We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hola Rancheros! - Great Brunch Menu!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westshore Beach Inn Bistro

Westshore Beach Inn Bistro
84 Meeanee Quay | Westshore Beach, Hawkes Bay, Napier 4110, New Zealand
+64 6-835 9879
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 136 Restaurants in Napier
Price range: $11 - $20
Cuisines: English, Healthy, Bistro, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Our Pub Bistro is easy on the wallet, with the Beef & Lamb Award 2011 and 2013 to add to multiple Hawkes Bay Signature Dish Awards and 6 years straight as Best Local/Traditional Pub Awards. We have a genuine interest in local fresh and premium food :-) Open Weekends for Brunch, 0Thursday to Sunday for Lunch and 7 Nights for dinners. The Bistro only ever serves Fresh Fish, Corn Fed Free Range Chicken and the freshest local produce. The prices range from NZ$19 to $25 for most dishes and Prime Angus Scotch $30; all out meals include salad or vegetables with fries or potato. We without question have one the finest collection of New Zealand Craft biers FRESH from the Tap. We have a simple menu done well in a casual pub environment....Play with Passion and Have Fun!
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hola Rancheros! - Great Brunch Menu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Yay! Somewhere you can go for brunch that is not pretentious (the chef came out and asked how our meals were and also waited on some tables – how often do you see that!?) and offers something different for brunch other than boring pancakes and full English’s.

It was a nice sunny Sunday, so we sat outside and the wait staff were great, with drink orders taken and delivered quickly (hey it was Sunday so desperately in need of real coffee and lots of it) was greatly appreciated as was the big jug of water, instead of just a glass and the game of 'find the water cooler.'

100 million Mexicans can’t be wrong so I ordered the Huevos Rancheros – well that was AWESOME! So filling and full of flavours, without being too heavy, I barely finished and didn’t need to eat for the rest of the day! My sister in law had the bananalicious, which she will order again and my brother had the eggs with side order of local (and very good) black pudding and sausage and two orders of home-made beans went to Mum and Dad, which they enjoyed (much better than Watties – high praise indeed!)

Wait staff were attentive and as mentioned the chef making an appearance was a nice touch (make sure you keep him on!) and the coffee was v. good too! We would happily come back again and will do. Thank you!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayB4544, Owner at Westshore Beach Inn Bistro, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thanks heaps for taking time to review your stay. Yes, Grant and Bobbi love getting out of the kitchen and having a chat - Obviously, they too have confidence in their food! The Rancheos have been extremely popular, people looking for something different I think. Cheers n Biers Jeremy Bayliss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    19
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great service, friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We dined here on Jan 01 after reading great reviews on trip advisor. We enjoyed great service and loved the fresh fish and chips. The Rush Munro ice cream sundae with fresh fruit was a real treat. In fact we loved our meals and the great friendly atmosphere so much that we went back for dinner the next night.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayB4544, Owner at Westshore Beach Inn Bistro, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Fantastic, the staff will love reading this review. Our Pub Bistro always uses the best ingrediants in a simple manner - Rush Munro Ice Cream, well not much to add there!!! Tahnks for takinig time to review. Cheers & Beers Jeremy Bayliss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
napier
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Brunch Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Lazy Sunday decided to take family down to the Westshore Beachinn as I had heard their was a new brunch menu in the crossing and bier garden. Wanted to check it out and was blown away. Daughter had the bananalicious she certainly says it was delicious, son had the FRESH berry platter very happy little chap, partner had the Mexican breakfast she was amazed with the flavors how well it combines together, myself good old IRISH Breakfast GREAT MEAL TO START THE DAY! Great place to take the family, relaxed and service top notch, Again westshore NEVER disappoints me been in for dinner and now breakfast would highly recommend this place. Thank you Gina for hosting us!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayB4544, Owner at Westshore Beach Inn Bistro, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Yes, the Cafe is doing well, open Wednesday to Sunday. The Irish breakfast is the biggest sellers, like most brunch menus but the Bananalicious is selling surprisingly well. Thanks for your support and feedback- Cheers & Beers Jeremy Bayliss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I love ribs !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Well, yes I love ribs and the ribs at the Westshore Beach Inn are exceptional !( Didn;t ask, but I guess Jack Daniels is the secret ingredient ). The service was friendly and highly attentive, and I especially enjoyed their advise as to the wide range of beers available. Makes for a perfect evening for me, thanks !

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayB4544, Owner at Westshore Beach Inn Bistro, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Yipe, the ribs are getting famous. They are baked off for about 6-7 hours each day. I am not sure if its the Jack Daniels or or the other secret stuff in the recipe. Anyway, thats for you to enjoy and us to have the fun of preparing. Thanks for taking the time to review our Pub Bistro...not to be confused with fine dining!! Cheers & Beers Jeremy Bayliss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great service, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Our food was good, though the Scotch fillet was a tiny bit overdone, as was the fondant (it was cooked in the middle). The seafood platter and beef cheek were really nice though, and my apple crumble was divine.
The best thing about the visit was the service. From start to finish it was friendly, funny and attentive, and her knowledge of the beers was brilliant.
Couldn't ask for more there at all, and even my hard to please father-in-law said he'd go again. There is no higher praise!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayB4544, Owner at Westshore Beach Inn Bistro, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Have pased all your comments onto the kitchen, this forum is a great avenue to improve things, hopefully people let us know on the night as well. Have an awesome festive season. Cheers & Beers Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Westshore Beach Inn Bistro also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Westshore Beach Inn Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westshore Beach Inn Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.