We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but very noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Nautilus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Nautilus to your Saves list
The Nautilus
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   387 Marine Parade, Napier, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good location but very noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Unprepossessing motel style building but very large well equipped rooms. Good location, on the seafront, only a short walk from the Art Deco streets of the town centre though not really a reason of itself to choose the Nauitilus as the road is lined with lots of other similar motels. Hosts were friendly and helpful. Lots of on site parking. Our room had an unpleasant smell which proved impossible to shift - the management were obviously aware as they had left the door open, 'to air the room'. The only downside is the road is busy and the sound insulation is inadequate.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us.
All our rooms have 'hush' glass installed to help keep road noise to a minimum.
We apolgise for the odour that was left from the previous guests cooking. We ran an ozone machine that neutralises room odours and did leave the door to the unit open to "air ' the room. As we were full that evening there were no other rooms available to re-allocate to you.
We would welcome the opportunity to host you again if you ever get back to Napier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    130
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
49
258
16
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hawke's Bay Region, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Nautilus's Premier room which was wonderful. The suite was huge with lounge suite, big screen tv, and a spa pool in our room. Our room had a deck overlooking the beautiful ocean. What a great spot on Marine Parade.

Our room was spotless and had everything we needed and more. A great way to spend a weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your stay at The Nautilus.
We are glad you found the Hotel and especially your room to your liking.
We would love to host you again and look forward to welcoming you back.
Thank you once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The reviews on Trip Advisor about this hotel were spot on.

A great place to stay with extremely friendly hosts. Very large room with spa plus bathroom and roomy living area. Nice air conditioning. Spotlessly clean and well presented. Nice furniture, comfy bed. Lovely balcony overlooking the bay accessed by huge bifold doors. Useful guest laundry did a good job on our clothes for little cost with free machine powder. Liked the quirky luggage lift! Even a fish and chip shop right around the corner.

Yes some trucks go past on the Esplanade, but it's 40kph limit 24 hours a day and the noise didn't bother me at all - and I'm a very light sleeper normally disturbed big time by things like that.

The only negative is that it's at the south end of town a bit (near the National Aquarium) so it's a bit of a walk into town - no problem though if you have a car. The Napier Hop On Hop Off bus also stops at the door.

Oh...and free wireless which worked really well. All hotels should be this simple.

Room Tip: I'd suggest something on the first or second floors if you won't want your 'balcony'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and found the hotel and its' amanities to your liking. We strive to give our guests a comfortable and enjoyable experience.
Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Lovely spacious rooms with and very own spa pool which was very unexpected. A few minutes walk from town but lovely after a big meal!!
Very friendly check in and check out , helpful with local activities and useful with directions.
Thank you nautilus :)

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Nautilus. We certainly appreciate your comments and would love the opportunity to host you again in the not too distant future.
Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in one of the apartments and were very comfortable. Opposite the ocean but unfortunately the road outside is very busy and lots of trucks passing meant a noisy stay, Still a good spot and good value. Easy walk into main centre.

Room Tip: An ocean view worth the noise of trucks at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us.
We acknowledge that traffic noise can be an issue at times and have installed "hush" glass in our rooms to keep outside noise to a minimum. Thank you again for your comments, they are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I was really pleased that we choose The Nautilus to stay at while in Napier. The rooms are modern and spacious with a huge spa bath. The room was lovely and clean and we had everything that we needed. The room had a view of the beach and a balcony. It is just across the road from the beach and a short walk from the town centre. I hope I get to the opportunity to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
We are really pleased you had an enjoyable time during your stay at The Nautilus. It was our pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Thank you for taking time to post your review, it is much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This was great for a weekend getaway!
Warm welcome at reception, beautiful, clean room and a spa to die for!
Brilliant central location-across the road from the beach, 5 min walk to town & museum we have been a few times now and will definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thanks so much for taking time to write a review of your September stay with us.
We are happy you enjoyed your weekend at The Nautilus and would love to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nautilus

Address: 387 Marine Parade, Napier, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#5 Business Hotel in Napier
#8 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nautilus 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nautilus Hotel Napier
Nautilus Hotel Napier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nautilus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.