We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel in Napier” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dome

Save Saved
You added The Dome to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dome
5.0 of 5 Condominium   |   101 Marine Parade | Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 31 Specialty lodging in Napier
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely boutique hotel in Napier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were sad to only ahve one night in this lovely place. The room was spacious, and we were provided with a wonderful bottle of Hawke's Bay red on arrival. We had a pull out bed for our 10-year old, which was large and very comfortable. The lcoation is great - parking was a bit of a challenge, but it wasn't the end of the world. The room was clean and tidy and airy (nice having actual windows!).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
32
Solo
0
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We are a group of 5 sisters who try to celebrate family occaisions throughout the year (although any excuse for a weekend away will do!). One of our group trurned 60 years young this year (not me!) and we thought a special 2 day weekend was in order - so off to Napier and The Dome we went. What a lovely place to stay and such friendly helpful management - thank you girls! Putting on such superb clear, blue-sky weather for us was going the extra mile!! We had a wonderful weekend and lots of laughs along the way..........such fun

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We chose The Dome for its proximity and style. A lovely venue for our event. The option to provide our own catering was perfect. Great service was provided and we were well looked after. First class amenities and everything is thought of. We would recommend this venue and hope to come again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Dome would have to be THE BEST place to stay in Napier. We stayed in the Cape View Penthouse which was just superb. Fortunately it is away from some of the construction noise that is happening at street level.Everything has been thought of ( except tissues and matches). The heated floors in the bathrooms were truly appreciated, the air con works well, all the appliances are first class. Cape View faces onto Marine Parade which is an easy access road down to Cape Kidnappers and Elephant Hill Winery and the lovely Telegraph Hill Olivery. Karla gave us a great suggestion for dinner at Pacifica. Information centre is across the road. Booking process was easy and great communication. We'll be back at The Dome

Room Tip: Ask if the roadworks has finished along Marine Parade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes Bay
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying in one of the penthouse suites at the Dome for two amazing nights. Capeview Penthouse offers extensive views to Cape Kidnappers and the surrounding buildings of Napier City. The suite has all the luxuries and allows you to have an intimate, relaxing stay. Being in the middle of treatment for cancer it was the perfect retreat for my husband and I. We loved the close proximity to restaurants and attractions Napier has to offer. Karla was a lovely lady who met all of our needs to ensure we had the best possible weekend away. Thank you for a dream weekend which more than lived up to our expectations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My husband and I were lucky enough to stay in this beautiful property which effortlessly fuses history with modern, luxurious facilities. Karla was exceptional to deal with in the booking process, and is a kind and generous host. We were blown away by being upgraded to the penthouse apartment with its amazing views and plush interior. Super comfy beds, gorgeous complimentary bathroom products and snuggly robes made for a very relaxed weekend. The hot tub on the roof is superb! It was also a real plus being in the heart of Napier with shops and restaurants on your doorstep. The Dome is a special place and we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynnum, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Staying at The Dome was amazing. It has all the class of a 5 star venue with all the benefits of an apartment. The staff were friendly and accommodating and made me feel so welcome. It is located ideally close to town by right on the esplanade. Napier is a beautiful town and combined with staying at The Dome, I perfect place to stay for my business trip, but I certainly would come back for a holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Dome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dome

Address: 101 Marine Parade | Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Specialty lodging in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dome 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dome apartments provide the highest level of contemporary modern living and pure luxury. Complete with: spacious living areas, generously apportioned bedrooms and fully equipped kitchen and dining facilities. Many of the bedrooms include, balconies and panoramic sea and cityscape views. This is complemented by luxury decor, with furnishing from designers like Philippe Stark, and artwork by renown local artists like Martin Popperwell, Dick Frizzle, Fane Flaw and Richard Brimmer. The Dome offers an exclusive and privacy which has made it a popular retreat favored by local and international artists & celebrities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Dome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.