We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in Napier” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dome

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Dome to your Saves list
The Dome
5.0 of 5 Condominium   |   101 Marine Parade | Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gisborne, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Luxury in Napier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Recently we had a quick trip to Napier for business and stayed at the Dome apartments. We had a studio unit and it was spacious and lovely. We also had a kitchen and laundry at our disposal. The location was perfect and we could walk everywhere from there.

If you are looking for something special, this is a gorgous place to stay.

Megan and David Parker
Gisborne

Room Tip: make contact with the people at The Dome, Napier to discuss what room option would best suit you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
38
Solo
0
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

The Dome was a pleasant surprise for us on our great NZ tour of 2011. We weren't sure what to expect of accommodation in the Hawke's Bay area. We stayed in one of the penthouses with a view of the ocean and it was nicely furnished and well equipped and in excellent nick. Kitchen and bathrooms were up to date and upmarket, with a few designery touches. The oven was a little too complicated though! Excelllent feature was the laundry room - very useful when you are a family on a four week tour! The owner met us and gave us a few suggestions for restaurants which turned out to be good. There was a nice welcome basket of well-chosen treats and staples. The entire apartment was impeccably clean. All in all I feel very pleased with our choice of the Dome, and would recommend it to friends with no hesitation. The actual town of Napier was pleasant enough - it is known for its art deco architectural style, as everything was rebuilt in the 1920s or 1930s after a catastrophic earthquake. Please go with Hamish for your wine tour, as he is a knowledgeable, pleasant and low key bloke With a good sense of humour- just perfect really. Our kids loved him. Must be honest and say I preferred the wines of Central Otago to Hawke's Bay, but this is still a very nice region of NZ and I am glad we saw it. PS there is a good gelato place just downstairs from the Dome apartments which you should try.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerstonn NOrth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

My Husband shouted us away for our wedding anniversary - and to be truthful I don't think he could have chosen better. The facilities are top class and amazing. Everything was top class and so much room. Karla was very helpfuil and friendly right from the time it was booked to when we arrived. It was great to be so central also so we only had to use our feet to visit the super awesome shops that Napier has to offer. I would strongly recommend this accommodation to anyone who wants to do something just a little bit special. Thanks again Karla!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomonal, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Our apartment at the Dome suited us well for a self catered stay. Our spacious bedroom overlooked the sea & adjoined a spacious balcony. Complete with dressing room and ensuite, it was quite sumptuous. The kitchen/dining area had all mod cons and lead to a tiled pool/spa/outdoor lounge/BBQ common area - great for evening drinks ( a bottle of good champagne was supplied!). Located in the heart of Napier it was a terrific base for exploring the Hawkes Bay area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We decided to treat ourselves to a night away from home for our 1st Wedding Anniversary and booked into the Cape View Apartment at The Dome Penthouses. Both Karla and Ailne were extremely helpful with setting up everything we needed - nothing was a problem. We were in relaxation bliss with the stunning panoramic pacific ocean views, giant bubble bath and an abundance of space to spread out in. We had all the facilities we needed to stay in and enjoy a night away from home in pure luxury! Plus the next morning, there were so many fantastic coffee shops within very close walking distance for our morning coffee fix. For a luxuriuous home away from home...go no further than here!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed at The Dome for 2 nights last week...on arrival we were met by Karla who showed us around and provided a few tips of places to go. We had the studio apartment on the second floor which was very spacious. The room was very clean and beautifully decorated. There were a few issues, however, the shower was clearly set up for disabled people which is great but the shower curtain was not adequate to keep the rest of the bathroom dry. The rain shower was not enjoyable at all and the handheld shower didn't work. With the room not being serviced during our stay we got no dry clean towels (ours were used to mop up the bathroom after showers!) and with lots of construction going on in the area were were woken at 7am both mornings. In saying that the location is great, the suggestions compendium in the room were very helpful and we would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Upon arriving at The Dome we were greeted by Robyn who took the time to give us the grand tour. Ours was the Pacific View Apartment, which at first sight made our jaws hit the floor! To say the photos on the website don't do it justice is an understatement. The space is massive, extremely comfortable, and decorated with luxurious designer touches throughout. The views are spectacular and make for such a magical stay, one must truly experience to understand. The spa-like plunge pool and hot tub are just steps away and after sliding back the living room door, you can experience true indoor/outdoor living. Laundry facilities are located off the pool area which came in handy after already being in NZ for a couple weeks. The Dome has been stocked with plenty of local magazines and menus that ended up being our "go to" bibles for places to eat, wineries to visit, and things to do. The Dome's location is perfect as you are across the street from the ocean and within 5 minutes walking of numerous amazing restaurants. Secured parking provided by The Dome was only 2 blocks away, which we found to be fantastic. After a couple days we were fortunate enough to meet Karla, who popped in to see how we were and if we need anything. She is such an amazing host and a real sweetheart to boot! I doubt there's anywhere else in Napier that can match what The Dome has to offer. The four nights we stayed were incredible and we can't wait to come back. Huge thanks to Karla and the owners for providing everything you'd hope for in a dream getaway....and a few surprises you might not think of!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dome

Address: 101 Marine Parade | Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dome 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dome apartments provide the highest level of contemporary modern living and pure luxury. Complete with: spacious living areas, generously apportioned bedrooms and fully equipped kitchen and dining facilities. Many of the bedrooms include, balconies and panoramic sea and cityscape views. This is complemented by luxury decor, with furnishing from designers like Philippe Stark, and artwork by renown local artists like Martin Popperwell, Dick Frizzle, Fane Flaw and Richard Brimmer. The Dome offers an exclusive and privacy which has made it a popular retreat favored by local and international artists & celebrities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Dome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.