We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of Kiwihost at reception wouldn't go astray” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shoreline Motel Napier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Shoreline Motel Napier to your Saves list
Shoreline Motel Napier
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   377 Marine Parade | Hawke's Bay, Napier, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Palmerston North
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“A bit of Kiwihost at reception wouldn't go astray”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

It's been awhile since we stayed here and our reception experience did not make a great start to our stay. The woman on reception was almost overrun by guests and phone calls at the time we arrived. However simple eye contact, a smile and quick greeting such as "I will be with you shortly" would have made us feel like welcome and valued guests instead of yet another thing she had to deal with. What has happened to Kiwihost courses for people in hospitality in NZ? The units appear to have been refurbished and are still nicely appointed particularly if you are on level 2 or 3 with a sea view. The welcome basket containing juice, chocolate, cheese and crackers plus milk is a nice touch and one that has been part of this motel since it was built.

Room Tip: A sea view room on the second or third level gives a great view with a balcony overlooking Marine Pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    89
    19
    1
    4
See reviews for
27
187
8
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. Spa bath in the room was absolutely amazing. Room was nice and clean with a beautiful view of the ocean. Staff were friendly and polite. We really like the welcoming gift basket we received on arrival. We would recommend to our friends and we would love to visit again.

Room Tip: We recommend the sea view and top level floor as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Modern motel with everything we needed. Good nights sleep. Close enough to walk to many places we wanted to go. Very helpfull staff. Room was very spaces, with the addition of a large round Spa bath. Very nice Restaruant in next Motel on the left.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eketahuna, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

On arriving and we have stayed here before, the staff/management at reception were most helpful, however they found that room we had been sent up to wasn't quite ready, rather than being told to wait, we were put in the next room on the top floor. The manageress explained that it was a slight mistake that the room had not been checked prior to our arrival. The spa bath in the room was welcomes after riding the bikes along the boardwalk all afternoon. The room was excellent and clean and tidy. I must add here that the cleaning lady an English women was a treasure, I had explained not to go overboard with the cleaning as we were there for another night, but she went at the cleaning like a banshee and the result was delightful. A credit to this motel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We got a beach facing room, which was so nice. It's right on Marine Parade which can be busy but it was quiet at night. The room was generous in size. The spa bath was a draw card. It was nice to have a wee kitchenette too. The bed was HUGE and comfy, although we needed to get the extra blankets out- it was a little cold.

Only complaint is that there was no hand soap in the bathroom, so we washed our hands with the given bath/shower gel (if we'd been staying more than one night we'd have asked for soap.)
Bathroom was a little tired looking, but the rest of the place was relatively modern.

Room Tip: Get a beach facing room on the 1st or 2nd level
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paeroa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

the lady in the reception was lovely and very helpful re what to do and see. The unit was lovely and right opposite the marine parade, so you could hear the sea. Very central and could walk everywhere. Thought it was a reasonable price for being on the marine parade. And you got a little gift basket on arrival, which was a lovely personal touch (& I havent even booked to go there!!).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A wonderful motel right on the water in beautiful Napier. In spite of the fact that Booking.com had lost our reservation, the owner arranged to give all three couples spacious upstairs ocean view rooms at the Booking.com rate (US$152) . The rooms were clean, with all the amenities, including a woderful English breakfast delivered to our room. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shoreline Motel Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreline Motel Napier

Address: 377 Marine Parade | Hawke's Bay, Napier, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Napier
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#7 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#11 Romantic Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shoreline Motel Napier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Shoreline Motel Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreline Hotel Napier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoreline Motel Napier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.