We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An extraordinary cook and great host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breckenridge Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Breckenridge Lodge to your Saves list
Breckenridge Lodge
1 Breckenridge Lane | Taradale, Napier, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An extraordinary cook and great host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

It started with a very personal welcome at the lodge. Malcolm and Ellie are simply great hosts in a really wonderful located lodge in the vinyards. The truely outstanding quality of Malcom is his art of cooking. The breakfast as well as dinners are culinary high class adventures. He is including herbals from his garden into the cooking -> slow food par excellence. Also his support in planning tours in the Napier surroundings was excellent. Of course one can critisize that WLAN and TV in the appartement are missing - so what?. The unique location and the outstanding service compensate for this gap. The Breckenridge Lodge was a great experience and can be highly recommended.

Room Tip: The room with view to the vinyard in the centre of the lodge is simply great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
50
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

There are no words to describe how wonderful this lodge is. Think perfection, and bump that up a notch. From the minute Malcolm and Ellie greeted us, to our departure, we were treated like family..only a family with a chef that is second to none! The lovely breakfast, drinks in the afternoon, suggestions on what to do and see were spot on. We chose to have dinner twice during our stay, and they were the best meals we had during our time in New Zealand, never have we had lamb that was so tender and tasty. I would highly recommend a stay at Breckenridge Lodge. We hope to return in the not too distant future,

Room Tip: We had the lavender room! and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

When travelling the North Island as self professed gourmets in need of some inspiration and relaxation, we found the perfect haven near Napier in Breckenridge Lodge. From the very first minute when owner and host “Malcom” opened the door we felt homely welcomed and happy to have arrived at the perfect place to unwind and relax from a few hours drive. The tastefully designed Lodge towers over a well-kept vineyard, which sets the scene for the exceptional cuisine that treats the most discerning palate. Chef Malcolm is willing to share his knowledge and secrets to the extra 10% magic he uses to transform the exquisite ingredients into the evening delight he either serves in the formal dining room or at request at the chef’s table next to the kitchen. We will never forget the beautiful sunrise over the vineyard and the glistening small waterway when opening the big French door to the suite’s private balcony to take in the fresh morning air. Still dreaming about dinner? Wake up to a refreshing and light multi-course breakfast at Breckenridge from fruity sweet to savoury and you are fit to embark on another day in New Zealand paradise.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadcaster, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was a place our agent suggested on our last trip to NZ and was the only place we chose to repeat on our next trip. The setting is idyllic, overlooking a vineyard, the house is beautifully designed and the rooms have private terraces or balconies to relax and enjoy the view. We dined in on our 2nd night, as we had experienced Malcolm's food last time and it is full of flavour, all the provenance is described (and local) as are the wines. truly delicious. Malcolm is an attentive, gracious and interesting host. Cannot recommend it highly enough, hope you'll love it too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota FL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The Brekenridge Lodge is located a quick drive out of Napier and set on a hillside overlooking vineyards. A picturesque yet modern property, the real treat is the Lodge's owner, Malcolm. His hospitality was gracious and inviting, and his culinary skills set this place apart. The meals were prepared with great attention to detail, yet presented in a relaxing, thoughful way. The rooms were well appointed and, since it was low season, Malcolm offered a separate room to both my sister and me at no extra cost. He is a wonderful host who anticipates his guests needs flawlessly!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Having read about the Lodge on this and other web-sites, we were expecting a fine dining and wining experience… and we weren’t disappointed. Excellent food, with each course a delicious combination of different flavours, accompanied by well-chosen wines; and preceded by owner/chef Malcolm’s explanation of how each had been prepared and sourced (with many ingredients from his own organic garden).

The Lodge is situated down a country lane in a quiet valley, overlooking a vineyard; making a relaxed and interesting venue. Our accommodation was very comfortable - our large en-suite bedroom opened onto the terrace, as did the lounge and dining room, and all three looked over the vineyard. Our stay was in winter, so we enjoyed the roaring log fire in the lounge; and each room had a heat invertor which kept us nice and warm; as did the electric blanket!

But what made our five-day stay even more memorable was Malcolm himself. He was the perfect genial and efficient host; which together with the excellent accommodation, food and wine gave us a taste of staying not just in a luxury hotel but in an elegant and beautiful home, with our own private chef!

Indulge and enjoy!

Room Tip: Our room, "Coffee", was on the ground floor and opened out onto the terrace, overlooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Three nights here, the food was some of the best we hav had anywhere in the old with anal attention to detail by the host who I an ex NZ forces chef. Needs a woman's touch.

Intimate dining experience, the dining room is the centre and focus of the house.

Rooms have lovely views and are very comfortable but no TV.

We went out for the day to Napier and returned mid afternoon to discover the hotel locked with no one in. Two hours wait for our host to return.....

A great restaurant with rooms but not an hotel!

Room Tip: As for a vineyard view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Breckenridge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breckenridge Lodge

Address: 1 Breckenridge Lane | Taradale, Napier, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Breckenridge Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breckenridge Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.