We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, cool atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emporium Eatery & Bar

Emporium Eatery & Bar
Corner Marine Parade and Tennyson Street, Napier, New Zealand
+64 6-835 0013
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 140 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $28
Cuisines: Bar, International, Wine Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Emporium Eatery and Bar is the latest addition to Art Deco Masonic Hotel, and to buzzing inner city Napier. Designed by reputed restaurant designer Tom Skyring, Emporium has a truly unique look and feel – rich leathers, a stunning marble bar, warm wood and just the right amount of Art Deco. Emporium mixes the modern with the classic, to create a very special atmosphere in this iconic heritage building.Emporium isn’t just a bar, and it’s more than an exciting new restaurant, it’s a meeting place. With a menu meant for sharing, and the most extensive beverage list around, Emporium is just the spot to gather friends, family or colleagues to enjoy the finest in Hawke’s Bay hospitality. Ideal for functions, Emporium has optional group spaces available – including Poet’s Corner, a private space overlooking bustling Tennyson Street and picturesque Marine Parade.Long, leisurely breakfasts, lunches and dinners, or delicious all-day grazing with a glass of fine wine or a cocktail or beer from our impressive collection – this is how many a fine Hawke’s Bay day or evening are sure to be spent as the weather warms up. Check out our menus to whet your appetite, still prepared under the creative and skillful hands of Cliff Fernandes of Art Deco Masonic's MED fame, and we’ll see you soon at Emporium.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
“Great food, cool atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is a Napier must! It fits perfectly with the cool Art Deco vibe of the city without being lame or cheesy. The food was scrumptious and the cocktails were perfect. Got crowded at night but it was a fun place to be!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hello Julie M
Thank you for taking the time to review our eatery. We believe Emporium has just the right amount of Art Deco, and we are situated in the most famous Art Deco building of them all, the Art Deco Masonic Hotel.
Cocktails are a great feature of our drinks offering along with one of the biggest range of wines available by the glass. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards Shaye Bird Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    158
    33
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Never lets me down !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

My second visit to the Emporium Eatery as I was once again staying at the Masonic Hotel above. As ever, my fish and steaks were wonderful, the wines were excellant. There did seem to have been a turnover of staff since my last visit in August 2013 and I didn't recognise any faces this time. Paying top price for a room with breakfast I expect a good selection, there were mornings where the bain marie's were empty and I had to ask for eggs, sausages, mushrooms or coffee, Art Deco weekend is always going to be a busy time at the Emporium, so I accept that there was going to be some stress around but on a couple of occasions the manager was rude and flippant, which was a real shame. Overall as good as ever, and the added bonus of breakfast with TVNZ's weatherman Sam Wallace on one occasion !

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hi Iain
Thank you for visiting us again, we are pleased that you enjoy Emporium enough to continue visiting. Art Deco weekend was a very busy time for us with over 2,500 meals served that weekend. Leigh who looked after you last time has moved back to Scotland with her partner, so this season we had a few new faces that join us for the busy season, along with our core of staff who have been with us since we opened.
Our breakfast manager would like to apologise if he came across rude and flippant, this was not is intention, just a very busy weekend for us all.
Look forward to seeing you next time you visit.
Kind Regards Shaye Bird Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Lovely Art Deco building which is carried through to the interior creating a nice feel to the restaurant. Good food and a great location toatally recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hello Glenda, thank you for taking the time to review Emporium. We are lucky to have the best location in Napier, right on the sea front overlooking Marine Parade.
Emporium has been open over 18 months now and has been to be well received by tourists and locals.
We hope to see you again soon
Shaye Bird Manager Emporium Eatery & Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and good Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Lovely place, very friendly staff and amazing food. Would definitely recommend a visit to this establishment.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hello Jackie S
Thank you for taking the time to review Emporium.
Our staff will be thrilled to read your comments and we hope to keep on seeing you.
Kind Regards Shaye Bird Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fav place for after theatre drinks.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My favourite place for drinks after the theater. Atmosphere is comfortable with a fantastic interior. Seems to attract an older crowd (30s+). No faults with the service either. Always proud to take visitors there for meal, dronks or just a coffee.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hello Heather J thank you for your review.
We are a popular place to visit either before or after the show. As we are open till 11pm for food 7 days a week so coffee and dessert is a must after the show.
We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Shaye Bird Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emporium Eatery & Bar also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Emporium Eatery & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emporium Eatery & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.