We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean, comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fern Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fern Motel to your Saves list
Fern Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   4 Westminster Ave | Tamatea, Napier, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, clean, comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

After having a horrific experience in a different motel which had industrial amounts of air freshener to hide the smell of cat pee, the Fern Motel was a haven. Walking into the room, it smelled of.......nothing, sweet nothing. I've stayed several times and it is always scrupulously clean. The studio unit is nifty and compact with a well-designed bathroom, light and airy with french doors to the rear. Lovely and warm with the heat pump. The owners are extremely friendly, accommodating with dates, and welcoming to dogs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    12
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
13
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Had to go on business again and rang for bookings - Had a large group with us - no problems had family room plus one other - Nothing is a bother for the excellent hosts The motel is always clean and friendly and it is great that small dog who travels with us can stay too!

We always stay here even though it is a little far from restaurants but supermarket just down road.

Definitely back there in a few weeks -

Room Tip: Although you occasionally feel the rumble of a truck - sleep is fine take your swimmies for a dip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The fern motel was a great place to stay. Good kitchen facilities and the owner was lovely and helpful. The motel is central to places in Napier and the rates were very reasonable, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwaantsje, Owner at Fern Motel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such positive things about us and our motel. We really appreciate this. It was lovely to have you stay at our motel. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We are going to visit Fern Motel in a couple of weeks, we are frequent visitors because it's an enjoyable stay. I nearly missed out on a booking but was fortunate that there was a cancellation. The premises is clean, and very comfortable. My mother lives in Napier so it's not far from her, and all amenities,I look forward to the stay as the hosts are very friendly and professional. Can't wait for a well earned break...thanks Fern Motel we will see you soon :)

Room Tip: It's a fairly quiet location, so any room is suitable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwaantsje, Owner at Fern Motel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice words. We are always pleased if guests have a positive experience at our motel. It makes us happy if people want to come back to us and we are really looking forward to welcoming you again. Always a pleasure to have you stay. Thanks :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwartemeer, Drenthe, Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The owners do everything they can to make your stay a pleasant one! The room is very nice and clean. We had a very good sleep. Didn't wake up once and the swimming pool was a cool extra too as it was a hot day! Very happy with the airco in the room as well. Bernard and Finy are doing a great job at the Fern motel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwaantsje, Owner at Fern Motel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Great to read you lovely words about us, our Units and our pool. Love to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Fern Motel was a great place to stay. The unit, which is smallish was ultra clean and really well designed and appointed after a recent refit. They take small dogs and so that made us happy, and so did their general attention to detail and their hospitality. Their pool was large, clean and a blessing given the very hot days recently, and it had a nice lawn area wiht poolsiode seating. We will go back again and again.

Room Tip: Don't worry about street noise - all rooms are double glazed so the units adjacent to the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwaantsje, Owner at Fern Motel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post such a positive review. We liked having you and your dog stay at our motel. The large pool is lovely to cool down on a hot day. Glad you could sleep well in our double glazed Units and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have just stayed at Fern motel for 9 nights, which was my second stay The room had everything that I needed and was maintained spotlessly clean. The price was very good value. The owners are welcoming and friendly and there for any help that is needed. I plan to return again next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwaantsje, Owner at Fern Motel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
It was lovely to have you stay at our motel again. We are happy you had a nice, comfortable stay. Hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fern Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Motel

Address: 4 Westminster Ave | Tamatea, Napier, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fern Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fern Motel offers you Family Friendly Kiwi Hospitality. We have 18 ground-floor units with natural surroundings. They all have fully equipped kitchens, en-suite bathrooms, heat pump / air con & free wireless internet. So that your stay is pleasurable we provide Standard and Deluxe Studios and Family Units –the Deluxe units have been beautifully refurbished with new kitchens with dishwasher (Family Units), flat-screen TVs, new beds, carpet, linen & modern decor.We also have one new 2 Bedroom Unit.It has a beautiful large kitchen with dishwasher, big fridge/freezer and large ceramic hob. Bedroom 1 has a queen and bedroom 2 has 3 singles.Both bedrooms and the lounge have flatscreen tv’s. The lounge is stylishly decorated and has a sofabed and a nice dining area. All units have secure off-street parking and their own private courtyard where you can sit outside or entertain in the BBQ area. You can watch the kids swim in the large pool and play in the children's fenced playground area. Just off the HB Expressway, Fern Motel is conveniently located between Taradale & Napier City, close to Napier Airport, Park Island Sports Complex, Pettigrew Green Arena, Onekawa Aquatic Centre & Church Road and Mission Estate Wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fern Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fern Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.