decent hot water system and water will not be wasted.
The park is poorly lit along the main access ways. Better lighting is needed, especially with dirt tracks.
Time to offer free WIFI like other holiday parks.
Nice location on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapierBeach, Owner at Napier Beach Kiwi Holiday Park and Motels, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Thanks for your feedback. I am amazed as well how quick new equipment becomes old. The cook stoves are 8 months old but they look indeed used. New equipment is ordered and will be installed soon. Regarding the shower we have to limit the water usage and water discharge. Our Regional Council has strict rules for a holiday park so close to the ocean. Please see the bright side. People are not taking 15-minute showers and let you wait… We use a pretty new solar system combined with gas califonts. Normally you will get hot water pretty soon but when you stayed with us the system was in summer mode instead of winter mode. After the switch-over the system gives almost instant hot water. Sorry for the inconvenience caused. We offer free WIFI in our Café. In the park we have (paid) IAC wifi with excellent speed and performance. Sometimes paid Internet is better than a free system, which is too slow to use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Napier Beach Kiwi Holiday Park and Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napier Beach Kiwi Holiday Park and Motels

Address: 10 Gill Road, Napier 4104, New Zealand (Formerly Bay View Snapper Holiday Park)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Napier Beach Kiwi Holiday Park and Motels 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A clean, quiet, spacious and well maintained holiday park set on 9 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds on Bay View's beachfront. We are situated just 8km north of Napier i-SITE centre. We offer self-contained units with spectacular views, tourist flats, tent and powered sites. We have a fabulous new on-site cafe offering casual dining inside or outside in a lovely natural setting. Napier Beach Kiwi Holiday Park is great any time of year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Napier Beach Kiwi Holiday Park and Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napier Beach Kiwi Holiday Park and Motels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.