We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very churr” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emporium Eatery & Bar

Emporium Eatery & Bar
Corner Marine Parade and Tennyson Street, Napier, New Zealand
+64 6-835 0013
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 136 Restaurants in Napier
Price range: $12 - $28
Cuisines: International, Bar, Gastropub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Emporium Eatery and Bar is the latest addition to Art Deco Masonic Hotel, and to buzzing inner city Napier. Designed by reputed restaurant designer Tom Skyring, Emporium has a truly unique look and feel – rich leathers, a stunning marble bar, warm wood and just the right amount of Art Deco. Emporium mixes the modern with the classic, to create a very special atmosphere in this iconic heritage building.Emporium isn’t just a bar, and it’s more than an exciting new restaurant, it’s a meeting place. With a menu meant for sharing, and the most extensive beverage list around, Emporium is just the spot to gather friends, family or colleagues to enjoy the finest in Hawke’s Bay hospitality. Ideal for functions, Emporium has optional group spaces available – including Poet’s Corner, a private space overlooking bustling Tennyson Street and picturesque Marine Parade.Long, leisurely breakfasts, lunches and dinners, or delicious all-day grazing with a glass of fine wine or a cocktail or beer from our impressive collection – this is how many a fine Hawke’s Bay day or evening are sure to be spent as the weather warms up. Check out our menus to whet your appetite, still prepared under the creative and skillful hands of Cliff Fernandes of Art Deco Masonic's MED fame, and we’ll see you soon at Emporium.
Belgrade, Serbia
2 reviews
“Very churr”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I came into Emporium with my girl. Pedro was scared that they weren't going to be able to seat Pedro and his girly friend as it was a very busy night, apparently called "Deco Art." I was sat in the corner, with a beautiful view of all the old stuff, very nice in Pedro's opinion. Pedro was served by an Irish man, and what a beautiful Irish man he was. He explained to us that the bar make the best cocktails in town and they sure do, I had the Singapore Sling and that was pretty dope, Pedro was ready for a long night ahead! I ordered some food and was served by a blonde boy, carrying three plates which was very impressive. Pedro was very impressed by this. The dumplings were very nice and they satisfied my cravings. Earlier that day I had heard some New Zealand lingo, "churr." This restuarant was definitely "churr."

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hello Pedro
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. Emporium hopes to see you again soon
Kind Regards Shaye Bird Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    111
    26
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Two Great Meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Called in here on a very busy lunchtime recently, so we thought we may wait a long time for our meals, we recieved our bottle of Excellent Riesling and water right away and our three Fish & Chips came not long after served by a very cheerful waitress, so good when restaurant staff smile at you.Being English Fish & Chips has to be good and they are really good here.My second visit was with work mates in the evening we shared four small plates(great squid) and a very generous sized pizza, and tried a selection of wines by the glass and all were of the highest quality, again such friendly staff who by the way know a lot about the wines they serve, this is a great place to relax after work.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hello Steve O
Thank you very much for visiting us twice recently. We are pleased you enjoyed our sharing plates offering with a pizza which is great value for money and a great way to eat with friends or work mates.
Our staff will be thrilled to receive such wonderful feedback regarding the way they looked after you.
Kind Regards Shaye Bird Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location, good food, interesting surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Visited for a get away weekend with wife. Did not know what to expect, and a felt a little under dressed in our casual clothes as had visited over the 'Winter Art Deco' weekend :).

Anyway excellent food, good service and also enjoyed getting some advice on the local wines. Staff were friendly and available, visited during peak Friday evening dinner and service was good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your review.
Winter Art Deco is a fantastic event, you can happily wear your fur coats without putting up with 30 degree heat that the summer Weekend offers.
Winter Art Deco is on its way again and we hope you will get the chance to visit again.
Kind Regards Shaye Bird Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

The food is okay, perhaps a little pricey. The service is fine, perhaps a little slow and understaffed at the bar, but the location and atmosphere is tremendous. I really relax here and it's the place I take my clients to mull over a beer. I like the eclectic mix of staff and love the old movies playing in the background. Once the food range/size and prices improve and bar service matures I'll give it a top rating, but yeah, I'll be back...maybe even tomorrow.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigAH, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hello Rick
Thank you very much for your loyal custom we really do appreciate it. We pride ourselves on being your home away from home, where you can do exactly what we hope all our guests do, enjoy our space and feel welcome.
I would love to talk more with regarding your sometimes slow service at the bar so please introduce yourself to me next time your in.
Kind Regards Shaye Bird Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Let down by rude staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Great atmosphere, great food, good value, especially on what was probably the busiest day of the year. The perfect place to soak up the Art Deco ambiance was unfortunately spoiled by the very rude attitude of one barman. We expected much better than to be told " Every body is waiting love, get over it!" It would also have been nice to see all the staff dressed for the occasion, given that the place was at the heart of everything. Also, modern tattoos on bar staff are not very fitting in this type of establishment, and in our opinion should be covered with long sleeves.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emporium Eatery & Bar also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Emporium Eatery & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emporium Eatery & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.