We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit proved memorable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westshore Beach Inn Bistro

Westshore Beach Inn Bistro
84 Meeanee Quay | Westshore Beach, Hawkes Bay, Napier 4110, New Zealand
+64 6-835 9879
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 135 Restaurants in Napier
Price range: $11 - $20
Cuisines: English, Healthy, Bistro, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Our Pub Bistro is easy on the wallet, with the Beef & Lamb Award 2011 and 2013 to add to multiple Hawkes Bay Signature Dish Awards and 6 years straight as Best Local/Traditional Pub Awards. We have a genuine interest in local fresh and premium food :-) Open Weekends for Brunch, 0Thursday to Sunday for Lunch and 7 Nights for dinners. The Bistro only ever serves Fresh Fish, Corn Fed Free Range Chicken and the freshest local produce. The prices range from NZ$19 to $25 for most dishes and Prime Angus Scotch $30; all out meals include salad or vegetables with fries or potato. We without question have one the finest collection of New Zealand Craft biers FRESH from the Tap. We have a simple menu done well in a casual pub environment....Play with Passion and Have Fun!
NZ
Top Contributor
553 reviews 553 reviews
332 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
“Return visit proved memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My nephew pronounced them 'the best ribs he's ever had in NZ'. And I heartily agree! Service was excellent, space was warm & cozy & BONUS...the HD giant screen with the rugby was on during our meal. Large portions of delicious spareribs with salad & veg for 23 bucks is good value and warrants our top marks in all categories. Highest recommendations.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayB4544, Owner at Westshore Beach Inn Bistro, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Great, its a fun night when the rugby is on and everything is humming. Glad we kept our standards up in a very busy time...and the AB's had another win. Cheers & Beers Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    19
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
“Ribs & Craft beer - Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Im a chef and a craft beer enthusiast, Last friday we had the pleasure of dinning at the westshore with the kids and another couple. We critically analysed the very interesting and wide ranging beers, as we devoured the plentyful, tender & sticky Ribs.
It was a perfect evening, highly recomend this to everyone!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayB4544, Owner at Westshore Beach Inn Bistro, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thanks, yes craft bier is specialty, up to 70 different bottles, 14 on tap and nearly 40 breweries represented. Neat your kiddies felt safe and welcome. Cheers & Beers Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Beautiful meal in a great casual environment. Excellent choice of food and drink. Very friendly helpful staff. Their was no long wait for meals, which was important as we had young kids. Would recommend to anyone wanting a delicious meal at great prices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayB4544, Owner at Westshore Beach Inn Bistro, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thanks for taking time to review, we have just redone the kids menu with a few more healthy options. Glad the staff were understanding and food out quick for your family stay. Cheers & Beers Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Casual evening meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Really good, nice casual meal that was not expensive, the meal was inventive, well balanced in flavour, and also fulfilling it certainly delivered in flavour, while the establishment did in service, setting, staff and in particular the fantastic variety of craft beer including not only NZ's best, but also some of its best kept secrets. Please give this place a try, and don't just write it off as the "ol Westshore pub" you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayB4544, Owner at Westshore Beach Inn Bistro, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thanks for nice review - Glad you enjoyed the Craft bier selection. Our goal is to be the best l'old pub in New Zealand. Cheers & Beers Jeremy Baylisss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Great place once you find it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This place is very easy to miss as I drove past it the first time and had a nice detour via the airport before finally coming back and parking on the waste ground opposite.

It was however well worth the detour in getting there. The bar/waiting staff were very friendly and the food very delicious indeed. Service was very prompt and prices very good value for money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayB4544, Owner at Westshore Beach Inn Bistro, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Yes, we are in the Westshore" Historic" Hotel......The pub licence dates back to 1865 and the current building beat the 1931 earthquake (built in 1926). We love the history of the "old girl", need to find a way make er stand out a bit more. Cheers & Beers Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Westshore Beach Inn Bistro also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Westshore Beach Inn Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westshore Beach Inn Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.