We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“John knows his stuff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawkes Bay Scenic Tours Ltd

Hawkes Bay Scenic Tours Ltd
2 Neeve Place, Napier 4112, New Zealand
+64 6 844-5693
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 36 Activities in Napier
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a family owned and operated Local Tour company. We specialize in private local tours, including Cruise Ship Shore Excursions. These tours offer Sightseeing, Art Deco, City history, also Wine and Brewery Tours. This is truly a fantastic region to visit. Napier was completely destroyed in 1931 by a 7.8 earthquake, and rebuilt in the style of the day, mainly Art Deco and Spanish Mission. Napier, along with the Hawkes Bay region, has been a secret for too long, discover it today with us.
vancouver
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“John knows his stuff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We joined John right off the Ship in Napier & spent the next 3.5? (or was it more?) hours with John. I question the time because there was so much (Art Deco architecture, citizens, etc) information, history, and sights we were overwhelmed! It was wonderful - if only one could remember half of what he covered.

He does know his stuff, for when our Ship arrived later than originally planned he adapted his tour without missing a sight or spot - without missing a beat. The width & breadth of stuff we covered - and saw, was well worth the cost.

We have no qualms adding our recommendations to other reviewers. You won't be disappointed.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnboy12321, Owner at Hawkes Bay Scenic Tours Ltd, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hi mar2dav, Thnak you for your taking the time to comment, we do appreciate any feedback and build our business upon clients comments. As mentioned prior to the tour, we will always be beside the ship for you and we don't have a stop watch in regards to the time on the tour. The tour is finished when the itinerary has been meet. It really is all about our clients on the day. I can't recall when I finished a tour on time last, they most always go over to your advantage. Margaret and I are very pleased your expectations were exceeded on the day. - John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    8
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“We had a great tour with Margaret in Napier !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Looking for a nice independent tour in Napier on our visit with the "Oosterdam " was made very easy by the fast and friendly email responses by the owner , John of Hawkes Bay Tours and even with a phone call to me in Canada to see if all the choices and info were correct. When we arrived Margaret was waiting for us and soon we were off on a fantastic tour which slowly took us through this place out of another era all decked out in the Art Deco style which was started after the last great earthquake. We had some frequent stops to take our pictures , visit the old Tobacco Factory and the lookout over the harbour and the town . From there it was through some nice scenic country to the Te Mata Peak with a fantastic view . Margaret had a wealth of knowledge a good sence of humour and had an answer for all our questions . We could feel the love for her country . After a visit to the Mission Winery she had a nice tasty surprise for all of us after which we were dropped off in plenty of time along side of the ship . A good time was had by all , nobody felt rushed , we saw a beautiful area of New Zealand . We had made a great choice to go with Hawkes Bay Scenic Tours . Thank you Margaret and John.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnboy12321, Owner at Hawkes Bay Scenic Tours Ltd, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Hi Anthony F; Thank you for your kind words. One point that I am glad you raised was "nobody felt rushed". We try very hard and have structured the tour for exactly this point. We have the attitude, it is a tour to be enjoyed, not a race. If you have the 'extra' shore time available, we will use it to your advantage on the day. Thanking you again, John and Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly competent and engaging Professional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

John's knowledge of history, culture, current issues and topics of interest is outstanding and he structured our 3.5 hour tour very well. Incorporating appropriate balance in customising the tour to our interests and giving a comprehensive insight into the unique assets of the area, John gets our vote as a 5-star guide!. Fraser and Christina Alexander, Auckland, NZ

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnboy12321, Owner at Hawkes Bay Scenic Tours Ltd, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hi Fraser. Thank you for taking the time to place a comment and your kind words. As you will recall, (with all small groups) I do ask a simple question at the very start of the tour and base tour format around that answer. It obviously works very well. Thanking you for choosing Hawkes Bay Scenic Tours. - John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding Tour of Napier and Surrounding Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

A group of 23 guests from the ms Oosterdam on April 2, 2013 took this tour with John Hanlon of Hawkes Bay Scenic Tours. It was outstanding and clearly the highlight of the six tours we took in New Zealand. We had a tour outside Napier to the Crossroads Winery and an extensive tour of the Art Deco areas of Napier. Johns enthusiasm for his city was infectious. I highly recommend touring with Hawkes Bay Scenic Tours.

Dan O'Brien

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnboy12321, Owner at Hawkes Bay Scenic Tours Ltd, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Hi Obriendan, Thank you for your kind words. The day you were in port was longer than normal. We will always utilize the time to your advantage on the day, in your case it was to visit a boutique winery for wine tasting.. and purchasing of course. We are not too concerned about running over time, in fact we do on perhaps every tour.... the main thing is to return you to your ship on time at the days end. - John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a Day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

John met us at the ship and provided a wonderful tour of his city and surrounding area. He is very knowledgeable and proud of such a beautiful area. Thanks for the great day

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnboy12321, Owner at Hawkes Bay Scenic Tours Ltd, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hi sycotraveler, Thank you for taking the time to comment. I think the success behind our tours is the fact that you get the "owners" as your guide, and yes, Margaret and I are very pleased to be able to showcase our lovely City to visitors and we always want you to see the very best possible given your time on the day. - John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawkes Bay Scenic Tours Ltd also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Hawke's Bay Region, North Island
 

Been to Hawkes Bay Scenic Tours Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawkes Bay Scenic Tours Ltd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.