We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for well appointed room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairley Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairley Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Fairley Motor Lodge
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   Corner Tareha Street & Meeanee Quay | Westshore, Napier 4110, New Zealand (Formerly Best Western Fairley Motor Lodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
BEST ONLINE BOOKING RATES
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great value for well appointed room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We were warmly greeted when we arrived. Although we arrived early, we were able to gain access to our room immediately. The room was large and well appointed. We had complimentary WIFI and were given milk to have in the coffee and tea provided. Staff were helpful in suggesting where we could have dinner. Although the motel is located outside the CBD, it is an easy drive to the town centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janewestshore, Manager at Fairley Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for joining us at FAIRLEY and enjoying our great location-close to it all !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    35
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
61
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My sisters and I, aged between 50-63yrs old attended IronMaori 2013 for the first time as a team. We were greeted at this motor lodge, with customer interface that made us feel the centre of the universe, immediately. We had a spacious two bedroom unit, moderate sized lounge with simple but effective decor. The kitchen was roomy as was the bathroom and toilet. During the 3 night stay, the cleaning service was very good and unintrusive. The bedrooms had limited light. We were within walking distance of food, beverage and restaurants as well as the IronMaori venue. There was limited Sky access but we made do. The weather, hospitality, and cleanliness made it an incredible venue that my whanau will visit next year.

Room Tip: Unit one is near the guest laundry and office for convenience. If you want a spa bath you must make...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janewestshore, Manager at Fairley Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for joining us! The Iron Maori Marathon is a great event and we have a great location for it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts,England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were upgraded to room 1, two bedrooms with bathroom, lounge and kitchen; when we checked in. Parking right outside, very convenient. The rooms were a good size, very clean and well appointed. The owner was very helpful, gave us good information and was even able to discuss the fortunes of the English cricket team with us. Our only small complaint - the heating was only in the lounge, (but the beds did have electric blankets) and barely adequate for the size of room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, NZ
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just had 4 perfect days at Fairley Lodge - sun was shining, walked around the estuary and each day used a different cycle track, cycling the water trail. Even went out to Church Road. Fabulous wet lands with many migratory birds wintering in the wetlands eg Royal Spoonbills & pied stilts. Comfortable room with separate bedroom and huge bathroom. Our unit caught the afternoon sun, perfect for relaxing after the cycle rides.

Room Tip: Room 9 & 10 are quiet and face the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janewestshore, Owner at Fairley Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for joining us and reviewing what we think is is a very special location too. The cycle track is at our doorstep, along with the beach and the very special Ahuriri Estuary.Even at this time of year we have wonderful days with clear blue skies,no wind and a little chill to the air
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We made the booking by phone as we were travelling with my 90 year old mum so we would ensure all requests were met.. However this was not the case . On checking in we were allocated a unit with 1 bedroom and a couch bed in the lounge ... Our request was for a "normal " bed not a couch fold away bed... I took this up with the motel owner only to be told ,sorry that is it ..... BUT not accepting this we were given a unit to suit our requirements....
Checking the expiry date on the milk only to see that it was 3 days overdue.......
Overall the unit was clean and comfortable however next time in Napier I think I will choose another place to stay.
The Farley is not a beach front property... yes it is close to the beach but you do not have views of the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janonapier, Manager at Fairley Motor Lodge, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you reviewing us on Trip Advisor. We apologise afain for the communication error and we are pleased we were able to rectify the problem by being able to shift you to another room. Unfortunately by being on a peninsula with the ocean on one side, and the estuary on the other ,we only have two units with sea views,others with courtyards .With the great Hawkes bay weather we do recommend that you walk a few metres to the beach,or to the estuary so to the seaside port area of Ahuriri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Booked Fairley Motor Lodge for a business stop over and location was the main reason which was ideal.

The check in process was easy and we were made to feel most welcome, even had an upgrade to include a king size bed as I had my wife accompanying me on this trip.

The bed was very comfy, the bathroom was huge and the other amenities were excellent.

My one complaint is: there is a pipe in the wall between rooms 13 &14 which expands and contracts, the result is intermittent knocking. Avoid these 2 rooms and you will have a great stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janonapier, Owner at Fairley Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank-you for your review. These two large studio units are very popular. There has been an occasional contraction noises coming from a pipe. We have tried to get this corrected but due to our concrete walls we have been unable to get into the wall. We will attempt to look into this again because a peaceful nights sleep is paramount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Had a very comfortable night in this lovely well presented unit. Owner Hugh and staff made us most welcome. We had a one bedroom unit which was very quiet and very comfortable sitting area. Well equiped kitchen, a great spa bath and good desk area for business people. Happy to stay there again and would recommend this property.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janonapier, Owner at Fairley Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
thankyou Irene.We look forward to seeing you back at the FAIRLEY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairley Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairley Motor Lodge

Address: Corner Tareha Street & Meeanee Quay | Westshore, Napier 4110, New Zealand (Formerly Best Western Fairley Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairley Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy true Kiwi hospitality & exceptional comfort (Qualmark 4 star plus) at Fairley Motor Lodge. Superb location,just minutes from Napier's vibrant city centre,across from the harbour village of Ahuriri with restaurants, galleries, Art Deco, Sailing, Westshore Beach & Ahuriri Wildlife Estuary giving endless options at your door step. Your hosts Hugh and Jane have extensive local knowledge and offer personal service to guests. Fairley offers spacious motel accommodation, most units with a double spa bath, cooking facilities, 32in Sky TV, private courtyards or patio areas. Queen and super king beds. One and two bedroom units have two TVs. Air-conditioning in all executive units. High quality triple sheeting bed linen and superb selection of teas & coffee. Newspaper and late checkout available on request. Free WIFI and free parking to you door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Fairley Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairley Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.