We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Steak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emporium Eatery & Bar

Emporium Eatery & Bar
Corner Marine Parade and Tennyson Street, Napier, New Zealand
+64 6-835 0013
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 124 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $28
Cuisines: Bar, International, Wine Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Emporium Eatery and Bar is the latest addition to Art Deco Masonic Hotel, and to buzzing inner city Napier. Designed by reputed restaurant designer Tom Skyring, Emporium has a truly unique look and feel – rich leathers, a stunning marble bar, warm wood and just the right amount of Art Deco. Emporium mixes the modern with the classic, to create a very special atmosphere in this iconic heritage building.Emporium isn’t just a bar, and it’s more than an exciting new restaurant, it’s a meeting place. With a menu meant for sharing, and the most extensive beverage list around, Emporium is just the spot to gather friends, family or colleagues to enjoy the finest in Hawke’s Bay hospitality. Ideal for functions, Emporium has optional group spaces available – including Poet’s Corner, a private space overlooking bustling Tennyson Street and picturesque Marine Parade.Long, leisurely breakfasts, lunches and dinners, or delicious all-day grazing with a glass of fine wine or a cocktail or beer from our impressive collection – this is how many a fine Hawke’s Bay day or evening are sure to be spent as the weather warms up. Check out our menus to whet your appetite, still prepared under the creative and skillful hands of Cliff Fernandes of Art Deco Masonic's MED fame, and we’ll see you soon at Emporium.
Indian Queens. Cornwall
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Superb Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Have visited a couple of times whilst in NZ & it's always been great. Very very helpful, polite staff who give good advice on the wine & food. Had a lovely meal, perfectly cooked steak, cut like butter & tasted beautiful. A great place for a meal!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hello Carony
Thank you for your wonderful review. We pride ourselves on serving top quality food, served by people who are passionate about their jobs. Our staff will be thrilled to read this and will inspire them to be even better.
We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Shaye Bird Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    158
    34
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McLaren Vale, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Comfort food with excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

We dined at The Emporium Eatery & Bar on 17 April 2014 after travelling from Auckland. It was a stormy night so arriving to a roaring fire was most inviting. The welcome was excellent and we were seated near an open fire with subtle mood lighting and a retro style table setting. We had an attentive and informative food and beverage attendant who was very knowledgable and engaged well with us. Chilled water was served from an old style ABC Quart beer bottle which was pretty swag. The wine list was very good with plenty of regional wine, especially the well known labels like Elephant Hill and Te Mata. Whilst the vintages were all very recent, it would have been good if more mature wines were available by the bottle. We ended up ordering a 2010 Trinity Hill Tempranillo which hit the nail on the head. The eatery had an excellent children's menu and the dinner menu was varied. We ordered the Lamb and Beef which reflected 'comfort food' - hearty, good sized portions which were reasonably priced. My only constructive feedback would be that the environment (decor) is somewhat confused - e.g. modern trend-setting fireplaces, cool-cat retro table settings, Edwardian bathrooms and 1930's vintage movies silently playing on the big screen. Aligning the environment to one 'theme' or style would complete the overall experience.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hello and thank you for your review. We are casual style Eatery so a bit quirky with our offering and comfort food and good portions is exactly what we are aiming for. We are a great winter spot with our large fireplace's and warm lighting.
Our latest wine specials by the glass include Villa Maria Reserve Syrah 2006, which is drinking beautifully right now.
We hope to see you again soon
Kind Regards Shaye Bird Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
“Great food, cool atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is a Napier must! It fits perfectly with the cool Art Deco vibe of the city without being lame or cheesy. The food was scrumptious and the cocktails were perfect. Got crowded at night but it was a fun place to be!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hello Julie M
Thank you for taking the time to review our eatery. We believe Emporium has just the right amount of Art Deco, and we are situated in the most famous Art Deco building of them all, the Art Deco Masonic Hotel.
Cocktails are a great feature of our drinks offering along with one of the biggest range of wines available by the glass. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards Shaye Bird Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Never lets me down !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

My second visit to the Emporium Eatery as I was once again staying at the Masonic Hotel above. As ever, my fish and steaks were wonderful, the wines were excellant. There did seem to have been a turnover of staff since my last visit in August 2013 and I didn't recognise any faces this time. Paying top price for a room with breakfast I expect a good selection, there were mornings where the bain marie's were empty and I had to ask for eggs, sausages, mushrooms or coffee, Art Deco weekend is always going to be a busy time at the Emporium, so I accept that there was going to be some stress around but on a couple of occasions the manager was rude and flippant, which was a real shame. Overall as good as ever, and the added bonus of breakfast with TVNZ's weatherman Sam Wallace on one occasion !

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hi Iain
Thank you for visiting us again, we are pleased that you enjoy Emporium enough to continue visiting. Art Deco weekend was a very busy time for us with over 2,500 meals served that weekend. Leigh who looked after you last time has moved back to Scotland with her partner, so this season we had a few new faces that join us for the busy season, along with our core of staff who have been with us since we opened.
Our breakfast manager would like to apologise if he came across rude and flippant, this was not is intention, just a very busy weekend for us all.
Look forward to seeing you next time you visit.
Kind Regards Shaye Bird Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Lovely Art Deco building which is carried through to the interior creating a nice feel to the restaurant. Good food and a great location toatally recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hello Glenda, thank you for taking the time to review Emporium. We are lucky to have the best location in Napier, right on the sea front overlooking Marine Parade.
Emporium has been open over 18 months now and has been to be well received by tourists and locals.
We hope to see you again soon
Shaye Bird Manager Emporium Eatery & Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emporium Eatery & Bar also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Emporium Eatery & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emporium Eatery & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.