We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marineland Motels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marineland Motels to your Saves list
Marineland Motels
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   19 Meeanee Quay, Westshore, | Hawkes Bay, Napier, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Richards Bay, South Africa
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Weekend stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

From the offset I need to say that hosts Evan and Carol are such lovely people, and so are all their staff members without exception. Every staff member is there to please their customers.The room was super clean, the kitchen is well equipped, but the room furniture is outdated. We had a two bedroom unit, but found the rooms a bit small for 5 people, especially if you need to sleep 3 people in one of the rooms (my son, his wife and their son). There was an alternative of a sleeper coach in the lounge, but this would have in-turn crammed our living space. The pool was nice and warm and my grandson enjoyed the children's play area. Unfortunately the area outside our kitchen door was a bit of a junkyard, and the garden furniture really needs to be replaced. The garden and outside area does not compare with the cleanliness of the rooms. If not for this, I believe my overall rating would have been much different.

Room Tip: I would not sleep more than four people in the two bedroom unit, despite the availability of a sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    28
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
22
41
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

It was our first day of holidays and we loved starting it here! Staff were very friendly and the place is very well located if you are looking for a quiet area, close to the airport, and within walking distance to restaurants, pubs, cafés and the beach.

Everything went well in our stay, rooms are nice, and is a good place to chill out and catch a great sleep.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My partner and I enjoyed a 5 night stay at this motel over the new year period.

This motel is located in the West Shore area. Although this location suited us, it would be recommended to bring a car if you are staying here to ensure that you can get around Napier easily. This motel is within walking distance of a new restaurant area, however, the main shopping centre and Marine Parade where a lot of the Napier attractions are is driving distance away.

We stayed in a one bedroom unit which we really enjoyed. Our room had good kitchen facilities which enabled us to prepare all of our breakfasts and some of our dinners easily. The room also included a spa bath which was nice.

Although this motel was full when we stayed here, there was very little noise and we found our room very peaceful.

The swimming pool at this motel is awesome and very warm.

The hosts are very friendly and helpful.

This motel is definitely suitable for families and couples. It is an affordable choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

14 Majors stayed here for 2 night as we were attending an event in Hawkes Bay, the units are very appointed, very clean, Carol & Evan Hosts were a delight, even had the camera's out before we went out to the function, the Ladies were rapt as we got extra photos seeing everyone were lined up & they took photos on the ladies camers as well, nothing was any problem, looking forward to return sometime soon, there is a Resturant right there too.

Room Tip: We had several units. they were all well appointed, no road noise either
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here, the unit was very functional if in need of a bit of a makeover. The staff were friendly and the restaurant food very good. We had our 2 young children with us and the staff were very accommodating to them, particularly during our meal.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Very clean and tidy studio unit with good facilities. Close to main roads and easy access going either north, south or city. Large heated pool although we didn't use it. Reasonably quiet and close to inlet and sea. Nice welcome and good service. Serviced daily with eco friendly extras. Good wifi reception.
Good interior layout and good value for money.
The only thing I didn't like was the roller blind on north facing small window which lets light in early.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warragul, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Close to town pretty walks and great outlook!!
Quiet room large size with sink and microwave
Nice new bathrooms secure parking
Nice indoor heated pool
Staff at hotel were so friendly went out of their way to be great hosts! Yummy breakfast!!!

Am unsure if the restaurant is associated with the motel so if they are not please disregard the following went for a meal with our 7 month old baby and were told they had no tables however the restaurant was empty and they said we would need to wait 20 minutes at least for a table.. We were confused by this as clearly there was room- we walked up the street and had delicious fresh fish and chips instead!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marineland Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marineland Motels

Address: 19 Meeanee Quay, Westshore, | Hawkes Bay, Napier, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Napier
#9 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#17 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marineland Motels 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The motel, all ground floor accommodation with an official Qualmark rating of 4 star and an Environmental rating of silver. We have a fully licensed restaurant on site run by qualified chef's. We are situated in a lovely quiet area of Napier beside the ocean and within easy walking distance of Napier's Marina and some of Napiers most popular bars and cafe's. Vehicle parking is all off road and free. The range of accommodation available reflects the professional upgrades to the facility only recently completed and complements various room types available, from the essential smaller but air-conditioned over night- bed and bathroom studio for 2, to the latest luxury fully self contained Apartment that sleeps 7 situated on its own secure section. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marineland Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marineland Hotel Napier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marineland Motels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.