We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ormlie Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ormlie Lodge to your Saves list
Ormlie Lodge
17 Omarunui Rd. | Taradale, Napier 4183, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 45 Napier B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't stay here.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have never written a poor review on Trip Advisor but felt compelled to so others would not make the same mistake we made! My husband and I had planned a peaceful night away and had booked this about 2 weeks prior to our arrival. We arrived to be advised that the night we were staying there was a Christmas work function of 100 people. There had been no effort to advise us of this at the time of booking or at all until we talked to those from the company whose function it was. We were advised it would not be a problem due to the "sound proofing ?!" and that it was to end at midnight anyway. The restaurant was therefore closed to us so we headed out for the evening ( thank goodness). We arrived back to find the party in full swing and so it continued ..
At 01:30 am I had to go down to the bar to request they turn the music off. The bar and function room is directly below the bedroom. Surely if a function is booked it is essential to at least inform the guests who are staying who are not associated with that function. Or maybe don't book out the rooms!
The breakfast in the morning was also terrible including stale bread ( I assume left over from the night before) It was left out on a side table and no effort made at all to notice us. The table beside us was covered in dead flies fallen from the chandelier above, and the floor needed a good vacuum. There did not seem to be a manger on site, and most of the staff seemed to be on university holidays.
I was most disappointed with this lodge having read previous good reviews. The beautiful old building cannot make up for the terrible service that is offered.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Himatangi Beach
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Great setting and personable friendly service.
We were staying only one night so we booked the Nursery Suite. If (when) we stay next time would book a balcony suite. Even so we were very comfortable and relaxed. The setting, peace and quiet , just the birds and paradise.
We stayed here because of the proximity to Napier Golf Club, but it is very close to some of the best wineries in Napier, and a good central location for the whole Hawkes Bay.
The breakfast with home made breads was delightful, would have liked the option of a small cooked breakfast option but that may come. (Would have been the icing)
Enjoy

Room Tip: Balcony with view over the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormlie1899, Guest Relations Manager at Ormlie Lodge, responded to this review, November 18, 2014
Dear Phil,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Yes, we are in a great location here, peaceful setting but only a short drive from the main attractions. Plus the golf course is on our doorstep! Perfect!
We are glad you enjoyed your continental breakfast during your stay. Our kitchen bakes everything fresh for your enjoyment. As newly opened, we love to hear ways to improve our choice so yes offering a cooked hot breakfast is something we will look at in the future as we go into our peak season.
We hope to see you again on your next travels to the Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We recently spent a night at Ormlie Lodge. It was great. We were very well looked after and upgraded to a lovely room with balcony overlooking the gardens. Breakfast was delicious with excellent coffee. The owner and staff were very friendly and attentive and we highly recommend a stay here. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormlie1899, Guest Relations Manager at Ormlie Lodge, responded to this review, November 18, 2014
Dear Pete,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we're glad you enjoyed our coffee! It is fantastic! I will ensure all our Ormlie Team, hear your kind words about our service. We pride ourselves on making guests feel at home when staying here. We are so pleased we achieved a great recommendation from you. Hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

It's not often that you get luxury, a sense of belonging and adventure in one hotel experience, but this is what we got with this wonderful hotel which is under new management......

What an amazing place; surrounded by "notable trees" the beautiful gardens surround this 1899 luxury manor which is full of ancient rimu original woodwork, and amazingly restored to the highest quality. Our suite, one of six, boasted a superb bed (with many stories to tell, no doubt) and modern accoutrements including LCD TV, free wifi and a lovely modern bathroom. Access to the lovely balcony with luxury furniture was a huge plus.

However, the new owners have a few things to sort out, including access back to the hotel at 8;45 pm after dinner in nearby Taradale...... We had to act like burglars and move round the house trying every door, until hooray, we found one that was open! What we would have done if was hadn't was beyond thinking about! Yes, we were the only residents, and there were no dinner guests.... Well it was early days for the new management, as it had only opened for about a month after several months of refurbishment under the new management.

Breakfast was a trifle disappointing, with only one choice of cereals and a basket of French pastries, you would have thought there would be something delicious and hot on offer.....

But we loved it. And we would still recommend that you book in to enjoy the luxury offered here, just make it clear if you are going out at night that you expect to get back in!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormlie1899, Guest Relations Manager at Ormlie Lodge, responded to this review, November 18, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to give your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here.
We are sorry to hear there was some confusion over your evening return to the lodge. We have addressed this with our team. There is always someone onsite to let you into the building so there would have been no problem there. We lock our front door for our guests' security but this is not normally locked till later in the evening.
With regards to breakfast, we offer a continental choice including in your room rate. Our breads and Ormlie granola are baked and created fresh in our kitchen. Along with our fresh fruit, yoghurt and other breakfast choices, we feel this is a high quality continental breakfast. But thank you for your feedback, we will take this on board and review.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thank you for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

We had such a lovely time, everyone was friendly, open and helpful. It's like stepping back in time to a beautiful and grand old manor with a warm and inviting atmosphere. A real 'can do' attitude with a home away from home feeling. Thank you for having us.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormlie1899, Guest Relations Manager at Ormlie Lodge, responded to this review, November 18, 2014
Dear Tania,

Thank you for your lovely review. We really appreciate you taking the time to give your feedback and the Ormlie Team are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

This is a gorgeous old home turned into a lodge. Great service and lovely location. Breakfast was yummy and the staff are very helpful. Lovely, peaceful setting. A little out of town but well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormlie1899, Guest Relations Manager at Ormlie Lodge, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. It is lovely to hear you enjoyed the peaceful setting of Ormlie 1899. Although everything you need is close by, Ormlie does offer a great retreat! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

My fiancée surprised me by taking me to this decadent lodge on the night of my birthday. What an absolute indulgence. We were treated as royalty by Andrew, the manager and Bonnie, the most delightful of chefs. Bonnie's creativity in the kitchen made for the most appetising of meals, with all courses producing a scrumptious appreciation from us both. As we were the only diners in the lodge that night Andrew placed a table by the fire and we enjoyed his company, which was tactfully present when required, and absent when we were eating. We thoroughly enjoyed both Andrew & Bonnie's company - they were both wonderful people to talk to with vibrant personalities which added to our amazing experience.

Room Tip: Select from the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormlie1899, Guest Relations Manager at Ormlie Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Dear Belinda,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate your wonderful feedback. Our team prides itself on offering a quality service to ensure all our guests enjoy their stay at Ormlie 1899. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your food and the unique atmosphere Ormlie 1899 has to offer. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ormlie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ormlie Lodge

Address: 17 Omarunui Rd. | Taradale, Napier 4183, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an impressive history, Ormlie Lodge offers boutique accommodation, combining a little of Hawkes Bay's old world charm with contemporary design and modern day comfort. Ormlie Lodge has 6 luxurious rooms, each with an en-suite and all the modern amenities necessary. Breakfast is served continental style - either in the privacy of your own room or select an outside space, on one of the many spectacularly sunny days Hawkes Bay is known for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ormlie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ormlie Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.