We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic accommodation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shoreline Motel Napier

Save Saved
You added Shoreline Motel Napier to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shoreline Motel Napier
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   377 Marine Parade | Hawke's Bay, Napier, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 47 hotels in Napier
Cumbria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“fantastic accommodation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

caught our eye on driving past looking for a place to stay.....
1st class in every respect, from friendliness/helpfulness of owners, to standard of accommodation...
easy, no effort, short stroll into napier.
very high standards here...
would recommend at any time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    51
    15
    1
    3
See reviews for
16
112
3
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Shoreline Motel is in an excellent location on Marine Parade with excellent views to sea and balconies to enjoy, especially in the morning sun. It is also within easy walking distance of the town, good restaurants and all the Art Deco sights.
We've never stayed in a studio unit this big! Very spacious living area, large comfortable bed, and topped-off by a spa bath! The kitchen is quite modest but entirely functional including a full fridge, and the place is spotless and well-maintained with units serviced daily.
We were warmly welcomed by Denise who also provided helpful advice re Napier and wine tours. The "welcome" basket of provisions was also much-appreciated. There was good Internet access.
We would highly-recommend this motel for its location and facilities

Room Tip: We were in unit 9 on the first floor, but any of the sea view units have excellent views across Mari...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We loved Napier and the motel just topped off our visit. If you can afford a little extra book the sea view rooms, it is worth it.
It is within walking distance of the city centre and all the shops and eateries. The views are beautiful and the suites all have spa pools.
The service was excellent and everyone was very friendly. We were here for new years eve and the free concert on the water front stage was fantastic with a huge fireworks display to see in the new year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We used trip advisor to locate this accommodation in Napier during our holiday to NZ we stayed for a few days leading up to christmas and upgraded to a room with hot tub. The motel was fairly quiet (no problem parking) and maybe accounted for the £70@ a night room rate, we were on the first floor with views out over the coast and although I did not intentionally set up to watch the sunrise my UK body clock waking up allowed me to capture the most intense sunrise I've ever experienced. The room and facilities eclipsed many high end UK Hotels that I had paid 3 times the amount for, the welcome when we arrived was warm and genuine even being offered a choice of milk for the vast choice of coffees and teas located in the room although we took meals out the kitchenette provided would have allowed us to be fully self contained. A large powerful shower in a medium sized very clean and well provisioned wash/toilet room was good to find also.
A very large (3 pillows wide) and very comfortable bed (I mean this makes or breaks a hotel at the end of the day) was provided.
Its only a short walk down the seafront road to arrive at the eateries and shops and Napier is a must visit town during a NZ tour due to the Art Deco design of the central and beach front area.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room above the drive through entrance to the hotel, there was no disturbance from ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We enjoyed the Shoreline. The owners were friendly, and the rooms well equipped. Parking can be a problem, but as the manager siad, people always find a spot. The rooms overlooking the bay were reasonable value for the time of year. We would return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We were very impressed with the layout, decor, colour scheme, roominess and large bed (he is 6'4"). Plus we both enjoyed the beautifully presented breakfast. We had a great one night stay a couple of weekends' ago. The hosts were so friendly and helpful. :) We will be staying again.

Room Tip: Second floor up room with spa has excellent separation of space in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Everything exceeds expectations.. And then the owners Denise, Russell ( and harvie the dog).. Take it to another level! I stay here very regularly, and will continue to do so. A welcoming, comfortable place in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russden, Owner at Shoreline Motel Napier, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for writing such a lovely review on our motel.
Hope to see you again soon.

Denise, Russsell and Harvey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shoreline Motel Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreline Motel Napier

Address: 377 Marine Parade | Hawke's Bay, Napier, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#9 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#11 Romantic Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shoreline Motel Napier 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Shoreline Motel Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreline Hotel Napier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoreline Motel Napier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.