We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful house , great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seaview Lodge

Seaview Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaview Lodge
Save
You added Seaview Lodge to your Saves list
5 Seaview Terrace | Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 44 Napier B&B and Inns
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“beautiful house , great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here in the spacious accommodation in this gracious period house which is so central but peaceful too. On arrival Catherine quickly got us sorted for one of us to make use of the walking tour of the town leaving within 15mins and the other to use the fantastic good value baths across the road overlooking the sea. These have lap pool and various hot baths and steam room. This was followed by great advice on the best restaurant to suit our tastes. Just so wished we could have stayed longer and used the wonderful period bath in the bathroom. Thanks!

Room Tip: we loved the large room at the front even though the delightful private bathroom isn't en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evert v, Owner at Seaview Lodge, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed your stay so much, it is always a pleasure hosting and helping my guests get the most out of their stay in the Bay! Best, Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
28
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed at Seaview Lodge for two days while on a motorcycle tour and only regret we couldn't stay longer! The host, Catharine, was a complete delight, and knew Napier like the back of her hand. The house is a lovely old Victorian with wonderful views of the ocean and Napier proper, and within easy walking distance of just about everything in town. It was comfortable and quiet, and a welcoming respite from our days on the bikes. We recommend it without reservation, and never before have we fallen in love with our host!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evert v, Owner at Seaview Lodge, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I thoroughly enjoyed hosting you both and revealing some of the magic of Hawkes Bay to you! I hope you return one day. Regards Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Seaview lodge is a Victorian house full of character and located so close to the town centre but nevertheless in a quiet cul-de-sac. The views out over the sea and the centre of town are spectacular. Catherine was a lovely friendly and helpful host and couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast on the balcony overlooking the view was special. Comfortable beds, slightly quirky bathroom as this is an older property. Guests share a lovely large lounge area with private balcony. Great place to stay in Napier

Room Tip: We had an ensuite, others have a separate bathroom. Not all have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine v, Owner at Seaview Lodge, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased you particularly enjoyed your breakfast overlooking the ocean, yes it is quite a view! And I was only too happy to help with the Gannet bookings etc. Yes, the upstairs lounge is shared but only ever with one other couple ( and their room has a small lounge area with amazing sea views) or if guests would like complete privacy I also offer the use of another downstairs lounge which is private and again has a sea view and you will be undisturbed, so guests can have a large lounge each! Enjoy the rest of our travels in NZ regards
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

The room was lovely, the bed very comfy and the view of the water amazing. Catherine could not have been more helpful recommending things to see in Napier, and even gave me a lift to the airport. Croissants for breakfast on the balcony was a great start to the day. The house was an easy walk from town and just across from the Ocean Spa pools. I went for the Mission Concert and the bus went from just down the road. Highly recommend.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine v, Owner at Seaview Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for your lovely words and am so pleased you enjoyed staying here at Seaview Lodge. Yes, we are close to everything so great it worked out for catching the bus to the Mission Concert. I enjoyed our chats about books too! All the best Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We could only stay one night, but the Seaview was a memorable accommodation. Catherine is so helpful and flexible, not to mention that she is an excellent chef. We enjoyed the balcony overlooking the sea and the comfy common lounge. We could hear the big waves at night! Be sure to ask Catherine about the history of the building which survived the big quake of 1931. We did the Art Deco Walk and really enjoyed seeing this one of a kind architectural gem. To me, it outshone the Art Deco of South Beach, Miami for variety. We ate dinner at a lovely Turkish restaurant, Kilim. At Catherine's suggestion, we walked the beach path all the way to Ahuriri where we had a delightful time whiling away a Sunday at the beach and marina. We can definitely recommend this fantastic B&B!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine v, Owner at Seaview Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Great to hear that you enjoyed staying at Seaview Lodge and that you found Napier so appealing. Yes, I love the sound of the sea at night as well, it is great not just to see it but hear it too! Thanks for the great review! Regards Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights, this was a great choice for being central in Napier and for the wineries ( the main reason for the visit). The house is in great condition for its age with good sized rooms and large shared lounge with balcony. The breakfast was filling with a good choice and the best pastry's . Good local knowledge helped with our daily winery trips, we planned and drove to these ourselves.

Room Tip: We chose the en-suite room, the other rooms have a shared bathroom although the bedroom is larger wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine v, Owner at Seaview Lodge, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thak you for taking the time to review Seaview Lodge and I am pleased you enjoyed the local knowledge. I do try to help guests as much as I can. I operate only two rooms at Seaview Lodge so yes, one has an ensuite and the other has a large private bathroom which is never shared. It is for sole use only but yes you are right that is the room that has the full sea view which is also great from the guest lounge and balcony. Again thanks for the review. Regards
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maleny, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Very comfortable B & B with delicious fresh fruit/yoghurt/muesli/croissant breakfast and friendly, helpful host. The location is great - we had a room with sea views, and it was very handy being able to walk straight down into town or for a walk along the sea front.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine v, Owner at Seaview Lodge, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaview Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Lodge

Address: 5 Seaview Terrace | Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Seaview Hotel Napier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaview Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.